coming back to the game

I saw Diablo’s interesting thread and I thought I should post a topic that I’ve been thinking about recently.

My problem is that I used to play cricket a lot a couple of years back (maybe 2-3 hours a day). And I haven’t played a half decent amount of cricket for the last 8 months or so. I played a couple of times this summer and in two word, I sucked. I was bowling at half my regular pace. Since I was afraid of spraying the ball all over the place, I cut down on pace. When I tried to step up my pace, I lost control of the ball. I feel so pathetic about my game that I’m avoiding playing.

So, my question is what are some good strategies to come back to the game specifically fast bowling? I know the obvious answer is practise and get back into the nets. But there has got to be a more methodical way.

Thanks for your thoughts in advance.

I'm really interested to know any other alternative besides going to the nets and pitching for hours..Maybe do some yoga and meditate before you bowl...

Yaar samb..I know what you mean..I Was in your postion but I didn't give a daam about bowling wides or no balls in matches because I need to learn by my msitakes. At practice I was dead accurate but in matches I faltered in the begnning, after some wackings I got my rythm back...Bowling in pressure is where you actually learn and get your rythm back. So don't limit your pace in a match because of a fear of failure hey after all you aren't representing Bangladesh, see that is where serious cricket is played and where you arent allowed to experiment or make mistakes

sambrialian,

I haven’t played as a bowler in the longest time so all I can offer is a very general perspective, and not something that’ll subscribe directly to specifics of a fast bowler. As much as it is coining the cliche, persistence is, and will always remain the key.

I’ve seen similar scenarios quite often, at competitive games or sometimes even family picnics at the park. Fast bowlers becoming over-apprehensive about returning to bowl- either because of anxiety about not being able to perform or play at the level they used to in their more active days, or because of the presence of the younger jawaans bowling a yard or two faster than their deliveries. Or other reasons.

It’s only natural, and the most unfortunate thing to note is that they will tend to stiffen up (literally), as in cramp their movement esp. when arriving at the landing crease. That results in either ridiculous wides because their action was not smooth enough, rather a forced bowl; or such a decrease in pace that what was intended as a good line ball ends up becoming one just begging to be spanked. As someone keeping to them, this becomes problematic when they send it too down the legside or they over-emphasize the line-length factor so much that the ball doesn’t even carry through evenly. So I’ll make it a point to provide them with extra encouragement, even if the ball was far from the cheetah it’s being described as.

The fast bowler’s game is more mental than physical, and he will go only as far as his confidence level will allow him to. Somtimes this approach works, sometimes it fails miserably and even praise on a good ball will seem superficial to them. What plesantly surprises me is that they bowl superbly in the nets, so it’s not that they’ve lost their game. You sound like you were an active player when you had more time, and I’m sure you haven’t lost any of your game either. Decrease of pace over time is only natural, but it’s worthwhile to focus on bringing a mixed strategy bag to the field instead of just attempting to waqar-ing the 3 sticks with every ball. You can always try specific strengthening exercises for pace etc, but in the meanwhile, it’s good to try incorporating newer elements to your game. Having any non-positive apprehenive thoughts at the back of one’s mind are probably more damaging than the actual physical aspects that seem to be the cause of worry. sherrybaba is right, there’s no need to worry about conceding the extras or getting the stick sometimes. Just keep it going. One thing I will say from a bowler’s perspective though, is never ever compromise your run-up. One has to arrive spot-on and in fluid rythm at the crease, no matter how fast or slow the ball’s going to delivered as. Completely overhauling your action is one thing, but making minor changes here and there is non-advisable. It isn’t a good idea to experiment with your run-up and action when finding a remedy.

personally, I’ve come back from two or three very serious injuries (am nursing one right now) and have faced a lot of what-if’s and apprehension when re-taking the field. “What if I’m not able to perform as I used to?”, “What if some new face puts up a brilliant game and I’m dumped” etc. It’s very much a mental rehabilitation. But I know ppl like all of us at the Khail Khilari forum love the game enough to actually enjoy fighting it out and eventually come out tops, as part of the beauty of the sport.

To quote a former-captain, now-county-player, “Just bowl, mate!”.
Best of luck. :k:

Sambi, the best way for a fast bowler to get back to his rhythm is to start really slowly. Just concentrate on your line and length, and soon as you get used to bowling with good length, then start increasing your speed. Thats the best possible way, it has worked wonders for me and for any other young bowler out there.

