wow
have fun afia baji ![]()
Good morning & Salam Afia: Tabyaat ko kya hoa? & what are you stitching? hmmmmmm… ![]()
Your freezer is already very mazedar ![]()
Thanks for the invitation. So sweet of you
But cannot come ![]()
I will take a rain checkfor now ![]()
*Originally posted by roshnie: *
Good morning & Salam Afia& what are you stitching? hmmmmmm...... :)
W'salam ...:)
i make dresses for those who visit me ...:)
so now tell me ...u r coming:D
Hmm…dresses for those who visit u???![]()
Where do u live?![]()
salam aafia.. u sound like a very sugher mand baji :)
anwyay i will list some dishes which me and my mom cook when we have guests from pakistan canada or from different states specially when they r stayin for more than a week :)
Chicken
chicken tikkay(its good if u use Shaam ka tadoorni masala wala packet)
Chicken karahai
Chicken shashlick
chicken qormaa
Murgh CHolay(white chick peas with chicken)
Chicken patties for snacks.
Meat/Mutton
Nihaari
Paayee
Haleeem
Nargisii koftay(Meatballs with eggs inside)
Pasanday(with fried potatoes)
Mutton Pulao
mutton Karahi
Mutton biryani(it taste great compare to chicken biryani)
keema or ghosh ke kabaab
Kat a kat
haray masalay ka ghosht
Chapli kabaab
Bihari kabaab
Achaar ghosht( i love it)
Sea Food
Shrimps ki biryani
fish fry
fish curry
shrimps pakora
fish kabaab(u can use tuna and potatoes for that)
Rice
Zarda
Yakhni Pulao
Vegetable biryani
Sindhi Biryani
Hyderabadi masalay wali mutton/chicken biryani
vegetables
Bagaray baingun
baingan ka khataa
Anday ka salan
Aalo ke parhatay(for breakfast)
halwa poori with aalo n cholay kurri
Tomatar ki chutni
Hyderabadi green chilli ka salan
Aalo palak methi
Spicy french fries
Snacks
Alo ke samoosay
shahi tukray
Ras malai
Fruit Ice Cream
Trifle
Pudding
Khoyaa
those are the dishes i alreay eat it and sum of em i tried myself..
u can pick sum dishes from my list and make it :) if u want any recipe then do let me knwo :)
WoWHooo :D look at that list by PP007.
Ohh PP007 do you have a recipe for chicken patties?? Please do share if you have it. For a last couple of days I’ve been thinking about making meat patties at home and I haven’t find a proper recipe yet.
Please yeh bhi batana which brand of puff pastry sheets you use. I looked for it but there are so many types of these so I can’t figure out which one is right for patties. Well hope you post soon. Thanks in advance!!
ps.
your list is yummmy
(except for seafoods)
wow afia i m glad to see you happy ![]()
how long are they going to stay with you ? and what have you planned else besides mazay mazay ke kahnay ??
now you have got so many things in your list so what can i say …try something different as well …like some turkish or arabic food , i cant help you in this case but there are a lot of recpies of them on net ! so unn ko kuch different bhi khielyo naa yeh pakistani tradtional food thu hum roz he kahte rahtey haiN na ![]()
anyways enjoy your company ![]()
our haN aab tabeth kasse hai ?
i liove in berlin sajal , ![]()
should i include you in my guests …???![]()
PP007....:)
thanx soooooo much
it was a really yummy list .....n sure i'll ask you some recipes ....but right now i'm in hurry ....be prepared for my requests though :)
CurruptAngel ....i did make some patties some 6-7 years ago ...when i was in college .....n we didn't use any ready made pastry sheets ,....we prepared it ourselves :-)
but right now i don't remember much .....may be i should ask my mother to check my college files there ....or we can wait for pp007 to reply :-)
mehroo...:)
my guests will probably stay with me for a month or two ....not sure though :-)
but i have definitely planned many things besides mazay mazay k khanay :)
probably we will try to hit all tourist places in europe ....but its not final yet :-)
n yeah ...i'll try to check some turkishdishes....lets see what i actually do apart from planning :)
thanks guys..
corrupt angel.. rite now my mom cant recall the name of its brand but when she find out i will let u know.. for nowww i will tell u the method how to make it :)
*Chicken Patties *
Chicken Mince Pies
Ingredients:
225 grams puff pastry
1 quantity chicken fillings for patties
How to Cook:
1. On a floured board, roll the pastry out thinly and allow to rest for 15-20 minutes. Using a 2-2 1\2 inch round cutter, stamp out 24-28 circles of pastry.
2. Line 12 tartlet tins, or as many as needed, with half the pastry circles. Place a teaspoon of mincemeat in the center of each. Damp the edges of the pastry lid with a little beaten egg and place over the filled tartlet tins. Gently press the pastry edges together to seal.
3. Cut one or two slit in the top of each pie. Brush with a little beaten egg.
4. If tartlet tins are not available, these mince pie can be made on a baking tray.
5. Place one pastry circle on a floured board, place a tablespoon of filling in the centre. Damp the edges of the pastry lid with a little beaten egg and place over the pastry base. Gently press the pastry edges together to seal.
6. Cut one or two slit in the top of each pie. Brush with a little beaten egg.
7. Put on wetted baking tray and Place in a very hot oven (425F, 220C. Gas Mark 7) and bake for 20 minutes or well risen and brown. Serve warm.
Note: Puff pastry can be made at home or can be purchased from grocery store
ohh yeah.. make n e sort of fillings u want.. i tried puttin keema instead of chiken it was soo yummy.. but chicken one is just awesome :)
i wish i can get the reciepe of filling specially the one we buy on pastry shops in pakistan...
do any one of u hav n e idea how they make it??? cuz whenever i make it it taste good but it doenst have the exact same taste...
Ufff Afia, I also made it myself at home by following these instructions. You won’t believe kay maine kitni mehnat ki puff pastry banane mai..:hehe: And I prepared my own masala for ground beef and potato fillings but it didn’t work. They didn’t taste as good as real patties. And they weren’t that soft either. teary Were yours as good as the ones you get from the bakery??
PP sisso, I’m waiting for your recipe…jaldi post karo ladki…:smash:
BTW, I’m gonna try making crossiants from above website. They have all those pictures to help dumb people like me. Dekhte hain woh kese bante hain.![]()
PP, mujhe tumhari pitaayi karni hai…
Yaar I saw this recipe from BJ’s site but I don’t think it’s helpful. I have already used the masalas they mentioned but they don’t taste like our Pakistani yummy patties. I have no idea which masalas they use that’s why I asked you. sighs
Anyways, thanks for posting this recipe. I have tried it already…but it doesn’t work! ![]()
acha okay.. main ne apni cousin aur dost ko pakistan email kardi hia ke jaakar mere liay recepie pooch kar aayen :)
and my mom make it i will let u know when i will try myself :)
No offence to those who cut n paste recipies from other sites but is this what a thread opener really looking for?. I mean if I needed cookbook recipes I would just go to some web site and read it there. I believe when people ask for recipes here they're actually looking for home-made formulas that people usually follow. I read a lot of recipes but eventually it's my added touches that make the final product edible. I have never followed a recipe to the exact wording. Just me.
^ Ali there are some good websites where you can find people posted their own home made recipes and we are not aware of all those sites..
if u dun knwo sum recipes urself but others need it so what so harm in copyin n pastin from other site...and show em arround if they wanna use it fine if not np..
PP007....:)
now i'm back with my requests
i want recipes for
haray masalay ka gosht
kata kat
baingan ka khatta
hyderabadi green chilli ka salan
n one more thing .....spicy french fries are something different than regular ones ....???? if yes then plz tell me about it too
many thanks in advance :)
*Haray masalay ka Ghosh (Meat With Green Gravy)
Ingredients:
1 kg beef, mutton or boneless chicken
1 medium onion, coarsely chopped
1 inch piece ginger, peeled and coarsely chop
6-7 cloves garlic cloves, skinned and coars
15-20 As per taste green chilies, sliced
1 Bunch fresh coriander laves,roughly c
1 tablespoon garam masala
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup oil
Method:
Put the onion, ginger, garlic, freshly chopped coriander, and green chillies in a food processor or blender, and blend to a smooth paste. Add salt and garam masala to the paste. Mix all the ingredients, then pour over the meat pieces and mix well. Cover and leave to marinate for an hour.
Heat oil in a pan. Add the meat and stirring continuously, fry for 8 to 10 minutes over medium heat. Cover and cook 15 to 20 minutes stirring occasionally, until the meat is tender and oil separates from the gravy. There is no need to add water as meat releases its own water while cooking. But sometimes water dries up quickly. If this happen add 1\2 cup of water. Cooking time depends on the kind of the meat, chicken needs less time and water than beef or mutton does.
*Kat-a-Kat *
Ingredients:
4 medium lambs kidneys
2 medium lambs hearts
2 medium lambs brains
4 medium lamb chops
1 teaspoon garlic paste
1 teaspoon ginger paste
1 teaspoon red chili powder
1 teaspoon red chili crushed
1 teaspoon coriander seeds crushed
1 teaspoon cumin seeds
1 teaspoon fenugreek leaves, dried
1/4 teaspoon mace ( javetri ), ground
1 teaspoon turmeric (haldi)
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon, ground
1/2 teaspoon aniseed (saunf)
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup oil
1 inch piece ginger, cut into small slices
2-3 tablespoon coriander leaves, fresh
1 tablespoon lemon juice
Method:
Remove excess fat from the meat. Wash and pat dry. Cut the kidney and heart into small pieces. Leave the lamb chops whole.
Boil 2 cups of water with 1\2 tsp. of turmeric. Add the brains and boil for two minutes. Discard the water roughly chop the brain and put it aside.
Put the kidney, heart and chops in a sauce pan. Add garlic ginger paste, chili powder, crushed chilies, crushed coriander, cumin seeds, fenugreek leaves, mace, turmeric, cinnamon, aniseeds and salt. Cook for 5-10 minutes. No need to add water as the meat will release its own water.
Heat oil in shallow, heavy frying pan or a griddle or tava and add onions and stir fry for few minutes then add tomatoes brains and kidney mixture. Stir fry for about 5 minutes on high heat. There are special knives that are used to stir fry kat-a-kat but you can use any spoon that has sharp edges. While stirring also chop the meat. Once you feel that chops are tender and can be easily cut into small pieces add brains, chopped coriander leaves, ginger stripes and chopped green chilies. Stir fry for about 8 more minutes. Just before taking of from the heat add lemon juice.
Hyderabadi Green Chilli Curry
Ingredients:
1/2 kg green chillies
4 large onions (thin slices)
1 small piece Coconut(dried)
2 teaspoon turmeric powder (haldi)
1 tablespoon garlic ginger paste
6 - Curry leaves
1 teaspoon nigella seeds (kalonji)
1/2 cup oil
2 tablespoon poppy seeds
2 tablespoon Sesame seeds
1 tablespoon coriander seeds
1 tablespoon cumin seeds
6 pod red chili
6 - Fenugreek leaves (Methi)
4 - curry leaves (curry patta)
How to Cook:
Heat oil in a shallow pan.
Fry chillies with salt and remove from pan.Immediately put the ingredients of garnish in the oil,stir for 30 seconds,add sliced onions.
Fry till pale golden.Add all spices to the onions along with the curry leaves.
Now put the chillies in it and fry for 5-7minutes.
Add tamarind pulp in to it and cook on low heat for 10-15 minutes.
Spicy French Fries
Ingredients:
4 medium potatoes, baking
. - oil for deep frying
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon garam masala
1 teaspoon chilli powder
1/2 teaspoon khatai powder
How to Cook:
- Peel and pat dry the potatoes. Using a large knife cut the potatoes into sticks 1/4 inch wide and about 3 inches long or use French Fries cutter.
- In a karahi heat oil
- Fry potatoes in oil for 3 minutes (potatoes will not be golden) and using a slotted spoon transfer potatoes to paper towels to drain.
- Reheat oil..Return potatoes to oil and fry until golden and crisp, about 5 minutes. Transfer fries with a slotted spoon to clean paper towels to drain.
- In a large bowl stir together salt, chaat masala, chilli powder and khati powder. Toss the fries in spice mixture and serve with Broasted chicken
i tried it.. and its soo ![]()
thanx soooooooo much pp007...:)