The Champions League Twenty20 is set to have a team from Pakistan for the first time. The BCCI has said it will recommend to the tournament’s governing council, which is scheduled to meet on May 28, that it had no objection to a team from Pakistan participating.
The decision was taken at the BCCI’s working committee meeting in Chennai today, where it was also decided to distribute approx $13m to ex-Indian players, set up a BCCI anti-corruption unit, and set up matchesbetween IPL teams and Associate/Affiliate countries.
Srinivasan said the matter of Pakistan’s participation in the CLT20 had already come up in the tournament’s governing council. “The Working Committee has decided to invite a team from Pakistan to play in Champions League Twenty20 to be held in October,” Srinivasan said after the working committee meeting. "CLT20 is owned by BCCI, Cricket Australia, and Cricket South Africa. So we will recommend to the Governing Council that the BCCI has no objection and is prepared to invite a Pakistan team in the Champions League.
“CLT20 will be played in India. As far as inviting a Pakistani team is concerned, it will be done by the Governing Council. The BCCI will make the recommendation to the Governing Council which will decide on the matter. This matter came up in the Governing Council of the Champions League. There was discussion around the composition of the tournament this year and on the number of teams and who will be invited. A feeling was expressed that a team from Pakistan could be invited.”
The PCB had been pushing for the inclusion of sides from Pakistan, the only major Test-playing nation to not have had teams in either the qualifiers or the main round of the tournament since its inception in 2009.
Rajiv Shukla, the BCCI vice-president and a minister in the Indian federal government, said there was no interference or green signal from the government. “Though PCB were asking us from the last three years, we did not consider that,” Shukla said. “But now we felt it was good time to invite them and have acceded to the PCB request.”
It is understood that it was Srinivasan who proposed the matter during the discussion. Everyone felt that the political climate was conducive for a team from Pakistan to come and play and the working committee members accepted the proposal unanimously.
The Champions League is played between domestic T20 winners from various countries. Sialkot Stallions are the current Pakistan domestic T20 champions. The Sialkot Regional Cricket Association had requested the PCB last month to make efforts to enable the participation of Sialkot in the Champions League. The PCB, in turn, had said that Sialkot’s participation was dependent on the restoration of bilateral ties between India and Pakistan.
Sialkot were invited to the inaugural edition of the tournament towards the end of 2008, but it was postponed after the terror attacks in Mumbai in November that year. The fall-out of those attacks strained the political relationship between India and Pakistan, and consequently, the cricketing one between the BCCI and the PCB.
Pakistan players are currently excluded from the Indian Premier League as well. Shukla, also the IPL chairman, had said last month that their participation was also dependent on the resumption of India-Pakistan cricket ties.
Re: CLT20 to have a team from Pakistan
How convenient, as soon as Pak says they are going to have their own PPL in comes BCCI and wants Pak team to play, where were they last two years or so.
Lets see if it actually happens. They may come up with some other excuses later on.
How convenient, as soon as Pak says they are going to have their own PPL in comes BCCI and wants Pak team to play, where were they last two years or so.
Ehsan uncle bura mat maanna but lately your tone towards anything Indian has become increasingly bitter. Sab theek to haina???
Its obvious BCCI has been using their muscle to push the PCB around. But diplomatic ties have SLIGHTLY improved recently which could be why the BCCI is doing this now. It could also just be drama. Even now the tone seems to me "Alright alright, we'll let you play" rather than "Please join us". I agree with Iconolost, lets see if it actually happens.
I dont buy the PPL reason, dont let this hurt your ego but the PPL can pose absolutely no financial threat to the IPL. PPL will simply not have anything close to the quality and variety of international players that the IPL has. Having said that, I am no Arleitter, so will just let time to the talking.
The CLT20 has not been super successful anyway I think. Even from a financial perspective I figure the IPL is much more valuable (I think) to the BCCI. So adding a Pakistani team can only help the CLT20. I watch the CLT20 when its on, and would enjoy to see a Pak team in action.
We should not send our team to participate in this league
....The CLT20 has not been super successful anyway I think.....
everything eventually leads to finance. ;-)
Is CL20 a league separate from lpl? Was not aware of its existence. Sialkot has no chance even against Patrudu's andhra pradesh. Why bother?
We should not send our team to participate in this league
I agree. Only if PCB listened to .
Lets boycott CLT20.
Ehsan uncle bura mat maanna but lately your tone towards anything Indian has become increasingly bitter. Sab theek to haina???
Its obvious BCCI has been using their muscle to push the PCB around. But diplomatic ties have SLIGHTLY improved recently which could be why the BCCI is doing this now. It could also just be drama. Even now the tone seems to me "Alright alright, we'll let you play" rather than "Please join us". I agree with Iconolost, lets see if it actually happens.
I dont buy the PPL reason, dont let this hurt your ego but the PPL can pose absolutely no financial threat to the IPL. PPL will simply not have anything close to the quality and variety of international players that the IPL has. Having said that, I am no Arleitter, so will just let time to the talking.
The CLT20 has not been super successful anyway I think. Even from a financial perspective I figure the IPL is much more valuable (I think) to the BCCI. So adding a Pakistani team can only help the CLT20. I watch the CLT20 when its on, and would enjoy to see a Pak team in action.
Absolutely right.
Here is my offer to Pakistani fans who think like Ehsan bhai. Donot send your team and teach BCCI some lesson.
it is the arrogant behaviour and the antics of BCCI which has led to this. They have tried their best to destroy pak cricket by using their financial muscle to put obstacle wherever possible in the way of Pak team.
Absolutely right. Here is my offer to Pakistani fans who think like Ehsan bhai. Donot send your team and teach BCCI some lesson.
If it was upto me I wont, after all BCCI backed team is falling so fast from their number one perch that before I could count form 1 to 2 they were at number 4. I don't believe in turning the other cheek especially towards India, so tough if you don't like my attitude. When BCCI behaves, so will we. Just because your organisation has the financial muscle you are talking tough, and that is the exact arrogant attitude I so hate.
The reality of life is that in such a situation any board with a strong say due to its financial might will push their weight around. I am not defending it but only trying to explain it. Australia and England did it to us and you for DECADES. India has sort of taken control in the last 10 years and like a young MBA with sudden success in the corporate world - are definitely pushing the limit with the whole "pushing ones weight around". I will admit that at times I do enjoy the fact that BCCI can get things their way - only because of how ECB and ACB have treated the asian countries and players in the last few decades.. so there is an element of "AHA WE GOT YOU NOW!". But I feel this only when it happens to ECB or ACB.
I trust you have followed cricket for the last 10-15 years and up til 4 years ago BCCI PCB + SL boards would usually always be on the same side. They backed each other and supported each other. The major change in the relationship between BCCI and PCB happened after 26/11. And since then no doubt there have been incidents when the BCCI has used its power to humiliate or put down PCB.
So it is quite expected for many non-Indian fans not to love the BCCI. All I ask from reasonable individuals is not to blame indian players or ALL indian fans for the harkkatein of BCCI administrators which at the end of the day are indian govt babus.
The reality of life is that in such a situation any board with a strong say due to its financial might will push their weight around. I am not defending it but only trying to explain it. Australia and England did it to us and you for DECADES. India has sort of taken control in the last 10 years and like a young MBA with sudden success in the corporate world - are definitely pushing the limit with the whole "pushing ones weight around". I will admit that at times I do enjoy the fact that BCCI can get things their way - only because of how ECB and ACB have treated the asian countries and players in the last few decades.. so there is an element of "AHA WE GOT YOU NOW!". But I feel this only when it happens to ECB or ACB.
I trust you have followed cricket for the last 10-15 years and up til 4 years ago BCCI PCB + SL boards would usually always be on the same side. They backed each other and supported each other. The major change in the relationship between BCCI and PCB happened after 26/11. And since then no doubt there have been incidents when the BCCI has used its power to humiliate or put down PCB.
So it is quite expected for many non-Indian fans not to love the BCCI. All I ask from reasonable individuals is not to blame indian players or ALL indian fans for the harkkatein of BCCI administrators which at the end of the day are indian govt babus.
Right, that is why I have said BCCI and not the Indian players or supporters.
If it was upto me I wont, after all BCCI backed team is falling so fast from their number one perch that before I could count form 1 to 2 they were at number 4. I don't believe in turning the other cheek especially towards India, so tough if you don't like my attitude. When BCCI behaves, so will we. Just because your organisation has the financial muscle you are talking tough, and that is the exact arrogant attitude I so hate.
I am not a fan of BCCI. I hate its stand on lots of issues. But in the whole IPL/CLT20 fiasco, PCB, Pakistani players and fans have acted very pathetic. Here are some of the comments
- If they don't want our players we will not send them: PCB during IPL2
- Please take our players we are ready to provide any documentation but they are not talking to us: PCB during IPL4
- If they don't want our awesome team in CLT20 then it is their loss : PCB
- We will go to ICC and complain about discrimination against Pakistani team in CLT20: PCB
- PCB actually went to ICC and ICC snubbed them big time
- yeh hinduon Kim zehniat hi aisi hoti hai: Sohail Tanweer
- unka dil hamare jaisa Nahi no sakta: Afridi
- It is India's turn to tour Pakistan, if they don't come we will not go there: PCB
- We are ready to play at neutral venue: PCB
- We are ready to play in India our home series: PCB etc etc
Get a grip guys. Make up your mind. If you don't like BCCI and IPL, show some balls and boycot them. Otherwise you look like whiny losers.
Why hold Pak fans accountable for the actions or statements of PCB?
That's exactly what I was saying!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! "Don't blame Indian players or fans for what BCCI does".
Do you think PCB would have acted any differently if the situation was reversed. I do not want an answer, but please think.
Also with the kind of money that BCCI is making, who cares about Number 1 position :D
Why hold Pak fans accountable for the actions or statements of PCB? That's exactly what I was saying!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! "Don't blame Indian players or fans for what BCCI does".
Look at how the fans are behaving on this site. This somehow mirrors the actions of the PCB
Also with the kind of money that BCCI is making, who cares about Number 1 position :D
Are you getting any of this money?
I would think for most fans their team's performance is more important than the money their cricket board makes!
Look at how the fans are behaving on this site. This somehow mirrors the actions of the PCB
and same can be said of Indian fans and BCCI when reading your comments, did you read the story of the frog? Nobody likes arrogance, one day it takes you down and people end up licking their own spit.
Are you getting any of this money?
I would think for most fans their team's performance is more important than the money their cricket board makes!
I am not getting any of this money. Hence I do care about the performance of the team. BCCI is making the money and it does not care. That is the point I am making. We lost badly against the Aussies. Did anything happen. Did the fans care. I do not know. With IPL happening I do not see anybody talking about the losses in Aus.