Commitment and Independence

Any truth in that statement?

When men hold off from marrying women,....

... we call them gay!

Originally posted by ShiNoO: *
**When men hold off from marrying women,....

... we call them gay!

Maybe because the girl isnt what they are looking for?

Re: Commitment and Independence

Originally posted by CM: *

Any truth in that statement?
perhaps once. not any more. any of my female friends and family who don't want to get married are considered stubborn and afraid to commit. i don't necessarily believe that, but that's how people talk.

I agree that statement is a cultural belief, whether in West or East. But it's not necessarily true. I think women have been considered 'subordinate' to men as the meek wife for generations. The truth is women run the household and organize a man's life. So if a woman doesn't want to be 'subordinate' she is called independent. A woman is considered to be taken care of my a husband. But the truth is she takes care of him. So to not get married, she is saying she can care for herself and not have the burden of a household. This is not a bad thing. But I still believe that men and women need eachother.

Believe me there are plenty of married men who don't want to commit. I think marriage is a cultural expectation for Muslims. It's like just another step in life. After you graduate from college, the REAL pressure begins. So do we have reason as women to want to stay independent and single? I do know desi women who are 50 and single, but most of them have some mental problem.

:hehe: :k:

On a more serious note, women holding off on marrying being called “independent” is a bit of a skewed generality. What may be the reason for the woman holding off…is it perhaps that she is fat as sin or so unattractive she thinks that no man would want her (insecurity issues)?, that she is intelligent, good-looking, has alot going for herself in every department and wants pretty much an equal match?, or perhaps some other reason? Also consider the generality of men holding off on marrying women due to “fear of commitment.” Maybe they aren’t emotionally, mentally, or financially ready to take that step? maybe they are plain jerks who in fact do face genuine fear of commitment (insecurity issues) no matter what? or perhaps they simply seek the right person even if they’re old by society’s standards to get married? So you see, it really is all relative.

When women hold off from marrying men, we call it independence..

Just my opinion .... Women can be independent after marrying as well... in their own limits..

In a public interview, da infamous sheikh rasheed aka tully, from da cabinet of X prime minister nawaz shareef; said this...

Jab baahir doodh datiyaab hai, tau ghar par majh rakhnay ki kya zaroorat hai...

Translated in english - When u can find b******, y marry them?

^^ A statement which can has an Xtremely positive side. But da point is that this minister is still holding office in da musharraf regime & every possible luxury is available 2 him but is he really afraid of committment, or is he satisfying his desire...? Well both actually, he is afraid & satisfying his hunger....

A man needs a woman, & a woman needs a guy...true....but after making love everything just fades away.

A guppy rightly stated that single women nearing 50 have mental problems, is very true....same goes 4 men too.

2day in a age where galz need independent & rich guyz, guyz have become reluctant 2 start committments with galz.

Sick thinking :rolleyes:

Originally posted by ShiNoO: *
**When men hold off from marrying women,....

... we call them gay!

we call them smart! :P

^ Regretting are we?

*Originally posted by Fraudz: *

we call them smart! :P

:biggthumb

Well FG you haven't been so smart then have you :p

:nono:

what about opposite of that statement?:smiley:

such double standards :o DUH !!

theyre living for the moment, whenever i meet somone like that i imagine them all alone in 50 years time with no human family but animals :D
oh they have money to comfort them but moneys just COLD hard cash babe

*Originally posted by Femme Fatale: *
^ Regretting are we?

regret? we? errr dunno about you, but I am not regretting :)
it was just as much a joke as the one that i quoted..unless that was a khisyaani billi khamba nocchaya nd angoor khattay hain type deal :)

*Originally posted by Xara: *
theyre living for the moment, whenever i meet somone like that i imagine them all alone in 50 years time with no human family but animals :D
oh they have money to comfort them but moneys just COLD hard cash babe

Xara, is one's family only after marriage, or do siblings and other relatives count. is it possible that someone gets married and in 50 years his spouse dies and they had no kids or the kids were the phateechar types who dunn wanna deal with their parent?

I actually know some people who have not married and are perfectly okay, they just dont think they are ready yet. I mean it is people's personal views right..just like some girls start thinking about getting married as soon as they hit 18..or even before ..there are those who are content and happy with plans to marry eventually but just not right now.

I am in this category of people and now I think my time has come, which is why my family and I are seriously looking. But I do tend to panic sometimes, however in the end, I know Allah mian has someone worthwile waiting for me. It’s just a matter of time now.

:flower1: