Cliches in cricket commentary

cricket commentators employ these cliches sometimes it riles you (esp Desi ones) Listing some of them

1. when somebody gets out for a duck - “gone without troubling the scorer”
  2. when a batsmen takes chances and gets a life - “fortune favors the brave”
  3. when a batsman slogs and gets runs in a unconventional manner - “it does not matter how the runs come yada yada”
  4. “form is temporary class is permanent”
  5. its all happening out there..

and when some one gets bowled… Furniture has been disturbed :hehe:

and one more - a match is not over until the last bowl is bowled -

Pakistan on fire here at Edan Gardens by Ravi Shastri

and old one from Cheshti Mujahid: Down he comes, Up she gooes, Six he Gets

THAT was a textbook shot....

Have you guys noticed that with the majority of the desi commentators, they tend to bore the hell out of you.

Now I can watch a interesting game, but if it's desi commentators talking english, being slow, nothing interesting to say, a game can become boring. But if you have some good commentators from Australia or England, like Tony Greig, you can make a boring game into a eventful game.

*Originally posted by Peoples Champ: *
Have you guys noticed that with the majority of the desi commentators, they tend to bore the hell out of you.

Now I can watch a interesting game, but if it's desi commentators talking english, being slow, nothing interesting to say, a game can become boring. But if you have some good commentators from Australia or England, like Tony Greig, you can make a boring game into a eventful game.

some of the desi commentators are good like Sunil Gavaskar , Harsha Bhogle.
worst are Aamer Sohail , Ranjit Fernando , Krish Srikannth and all the other commmentators who graduated from radio to TV ( they basically dont know when to stop)

It was good to hear Chishti's voice after a while, but then it became annoying immediately!

what about *U miss i hit * ?????????

Its not a cliche but I have heard Hassan Jalil once said "bohut acha zameen doaz stroke 4 runs" :D

hahaha good one :k:

This is Ravi Shastri..

" rrrrrrrrapped to the pads… up goes the finger… so rrrrrazzaq wins the battle here and dravid departs :k: "..

Tony Greig

" you give these Pakistani’s a wicket and boy they love it "

another common phrase

‘surely that will put cat amongst the pigeons now’ :hehe:

im watchin a program on ptv now where there r 3 guests

• Chishti Mujahid
  • Munir Hussain
  • Iftikhar Ahmed

*Originally posted by Shoki: *
im watchin a program on ptv now where there r 3 guests

• Chishti Mujahid
  • Munir Hussain
  • Iftikhar Ahmed [/QUOTE]

So how is that a cliche?

^ ehsan bhai you are kinda slow.

hahah shoki good one :k:

** 48-49th over of a match: A thick inside edge and ball beats the diving keeper, well i guess at this stage it does not count how they come as long as they come.**

If u r going to flash, flash hard!

Agarkar is out for a Duck!

There used to be a urdu commentator who used to spice up his commetns like** ‘aur yeh hain Ijaz Ahmad, bohut jaandaar hain, Sialkot ke doodh dahi ke palay huay’**

:hehe: :rotfl: