Coalition partners advise Gilani to appear before SC

In my opinion PM should not appear before the court b/c of separation of powers. As a head of executive branch he is only answerable to the members of the Parliament (his peers) and not the SC. And if he does, he should appear in his individual capacity as individual & not as an executive of the country. This will set a wrong precedent when unelected judges are allowed to dictate terms to elected members of the Parliament, and even the PM himself.

http://www.dawn.com/2012/01/16/coalition-partners-to-meet-at-pm-house.html

ISLAMABAD: Prime Minister Yousuf Raza Gilani on Monday was advised by his government’s coalition partners to appear before the apex court for NRO implementation case, DawnNews reported.

According to sources, the meeting discussed the contempt of court notice issued by the Supreme Court against the prime minister.

President Asif Ali Zardari also attended the meeting.

The coalition partners also advised the premier to avoid policies of confrontation and play his role to eradicate tension between the institutions.

Earlier, a seven-member bench of the apex court directed the prime minister to appear before it on Jan 19. The notice was issued with regards to the National Reconciliation Ordinance (NRO) implementation case.

On the other hand, the president has called a core committee meeting of his Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) at the presidency later today.

The prime minister along with other senior party leaders will attend the meeting.

The meeting is expected to discuss the contempt notice and over all political situation of the country.

Re: Coalition partners advise Gilani to appear before SC

What realistic options are left with the PM now, for the past 2 years by delaying verdicts (infact making fun of them) they have not done any service to themselves. And now suddenly the way they are trying to fight off two adversaries at the same time has further weakened their position. ](http://dunyanews.tv/index.php?key=Q2F0SUQ9MiNOaWQ9NjA2MDA=)http://dunyanews.tv/index.php?key=Q2F0SUQ9MiNOaWQ9NjA2MDA=
PM Gilani agrees to appear in Supreme Court on 19th](Dunya News - Latest News, Pakistan News, World News, Sports News and Videos)

what do you mean by 'unelected' judges? Judges are always appointed by the President in every country but that does not make them any less important!

Unelected means they do not have popular mandate & are appointed. Btw, its not about more or less important; its about separation of powers.

agreed but even in the United States the elected President has had to appear before SC in the past. Infact the Chief Justice (as can Congress) can overrule the President on certain matters

I dont believe that anyone can argue on the fact that everyone should be accountable and answerable to court. Main issue I seem these days with Pakistani courts is that they are doing selective justice and that makes whole process so blury.

justice should not only be done but should be seen to be done

Actually, no. The United States has very complicated multilayer legal system, and individuals do not appears before courts of last resorts, which is what the SC court is (only lawyers do). These courts do not have original jurisdictions (trial), with few exceptions. The Congress can override the presidential vetoes with 2/3 majority, and courts can only rule whether presidential action(s) is/are within the framework of the Constitution.

I agree with you but who will put in the brains of hooligans who want change at any cost even if it set wrong precedent and repercussions for generations to come. We can't wait a year for democratic government yet we have 10 more years for military generals regardless of there blunders. If we were living in civilized society the likes of Kiyani/Pasha should be in jail by now including all core/crore commanders after the ISPR statement.

Its b/c our awam only understand force and kaki boot on the neck. Btw, if Gilani wasn't so incompetent he should have fired entire top brass of military after May 2 incident, and he should have voided his executive order restoring judges. :D

Righto :lajawab:
According to your valuable thread :hmmm:

1. A thief is only answerable against his peers. All police stations should be closed. :smokin2:
  2. If someone do some bad deed, only his father can ask a question from him, not neighbors :cobra:
  3. If a shope keeper is selling things on high prices then no one but only his paiti bhai (other shop keepr) can raise a query.

.bla bla
Lagay raho munna bhai :omg:

^^^ Thank you for your valuable input in my valuable thread. Obviously, and I'm sure you'd agree, that label of thief can only be attached to a person after the conviction by a court, and that accusation does not equal conviction. In any case, I was making an legal/constitutional argument which you apparently missed in your post.

:hat:
Agree and “A person can be convicted as thief after appearing before court ONLY**, so let him appear and keep your fingers crossed”** :cobra: