Civil Engineers From Pakistan

Any civil engineers from pakistan here??

Brother Ghalib, nothing civil comes out of Pakistan. However, there are plenty of engineers.

Autsch! This is gonna make this a Phadda thread! :eek:

ghalib I guess you already know about my family :)

ahemm... Engineer from Pakistan as in those who're currently practicing in Pakistan...as in NOT you hmcq....

*Originally posted by NYAhmadi: *
Brother Ghalib, nothing civil comes out of Pakistan. However, there are plenty of engineers.

You dont know much about Pakistan, not as much as you claim to know. Have you heard the name Military College of Engineering (MCE) Risalur? It has an excellent civil engineering degree program. I am including some info on it...

Military College of Engineering (MCE), Risalpur

A premier institution of civil engineering in Pakistan which has recently been ISO 9000-2000 certified. It offers degree courses at the undergraduate level.

The college is energized with a vision for future and is committed to academic excellence aimed at intellectual leadership and distinction in its teaching programmes. The college has a competent, experienced and highly qualified faculty to offer best possible academic inputs. The faculty, mostly qualified from universities in USA/UK, excels in teaching as well as in research.

The college has a number of laboratories with modern sophisticated equipment, which meets most requirements of experimental and practical work in areas related to engineering education. These laboratories are regularly being upgraded with latest equipment.

MCE has an elaborate and dedicated computer centre which has multi terminal internet facility providing free internet and e-mail services to the faculty and students. The wings/branches of the college are linked with local area net work with local e-mail and data transfer facility.

Additional Internet service is also being provided by establishing Cyber Cafés at the Station Officers Club which will provide internet facility to student and staff officers during evenings. A number of different engineering and general software are available at the computer centre for use by students/faculty. MCE is making efforts at producing competent civil engineers, who can confidently take civil engineering assignments after graduation.
BE Civil:

Civil engineering degree offered by MCE is based on balanced distribution of theoretical knowledge, practical training and field work terminating into group projects designed to solve practical civil engineering problems. The programme syllabus approved by the University Grants Commission (UGC) and Pakistan Engineering Council (PEC) includes subjects of basic sciences and humanities, engineering mechanics, strength of materials, theory of structures, hydraulics, soil mechanics, highway engineering, airport engineering, survey, concrete technology, architecture, computer science etc.*

Ghalib, I will try to find you an email addy of some graduate from there. Apart from this UET also offers Civil Engineering, but there program is not that good.

Ghalib - then please state it as engineer in pakistan and not from :).

Have you chatted with the Pir recently by the way. He does know a few if I remember correctly :).

sir ji. I am Civil Engineer from pak and in USA.. kia hukam he

Degas,

He wants a civil engineer in pak not in the US.
Waise check your PM..

hmcq

Degas:

u a civil engineer too? Which field??

Ghalib working today or off?
Call karu ya nahi :)?

Ghalib,
geotech and environ at moment but doing other stuff too..

Degas:

geotech huh.. do any work on bridges?

hmcq:

haan bay....office mein hon.. check your PM

Degas,
Sounds like Haz waste work?

Ghalib.. Mil gaya PM.. Koi kaam nahi hai na! :)

Re: Civil Engineers From Pakistan

*Originally posted by ghalib: *

Ghalib,
still looking or found already ?

Re: Civil Engineers From Pakistan

*Originally posted by ghalib: *

I know many who r in Pak.. what info u need..

Well, I wanted to get some practicing civil engineers in pakistan to talk about the industry situation and all in Pakistan. JOb prospects, type of predominant work load and which regions are the best in terms of opportunities are few of the things I want to hear about.

As for myself, I am a licensed engineer working mostly in bridge design. Haven't come across any civil engineers on Gupshup lately (except for Fraudia's brother and our very own HMCQ) so I figure I make some waves and find out the prospects in Pakistan and also discover some civil engineer on Gupshupn as well...

Ata:

dude... what happened to you? Long time no C!

Chicha Ghalib,
I am here yar, in the same city and working,
aap sunao kaisay ho ?
yeh long tim...

for this,
you must talk to the guppy 'phajja nanbi'
He is also NEDian, and he did worked so many years in Karachi in a multinational company, very halping and nice person he is!
He was actually my senior in Uni,
He must have a big circle of all type of engineers thier in Pak,you may contact him,
let me know :)

ghalib

u have my dad's contact info. he is retired now but was the ceo of a major engineering company and has a large network. he can advise you, guide you and connect you. drop him a note.

I can tell you about the scope part. The demand for civil engineers is down. At U.E.T in the merit list Civil was at no two some six years back after Electrical now its down at no 4.