completely westernised brown/asian people.

Re: completely westernised brown/asian people.

i said brown/asian people not soley pakistani… awks

Last time I checked, Pakistan comes under the category of brown/Asian people thus my question. But even if it’s the whole subcontinent and then some, I still don’t see how watching bollywood qualifies one as being desi. Genuine question here!

Not watching bollywood or having any interest in cricket doesn’t mean westernised

And you can understand a language even if you don’t really know how to speak

Maybe more like not a typical asian/brown

What is the difference between a confused desi and a confused pardesi

Confused pardesi is the one who sees confused desis everywhere… They are like twin brothers who were separated in childhood. Once became cop (pardesi) the other became thieve (desi).

One day a cop finds his lost brother (recognized him because of brown color) and shouted… .“oh you confused desi”!

Kashmiris rock! Take that, Hyderabadis

i dunno, IMO watching bollywood movies/indian/paki dramas does kinda qualify you as a desi to an extent. You don’t get many non-desi people watching them now do you. but that’s just one factor out of a number of factors to qualify you as a desi.

No :nahi:

You just say it all so well…I love it.

To the OP…the real questions should be about similarities and what two people have in common and what differences they are willing to put up with.

I married a guy that is 100000% die hard Pakistani…like he really does bleed green. And I am 100% American with a touch of culture as well. He puts up a Pakistani flag for the entire month of August in our home and also barbeques with me on July 4th.

We can deal with these differences because we learn from each and enjoy doing so. We also have similarities that were important to us.

The question you’re asking will bring different answers from different people because all of our priorities are different. If this is about you, you need to ask yourself if language and culture are important to you…is it necessary that your spouse speak Urdu and be a bit desi-fied?

For me, it was important but for my youngest sister, it was not. She married a Palestinian guy…doesn’t speak a lick of Urdu or Arabic. But they work and they work well Mashallah. So, its again about priorities.

I don’t know about Pakistani and horrible Indian dramas ( :halo: ) but quite a few non-desis watch bollywood movies. Also, you probably know that Turkish dramas have gained popularity in Pakistan. Does that make those who watch them a bit Turkish?

What makes you say that?

The desan seems like the better option to me; assuming a gori and a second generation desan, divorced from her parents culture, are your only options. In order to simplify the argument we’ll assume that both gori and desan have similar personalities, educational backgrounds and attractiveness. The desan does have an edge though. First she is brown and any kids you have will be be brown. Hence, your kids will actually look like they’re your kids. The odds of having brown looking kids with a gori are low. This point can go to gori’s court or not matter all if having light skinned kids is more important to you than having kids that look like you or you don’t want to have kids at all.

The desan, who isn’t really a desan, might still have parents or siblings who are not all westernized. There’s some cultural comfort for you. Can’t say the same for a gori. When visiting the motherland, you don’t have worry about attracting unnecessary attention because you brought a gori along. You and your desan are going to fine going out in Pakistan, as long as she keeps her mouth shut of course. This point doesn’t matter if you don’t plan on ever going back or you actually want all that attention.

That’s all I could think of right now and please do write why you think a gori would be better.

Honestly, I’ve never seen “confused” used in any funny or endearing term. Potato/cupcake/butterfinger/brownie/oreo/coconut (nowI’mhungry) maybe, but not confused.

To answer the opening post—it just doesn’t really seem very logical. If you’re at the point where you’re seriously considering someone as a life partner, there must have been something about them that attracted you to them in the first place, and you were able to look past theirbeing completely westernised. What kind of movies you watch, and food you eat—that does’nt have any bearin gon whether someone will be a good spouse/parent or not.

joke post? joke post
bro what are you on about? I’m pretty sure that completely westernised person wouldn’t even like to be called desan
Now, you’re saying my kids won’t look like mine if spawned through a gori? what does that even me? genetics 101 I don’t care if my kids are kala or chitta, all I want is for them to be beautiful and healthy.
What the *** am i going to do with the cultural comfort if my kids don’t have any sense of desi pan. Is the mother going to raise my kids? and I don’t even know what the last line means. Do you even know what you’re saying? If by attention you mean her getting btfo, then no.

TIL coconut is more than just a yummy fruit :bummer:

I should have used me instead of you. Didn’t mean to offend you. What I meant to say was, if my kids are the same shade as me they look more like me than not. I don’t want people to think I stole someone’s kid when I’m out in public with my much lighter skinned kid, her mom not with us. I might get lucky and the kids might take after me, but why take the chance.

You’re not gonna get desi pan with either. With the desan who doesn’t wanna be called that, you get desi cousins and grandparents for your kids. And I should’ve used I. Attention: “Bhai ki kia baat hay, scored a gori.” Why would anyone want there family blown up :confused:

I think you’re simply trying to refer to brown people who are not Muslim anymore practically speaking even though born in a Muslim family.

And as far as marrying such lost so called Muslim ambassadors in the western world is concerned it totally depends on how you want your future generation to be like because I don’t see any difference between a Kafir and them and we’re not talking about social ethics here.

We also need to understand what it means by the term “WESTERNIZED”. Because according to what you’ve said a fully westernized version of a brown Muslim is a person who was stung by western culture to an extent he doesn’t belong to Islam anymore. Then I believe there are people who are relatively less westernized and they’ve better upbringing as a Muslim even though belong to the same western culture.

People who are talking about culture and religion being two different topics/things I believe they need to understand the fact that it’s religion that gives you the culture not the other way around and they can’t be considered as independent of each other.

People without religion don’t posses any culture they’re simply using human intellect/knowledge/observation to follow bits/parts of different religions to combine/mix/adopt and make a new culture out of it which suits their needs and the way they think they should be living their lives. Such cultures don’t have their own personality and Western culture is best example of that.

To understand my point I think one has to have strong Islamic knowledge.

So in conclusion, the amount of being westernized is directly proportional to the amount of Islam you want to have in your married life in this particular scenario.