colic, and how to relieve it..

am not sure if my 4 week old has colic, she has only cried alot last night, it coudlve been that i gave her the carton ready to feed formula milk, because we were travelling, and its the first time she has cried like that…even though she drank it before, either way does anyone have colic treatments, i know theres infacol, colic drops, anything else..what about desi stuff like ajawain paani i heard…please give the remedy and how to make it please…

also i think it may be her stomach, she seems to pass wind down below alot more than burping, is that a problem?

Re: colic, and how to relieve it..

Colic is not a one time thing. It is defined as extended and unexplained crying. Do not treat your daughter without consulting a doctor. Babies that young are easily affected by these things.

and there is nothing that you can give to get your child over being colic.. it goes away on its own.... first rule it out or in... if she does have it.. then hold her in a flying position like an airplane... that should give relief ....

alhumdulilah she was ok last night, i think she mustve not taken to the carton ready to feed formula, maybe it was that, either way shes ok now mashallah, thanks to god...we did try ajwain paani, and i know sahar says we shoudlnt give these things to them if they havent got colic. but i think it helps, i know lots of people in pakistan who gave it to their kids and these people dont go to docs, or even know what colic is, its just desi totkas...and i think it settled her stomach, only gave her half a teaspoon....

I'm not saying don't give it. But you are the adult responsible for this baby, and you need to make sure that you know what you're giving and what it's effect will be. Just because things are always given, doesn't make them right to give. Gripe water is usually considered safe to give to babies, but it's for a specific purpose.

Herbs and things are medicines, natural or not. You need to understand that they affect the body. And make sure you are giving it carefully.

I'm glad Fatima is feeling better.

I'm not saying don't give it. But you are the adult responsible for this baby, and you need to make sure that you know what you're giving and what it's effect will be. Just because things are always given, doesn't make them right to give. Gripe water is usually considered safe to give to babies, but it's for a specific purpose.

Herbs and things are medicines, natural or not. You need to understand that they affect the body. And make sure you are giving it carefully.

I'm glad Fatima is feeling better.

i know, thanku sahar, but she has stomach pains, she passed wind alot, down below, and its alot, and i can hear her stomach sometimes, so alot of my aunties told me to try it...the ajwain pani.....what do you think, is it not good?

I doubt it's bad for her. When my daughter was that young, the doctor recommended waiting until 3 months before giving anything, unless she was so upset that we couldn't get her to settle down. For my daughter I think it was gas pains, so I was asking about gripe water. Anyway, the reason he said to wait is that the baby's system is learning to adapt to new foods and to life. If you give things too early or too quickly, they interfere with the body's natural adjustment. So we ended up waiting, rocking and ouncing her to help deal with any discomfort,a nd by about 3-4 months she was much better. We did not end upmgiving her mylicon/infacol or gripe water. Again, I don't think these are going to hurt her, but I think it's important to think twice before giving anything other than breast milk/formula for a baby that little. Just because a label says it's okay or a family member does, doesn't mean you should give it. You should ask about it tho, to see if it will help.

i second sahar completely. m daughter is colic still at 5.5 but it has AH gotten a bit better over the last 2 mnths but the prb has not disappeared all together but the cryin spells have decreased cus i strted givin her pacifier when she turned 3 mnths. pls pls nadz dun give her meds for everything. let her body let the nature take its course. i know pak mein toh har cheez jaldi strt karte hai.. from solids to saunf water etc.. i m not sayin its bad cus so many kids survived on it and other stuff too (like honey, water, sugar water and wot not) but why take the risk. i think u r panicking wayyyyyyyyy to early. i strted treatments when she was atleast 1 mnth old.. i mean the infacol and all. atleast let her body heal on its own.. even if its gas prb. if nothing works then u can try but wait for sum more time.