Note: Maybe these movies are already discussed here but I couldn’t find them, or maybe didn’t look very closely. Anwyay…
Last night when we almost finished watching “Aap mujhay achay lagnay lagay” (what sort of crappy movie name is this, anyway?), my wife made a pointed statement “Why do we watch all these movies, when we know they will be so bad, anyway?”. That summarizes this whole post. :~)
Company: *ing Ajay Devgan. Full of violence. And another new thing. The Indian movie directors have taken a sudden fascination with mobile phones. A phone rings in this movie, practically every 2 seconds. After a while, it becomes so jarring. Anyone who saw “Raam Jaanay” will instantly notice the similarities.
Ankhein: *ing Amitach. Anyone who has watched “The Thomas Crowne Affair” and/or “Ocean’s Eleven”, please stay away from this movie. Its such a piece of crap. Amitabh saheb has the brilliant idea to steal a bank employing three blind men. The whole plot is such a farce and on top of that, the treatment is a complete disaster too.
Aap Mujhay Achay Lagnay Lagay: *ing Hritik Roshan. The movie is so predictable that you’d know the ending even before the movie starts. The treatment is so formula that it is not even slightly amusing. Amisha Patel seems to have a bad case of asthma bcz every time she tries to cry, the horrible asthmatic sounds start coming out from her that it destroys the whole scene. In most scenes she is trying to hide her neck by assuming that unnatural, frightened, innocent girl who can’t even look up to most people. Even Hritik can not save this film. Towards the end, the movie moves from sureal to incredilous. But then again, this is Bollywood for you.
Company is a real life story of two Underworld Dons (untill the 2nd last scene) and that's how it works in Mumbai Underworld. I have lived in Mumbai and to me it looked very realistic.
About the other two movies, the less said better it is, Aankhen is a really stupid movie, so is AAP MUJHE ACCHE LAGNE LAGE (It is the MUKHDA of a very nice and popular old Hindi Song).
Next time you plan to watch any Indian movie, better read reviews or ask some Indian Guppies over here.
*"Company" was excellent, and "Aankhen" was very innovative. Dear Pristine Bhai, you will die of hunger if you take up reviewing movies; **Think About It**. People, That Is All.*
Do you see what The People's ARTIST is painting here?
[This message has been edited by the game (edited May 29, 2002).]
I can imagine that "Ankhein" will be excellent for those who are not blessed by them :~)
Company, I didn't like because of all the non-stop violence. Just similar to why I didn't like Raam Jaanay or Zindagi aik Jua. I am sure those who like violence (or WWF sorta action) will lap it up.
Asif... I have seen some excellent Indian movies, and I think I should stop expecting a "Lamhe" everytime I rent a new one.
*"Lamhe" is one movie which I'm anxiously waiting to watch; when I turn 35 ofcourse. The Game watched it the first time when He was 10 years old, and didn't understand one thing that was going on. I still think I won't be hit by the emotion of the movie; unless I fall on my rear end in love
Originally posted by Pristine: Asif... I have seen some excellent Indian movies, and I think I should stop expecting a "Lamhe" everytime I rent a new one.
Lamhe is a very good movie, you should try watching some other movies of Mr. chopra like 'DARR', 'CHANDNI', 'SILSILA' etc.
Among the new movies try to rent 'DIL CHAHTA HAI', 'SHOOL', 'KAUN'
:) Asif... its not as if I have never watched Indian movies and suddenly realized that they are not so good. Infact, out of all the movies you mentioned, I had watched all of them, except "Shool". They are all good, but "Silsila" was exceptional, especially because of all the real-life events surrounding the movie.
Anyway, about Lamhe, I thought it was a very well-produced movie with good acting and a very unusual story-line. It was probably the first Indian movie in which they showed the same guy first falling in love with a girl and then falling in love with her daughter. It is, perhaps, for this unusual and slightly weird plot that the movie did not do a good business in Indian domestic market. But that does not take away anything from the fact, that it was a very slick movie.
Just like DDLG or HAHK, a good movie is a good movie, whether new or old. A good movie is a combination of good plot, good acting, good screen-play, good direction, good sets, good editing and intelligent film-making. Simple, huh? :~)
[This message has been edited by Pristine (edited May 29, 2002).]
I haven't watched an Indian movie in I don't know how long, the last i watched was K3G three months after it came out. It was too hyped and I knew it wasn't going to be as big as it was advertised and as usual it turned out to be the same old sappy story. Everything that has recently been released just seems like crap, for the lack of a better word. I am not willing to watch a movie thats going to leave me distasteful in the end, even if its only worth a buck.
I totally agree with Pristine.......i watched Ankhein and it left me with a headache. And this time i have vowed to my self i am not gonna watch any Indian movie until i am 100% sure it's superhit with good story. Its been ages since i watched any good movie. The last good movie i watched was "Dil chahta hai" . "kabhi khushi kabhi gham" was such a dissapointment( thank god i didn't watch it in theater). I am getting quite sick of all these movies now. And lets hope Devdas doesn't turn out to be flop either.
well ..I think COMPANY was excellent. verywlel made..very reallistic and one of great movies..but yes those who are not ware of indian underworld and how itworks..theymight find it too much...
ANNKHEIN was good movie if u ignore last 1 hour of BS.First half was eceelent,movie was different from typical desi movies...so one can watch it once...
AAP MUJEH ACHCHE LAGNE LAGE is just another crap desi movie... ** Can only be recommended to your BOSS or MOTHER-in-LAW**
Silsila,lamhe etc are ofcourse classis.
Anyway I am keenly awaiting DEVDAS and HUMSE BADHKAR KAUN...
[This message has been edited by andha_qanoon (edited May 30, 2002).]
O.k... I saw Company and I think its one of the best Indian movie to come out in a long time. The dialogues, the direction and especially the camera work and motif were awesome. A true work of art. And I am not saying this because of the violence/action (I hate hindi violence/action movies!).