Re: Classic Brides and Bridals
they look lovely....in the second picture the first woman is wearing this diamond motif that ive seen so often in HSY ensembles...
The author of the book from which I scanned most of those pictures specially mentions the fact that dupatta was made for her mother (a princess from the Loharu royal family) in 1913 in Old Delhi. Its made of silk net with heavy karchob embroidery in pure gold and silver.
the pattern is so pretty
are you referring to the Ritu Kumar book--Costumes and Textiles? I still need to get my hands on that one. Perhaps you know of any other good books on this topic?
Janab u'll make one gorgeous bride InshaAllah--your taste is so regal:)
Thanks BR :)
Actually I took those pictures from "Remembrance of Days Past" by Jahanara Habibullah. The author was born into an elite Muslim family (her father was a senior courtier to the Nawab of Rampur towards the tail end of the Colonial era)...the book is an autobiography that focuses on the customs and traditions of UP's Muslim aristocracy.
Incidentally, the novelist Kamila Shamsie is her granddaughter...if you've read 'Salt and Saffron,' the grandmother is supposedly loosly based on Jahanara Habibullah.
the beauty of these brides..is that...you can actually see their faces...not loads and loads of foundation and the entire MAC eye collection..goodness....they look beautiful!!
Thanks BR :)
Actually I took those pictures from "Remembrance of Days Past" by Jahanara Habibullah. The author was born into an elite Muslim family (her father was a senior courtier to the Nawab of Rampur towards the tail end of the Colonial era)...the book is an autobiography that focuses on the customs and traditions of UP's Muslim aristocracy.
Incidentally, the novelist Kamila Shamsie is her granddaughter...if you've read 'Salt and Saffron,' the grandmother is supposedly loosly based on Jahanara Habibullah.
thnxxx....oooooo i remember writing this book's name down...should go and read it then.
Have you seen the photos from A Rebel Princess-Abida Sultan----the Bhopali begums and their daughters were so simple compared to the rest of the princely states.
the beauty of these brides..is that...you can actually see their faces...not loads and loads of foundation and the entire MAC eye collection..goodness....they look beautiful!!
oh yes!! its simplicity at its best!
WOW! these brides are beautiful...so elegant!
my mum also wore a cream and gold gharara with a maroon accent...she had pearl and garnet jewelry to match.
on the walimah she wore a gold and baby pink shalwar kameez with kundan jewelry.
my mum looked stunning on her wedding, shes one of the most beautiful brides i have ever seen.
I've opted for fairy traditional outfits for the mehndi and shaadi, so am hoping that my daughters (inshallah if I have any), will want to wear them.
The mehndi is a farshi gharara, but with a longer goat, and the the shaadi outfit is also a farshi gharara with dabka kaam on it.
I even wore a gharara to my engagement - I love them. Unfortunatley not many people know how to make the really traditional gharara's these days, it's sadly a dying art.
Wow I am just amazed by these photo’s - they could be from any era the colours are so good!
I simply love the gharara. Does anyone havea pattern how to cut the pieces.
mahimart! I swear you have the solutions to EVERYTHING
Ditto! :)
Well, I just couldn’t find a full pic of a dress that someone requested so… ![]()
^ Love it...when is it from? Looks like 1980s......