Clean freaks

This thread is regarding an obsession with cleanliness. i suppose it depends upon one’s definition of “obsession” - perhaps, a habit that tends to fall outside the borders of what feels “acceptable” in society.

i was living on dorm last year, and noticed subsequent to my return a gradually shifting difference in how i used to perceive cleanliness. Perhaps because i had to share a house with other room-mates, or for whatever reason - my whole concept of cleanliness has changed. Not that i was a slob before, but i am now becoming more obsessed with seeing everything clean :smiley: … Despite how tired i might feel, if i return home and see that there are dishes waiting to be done, i won’t be able to do anything in peace until i clean the whole kitchen from top to bottom.

Funny thing is - i don’t mind my own bedroom being slightly messy, or seeing a few clothes thrown on the chair. But i can’t stand seeing a mess in other parts of the house - it irks me to no end. :konfused: i can’t eat until everything is in its proper place. Anyone else noticing they are gradually becoming obsessed with cleanliness?

so Nadia u r one of THEM :stuck_out_tongue: boy am i glad i am not ur roommate :stuck_out_tongue:

just kidding :hehe: :hug:

yaar i am not like a cleanliness FREAK but i do like things to be clean…

however i am not the type to clean the whole house before i sleep…i am more the type k abhee neend aa rahi hae kal subha uth ke ker loon gi :biggrin: gosh i am lazy i know

waisay i strongly admire cleanliness in ppl..aakhir safai nisf imaan hae :slight_smile: keep it up nadia :k:

I'm not a freak but i'm not neatest person either though i try to be. My mom on the other hand is very very clean, i wish i had inherited that. :p I have these ubalay of josh, where i can't take the mess anymore and i clean till it's spotless.

sounds like my life story Sehar…

and my mom also is very very clean :biggrin:

*Originally posted by ~Sehar~: *
I'm not a freak but i'm not neatest person either though i try to be. My mom on the other hand is very very clean, i wish i had inherited that. :p I have these ubalay of josh, where i can't take the mess anymore and i clean till it's spotless.

same here.. time comes when i just can't stand it anymore so i just clean the whole place!

I havent seen a cleaning freak as my ammy :-)

Nadia you seem like i am.Though not as much as ammy but still I want everything at its proper place.Even the unmade beds,clothes or dupattas thrown on chairs or beds,undone dishes in kitchen,books out of racks when no body is reading them,they all irk me so much!!

I can not sleep in an unmade room,as much as tired i am , i would first clean my room and then only i can sleep peacefully.

hello to others clean freaks out there :wave: nice to meet you ppl …hehe

I'm not, thats for sure.

My mom is like that. I am more like my dad. blush

Nadia I am a clean freak, I just love it and it has to be in place or I start to think about it till it starts getting to me. When I cant sleep I get up and clean. I have to have it spotless or else, I mean everywhere, move everything and clean everywhere. The wood suppose to shine that way I like it, the candles suppose to be in there place perfectly, hangings on the wall have to be perfect. You see even if we do not live in a perfect world nor are there any perfect people out there I TRY TO LIVE UP TO IT! :)

I have a sister called Saher and she is a neatness freak-shes younger than me but she cleans the whole house up and down until it is spotless and gets sooooo mad if there is dirt around. I try to help but whenever I clean there alwys ends up more mess then there was to begin with. I am not tidy, I don't have the patience nor can I ever be. Its an impossibility for me. I don't do the sit and take your time stuff. So imagine my mums frustration, she is also a neat freak-when I was born!!!! Im very messy, not slobby-just a general unkemptness which defnies me!!! My mum gets very frustrated..... But to annoy my sister every now and then I go into my sisters room and slightly move things in my cupboard like add a red shirt in the white shirts bit.....She get sooo mad, but it keeps me amused>!!!!!

I am a bit allergic to my habbits but well i Am a cleaning freak

the worst is the case when i'm praying n i feel the table cover is not balanced , i mean its hanging line is not straight but a bit diagonal ....n i will be unable to concentrate on namaz unless i straighten it up
sigh

Yes im another clean freak...the only time im not, is when im having examz or when im going somewhere, everything in my room is all over the place. But otherwise im very clean even in school! Guesse all the credit goes to my mum :)

I guess i am one-in certain respects though :rolleyes:

I clean my own room :dhimpak: i never get satisfied if sisters do it..agar kar bhi dein to main peechay haath baandh kar aakhir main ‘moaina’ karta hoon. I am finicky in the sense that i want things to be placed a certain way…say the row of perfumes, aftershaves and blah blah on my dressing table-agar woh row thori se bhi terhi ho gi to mujh ko tension ho gi :halo: even at my workplace, i need to have my calender, my deskclock and pen/cardholder in a perfect symmetry…mere collegues un ko ulta pulta kar ke mujh ko tang karte rehte hain :frusty:

:hug: Thank you everyone for your replies. :flower1:

Afia baji, aw… That is just what my Ammi does - she can’t bear seeing a crooked sheet anywhere, or she will have to get up and fix it.

Irem :hug: lolz yes, i am one of them:~D You are lucky you were not my roommate :devil: i feel sorry for anyone who had to be:~D lol
Waisay i tried not to be mean towards my other roommates - although some of their habits really used to bother me inside. How could they leave dishes in the sink for up to two days sometimes? :yukh: Then all the food starts to become hard and encrusts itself into the plates, spoons, etc. :yukh: And no one would wipe the kitchen counter except for me… ugh, it was unhygienic:~( i once saw dirty sponge being used to wipe the counters - that almost made me throw up.

Sehar :flower1: My Ammi gets those ubalay of josh as well. She used to be a clean freak like me, but now i think that she thinks since she has passed it on to me, she doesn’t have to be that way anymore - but my eldest sister is more of a clean freak than i am. Every Saturday morning she will scour the house from top to bottom with ‘Lysol’ (disinfectant) - although her house is always sparkling clean. Now i haven’t gone that far yet, thankfully.

Kashish, Yes that sounds like me! i hate, hate, hate unwashed dishes in the sink. i can’t sleep until i know the kitchen is clean.

Mehroo and Munni, Thanks:~)

Majestic and Sumi, Were you guys always like this or have you noticed that it’s gradually become a part of your personality? The reason i ask is because i wasn’t always like this - i want to know what made me change.

Hiccup awww. That’s alright - not everyone is the same. Trust me, it’s not always good being a clean freak:~( i am sure your habits are fine just the way they are. Your sister reminds me of my eldest sister waisay:~)

aw :flower1: :slight_smile: i know that feeling.
In my room, i know where everything is - i hate it when things get out of order. For other rooms in the house, i become even more angrier - like if the tv remote is not in its proper place, or my brother’s schoolbag is lying on the carpet :halo: i won’t be able to focus on anything until everything is in its proper place.

Nadia sis I have always been like this, I even was cleaning when I was in my mothers womb :smiley: either thinking in there or clean something :smiley: :hug:

Nadia: I know what you are saying..however, interesting enuf..it’s just me and my room/place kinda thing (boy, am i selfish or what?)..i wouldn’t be moved a bit if all the house (save my room) is not in order…in fact jab main apne kamre ki safai karta hoon to saara gand mand bahar tv lounge main aa kar phenk jaata hoon :halo:

aur haan..i was not always like this..yeh abhi koi 2 saal pehle he develop hui hai aadat :smack:

well just forget everyother freak ....u ppl don't know the actual freak ....its my two yrs old:o

when he is eating a finger food ...after every single bite he wants a clean tissue paper to clean his hands

n well last night we were going to bed he placed his chappals on bathroom door mat .....but they were not placed straight as he tried to kinda throw them on mat while standing ....he sat down , put aside his picture book straightened the shoes n then came back to bedroom ...:o

:hehe: chhoo chweet…!!!

OCD "Obessive Compulsive Disorder" this one is more swear type, the bearable one is OCT "Obsessive Compulsive Trait." Lot of people have them for different things. Could be about anything. You could be anally detail oriented, or a clean freak or even gossiping. I think my sister is such a clean freak when it comes to herself. She can't have enough showers its sooooo weird. Even in winter she baths like freaking 5 times a day. Its scary.