Classic Brides and Bridals

i really really like her dupatta…i am so tempted to post my mehndi pic… :slight_smile:
i got to wear my mother’s gharara…

Re: Classic Brides and Bridals

Another classic bride…Syed Babar Ali & his wife at their wedding at the Pakistani Embassy in Washington, circa the early 1950’s:

President Richard Nixon (then vice president) posing with the bride and groom

More scenes from the wedding:

You look beautiful :)

Did your mother wear that at her shaadi or her mehndi? I'm guessing white means it was her shaadi outfit...

Janab-e-ali, you work at lightning speed! Thanks for the pictures, but I must say, I wouldn't have worn those outfits, I don't care how historic they are. They are rather costumey--it looks like she's playing dress up in grandma's clothes.

thanks janab :)
it was her shaadi gharara..... and she was the most beautiful bride they had ever seen :) so they say....

that jhoomer is to die for!!

WOW these are amazing pictures. where did u get them from? Nowhere do they look like 1950s pictures… great quality

Chanda your mom's gharara looks stunning. You're very lucky that you had a piece like that and that you were able to use it at your own wedding.
My mom has a pair of jhumkis from her shaadi, they've got maroon beads, very traditional looking, may even be handmade. I'm thinking of adding more beads, having them cleaned up, and wearing them at my mehndi. Just trying to think of a colour that'll go well with maroon, may be butter-cup yellow, pale pistachio green, or even saffron.

You know wht I love abt ur mom's gharara Chanda--its gold and cream--an example of another color other than red being unbelievably traditional......my mom's shaadi gharara is almost the same as ur mom's lol--same color....

u know wht! when i was young--i used to think tha pakistani brides dont have a traditional wedding dress color---they just wear whtever they like.....coming froma family with a couple of red joras--rest being every other color....:)

Very interesting pix indeed! Love her jhumaar!! reminds me of the one Princess Mehrunissa of Rampur wore:

585 Ritu Kumar, A story of sartorial amalgamation

u guys will really like this article

thank you naqsa! gosh i am such a sucker for old stuff....i got hold of all my nano's old dupattas..and my mother's chiffon saris...but couldnt salvage all.. :( since my family has moved a LOT..
you cant go wrong with antique jewelery...imo jhumkas will go really well with the mehndi occasion.
hmm maroon...and saffron...or something more orange-y maybe...because yellow may add a bit too much contrast when paired with maroon...... ??

my nani’s wedding trousseau was very similar to this…the A-line kameez with the gharara..and yards of dupatta wrapped around..my mom wore it to her college farewell.. lol :slight_smile:

Can u imagine our daughters wearing our wedding outfits to their non-wedding events, our outfits are so heavy and embellished..i doubt they could!

i know how cool is that!...i noticed that several brides from the family at the time opted for cream/ivory/gold wedding dresses..be it angharkhas/ghararas/etc..i didnt see lehngas for some reason.. ?

these pictures make me want to go in the 50's! great times... look at all the people , so elegantly dressed!!! kya baat hai.
chanda, ur mum's dress is to die for!!!

That's an excellent point...I'm definitely thinking saffron now, maybe even add cream/ivory. I'm thinking back to a Bunto gharara with a rust/copper kameez...defnitely something to consider!

They’re from the Life Magazine photo collection…

pakistan wedding source:life - Google Image Search

Some more classic bridal looks…Lucknow and Rampur, India circa 1930-1945:

no makeup, all natural beauty, simple, elegant, poised, and above all soooo innocent!!!