Diablo Kazama, maaf karna if my reply is similiar to yours, I was too lazy to read yours.

iss mein maafi ki kya baat hai Umair, lol. It's all good dude.

I used to play for NUST… Now once we were playing GIKI, a rival university, we were winning, and they sent me to bat, all we needed was 7 runs in two overs, and I started the tuk-tuk game, and ultimately we lost, and I was banned from playing for NUST :hehe:

However, when I came to the US, I played after 6 months, I scored a 50, but all of that was nullified when I was sent in to bowl. I wouldnt be surprised if I am banned from playing (or atleast bowling) for my team again.

That is such good advice. I’ve never heard that before. I used to change my style of bowling everytime I got wacked :hehe: - and I still did all right. But since I’m coming back after a long layoff, I think I’ll stick to your advice of not tampering with my bowling every two deliveries.

Umair, that’s a good idea too. I think I will start by putting the ball in the right places before increasing the effort.

Spock and Sherry, thanks for the encouragement yaar. The sh!tty thing is that there are only like two months left to play.

Hey sambrialian, okay I’ll see if I can help you - I, too, used to play but not anymore - its very hard in the U.K. with the weather problems - Its always raining and very hard to get a full game in. But the thing is that I used to open the batting and I wasn’t too good at bowling - Apparantly, I was great batsman (but I didn’t believe a word of it) and I was a good bowler - and that one I certainly didn’t believe as I hardly ever bowled. But the one thing that will help you sambrialian is Practice - You’re probably out of touch as you ain’t bowled in a while - and the one thing that will help is practice - Get back into the rhythm of things - go down to the nets every single day and keep on bowling - keep going until you get back to what you’re capable of - and don’t give up until you get there. Keep on bowling and bowling and bowling until you’re out of energy and eventually your accuracy and pace should return. I think now I’d be pretty hopeless if I tried to return as I’ve just lost the will to play the game, to be honest - But if you’ve still got the determination and love for the game then there’s nothing to stop you - and you don’t seem to have any injury troubles or suffer any medical problems so it might be a problem with your desire for the game? Maybe your heart is not in the Cricket anymore - I probably sound quite patronising but these things really do have quite an effect on your game. Also the other thing it could be is a confidence problem - it could be a mind over matter thing with you not having played in so much time - again that should come back with practice. Anyway keep working at it - don’t give up.

:smokin2:

Talha - smoking is injurious to health, Give it up man...esp if you are a cricketer..

Anyways - Bowling fast is not always the key, If you cant bowl fast or if you lose control while bowling fast then the best thing to do is cut down some pace, try to control the length and line of the ball, bring some variety into the bowling try to learn new tricks for example leg cutters, slower balls etc..
One more thing - Have a big heart, If you are a fast bowler - dont be afraid of being hit.

As far as my little experience goes - That's what I have observed.

Re: coming back to the game

*Originally posted by sambrialian: *
my question is what are some good strategies to come back to the game specifically fast bowling?

Sorry to disappoint you pal.... there are no good strategies... you got to realize you have become BUDHA and deal with it !!

Re: Re: coming back to the game

*Originally posted by Some1: *

Sorry to disappoint you pal.... there are no good strategies... you got to realize you have become BUDHA and deal with it !!

That was below the belt. :D

^ as long as that belt still fits, you have nothin to worry about samb bhai. :D

Well Sambi Bhai,

i don't know whether it might help u or not but it worked wonders for me ....

i used to put a sheet (plastic, metall or something similar with 2by2 foot) on the spot where i would like to pitch the ball (lenght) and two boxes (dimensions: 20cm by 1meter) on the either sides of the stumps (for LHB & RHB) and when i started to bowl i aimed at the sheet for the lenght and at the boxes for the line .... as Umair and Asif said try with lower pace and step it up after u successfuly controle both of them in a appropriate manner .....

Since i also play Badminton my coach used to place the boxes in certain areas of the court and i had to aim at them from almost every position ..... i had to this for along time .... benefit of it was i can play the shuttle where i like to without experimenting coz my body is used to move and put power into the shots only as much as needed (in one word: routine)

Hope u'll have success

good luck

No Asif – It has nothing to do with my smoking habit – Trust me :cool: I rarely smoke – It’s the weather here in the U.K that keeps getting in my practice session – And when the weather is fine and perfect – I always got something important to do – Though I don’t find this kind of trouble in the States.

:smokin2: