Re: Co-ed Sleepovers
Never!
Never!
She said it would be a dinner for the kids to get together. But as it started getting late she told them it would be safer for them to sleepover then driving out. She also added that this would give an opportunity to do an open halaqah for the kids.(
)
I guess there really is no difference, but a sleepover at her house is too private and shady ( for me atleast)
**Believe it or not she has 1 daughter, who is also liberal like her mom.
I wont approve of such arrangement. 13 years of age is an adult age from biological stand point. That was very irresponsible of that aunty to make such arrangement and that also without telling the parents.
I agree. Sending your kid over for a few hours is one thing, but overnight ![]()
I agree with TLK bhai. How do you set up that sort of sitaution with children from the mosque?
I find it much more appalling that she tricked/lied to the parents.....
Gives "liberals" a bad name.
If it's a large house with boys sleeping upstairs and girls downstairs all supervised I don't think it's a big deal.. my mum used to not like me staying over at ppl's houses but I did do it now and again.. also went on a few 'Islamic' trips where a load of girls and boys went off for a week and a couple of times we were all in the same building, just on separate floors.. To be honest out of the times I had been away those Islamic getaways were the ones were the kids were the most obsessed with getting the opposite sex to notice them and 'mess around'.. I guess the lack of freedom led them to become a bit desperate and crazy.. a bit like when u sometimes get really sheltered desi kids going off to uni and going off the rails cos they've never had that freedom and it all becomes a bit too much for them..
if the parents dont trust teh aunty .. of course they rnt going to let their kids stay over. if teh aunty was trustworthy, im sure it wouldnt have been an issue.
My initial reaction - so not happening for my kids.
But question - what's the difference between a sleepover at her house versus a camping trip, which I've seen quite a few of the masjids sponsoring?
I've heard of overnight events in which kids to college aged people spend the night at the masjid (but there is segregation!) or there are Islamic conference/camping trips. The difference is that with the camping trips, the guys and girls are not under one roof. They'll be in separate areas and even eat separately. And sometimes because an event is sponsored by the masjid or takes place at the masjid, people will think twice before intermingling.
My parents never let me go for ANY sleepovers.... co-ed or not..... I'm probably gonna do the same.
Same here.
I don't think most kids think it's wrong to flirt in a mosque environment..u only have to see them all checking each other out on Eid and other special events.. having been on some of those Islamic trips myself I think the parents were unbelievably naive thinking their kids wouldn't be trying it on with the opposite sex, esp as most of them went to single-sex schools and had very little chance of interaction other than at these things.. not much u can do imo, apart from making sure they're well supervised, I do think being toooo strict and never allowing ur child to speak to the opposite sex tends to make a lot of them more curious about dating or sex and likely to rebel behind ur back..
if the parents dont trust teh aunty .. of course they rnt going to let their kids stay over. if teh aunty was trustworthy, im sure it wouldnt have been an issue.
I find it much more appalling that she tricked/lied to the parents..... Gives "liberals" a bad name.
**Yes that's what bothers me the most, is her tricking the kids and the parents. And yes I have nothing against liberals, but it does give them a bad name.
Farrah- I think parents kind of do trust R aunty since she's a long standing member of our community, but her liberal idea come out at the wrong time and at the wrong place.
Deeba- That is a problem in any Muslim community. Some children are exposed to the other sex while others are not. So having sleepovers in a " home environment" only encourages such thoughts and idea. Having a sleepover in a Masjid is one thing, but bring it home is just asking for problems.
oh come on lighten up..let the kids have some fun..have some cool 'yaadein'
^"kid 13 and ABOVE"
it could be pretty much "hot" yadeen, if you ask me :D
The masjids in your area actually allowed for sleepover inside the masjid, during ramadan, where the youth were allowed to mix??? camps too???
We were allowed sleepovers with our cousins. Sometimes we would all stay at their houses, or they would come to ours. We all took it in turns to host. But sleepovers at anyone other than families houses were strictly not allowed. I will apply the same rules to my children.
I don't think most kids think it's wrong to flirt in a mosque environment..u only have to see them all checking each other out on Eid and other special events.. having been on some of those Islamic trips myself I think the parents were unbelievably naive thinking their kids wouldn't be trying it on with the opposite sex, esp as most of them went to single-sex schools and had very little chance of interaction other than at these things.. not much u can do imo, apart from making sure they're well supervised,** I do think being toooo strict and never allowing ur child to speak to the opposite sex tends to make a lot of them more curious about dating or sex and likely to rebel behind ur back..
I agree with Deeba, especially bold part. Yes you have to have your limits and teach your kids but, but you can not be too strict. Teach them right from wrong and trust them. I went to regular public school and some family friends went to islamic school growing up. I can tell you tons of crazy stories about how they went crazy when they got to college because they NEVER had any freedom to do anything! They went until high school in islamic school. When in UNI, it was like a kid in a candy store. Some girls went from a forced hijab to wearing very VERY revealing clothes...just trashy to a point....and then id see them in the masjid with their families all covered up etc...like odd. I also seen lots of other stuff like crazy partying/drinking/other extremes only to regret it later.
what about the aunties husband.
and no my kids would never attend.
seriously wtf!
These kind of things really boil my blood.
I went to mosque and although we had a lovely relationship with our teacher/supervisers it was never as friendly as going around to organised sleepovers.
I'm afraid I do not agree with the idea of mixed sex sleepovers-in particular for teenagers. Just my opinion, but it wouldn't be something I'd give my children permission to take part in.