Chinese soldiers cross to India in search of 'love'

AGARTALA: Drawn by the powers of the ‘Love Flower’, Chinese soldiers are said to be sneaking into Indian territory in Arunachal Pradesh.

“It is true that there have been no incursions by the Chinese into Arunachal Pradesh of late. But there have been instances of sporadic intrusion into the Indian side by PLA (People’s Liberation Army) in small groups. They come, stay there for a while and then go back. When they meet locals or are challenged by security forces, the Chinese military personnel usually say they have entered Indian territory to collect wild fungus from the mountains. They call it ‘Love Flower’, which is actually a fungus — Cordyceps sinensis,” said Tako Dabi, Arunachal home minister.

“The fungus can fetch a huge price in the international market — Rs 2 lakh per kg,” he added.

So, what exactly is this ‘Love Flower’? True to its name, the fungus is believed to be an aphrodisiac, besides having a host of other medicinal values. It grows on caterpillars in places situated at altitudes of 10,000 ft and above. Apart from China, Tibet and Nepal, it is also found in the Arunachal highlands — mostly in the Tawang range.

Due to its peculiar growth, it is often referred to as ‘half-insect, half-flower’ in Arunachal. It is also known as ‘caterpillar mushroom’. In Arunachal, the fungus is called ‘yartsi gonpo’ while in Tibet, it has come to be known as ‘yartsa gunbu’ since its discovery in the 15th century. Besides being a potent aphrodisiac, Cordyceps sinensis is traditionally used in Chinese medicine — as a dried herb — for a variety of purposes: enhancing stamina, recovery of speed after fatigue, nourishment of the body and brain and as an antioxidant.

According to sources, the price of the herb has skyrocketed in recent times in China. Sample this: In 1980, 1 kg of Cordyceps used to cost 1,800 yuan; in 1997, it jumped to a steep 8,400 Yuan. And now, the same amount of Cordyceps can fetch up to 60,000 yuan, or Rs 4 lakh. But some others said the usual price was around Rs 2 lakh for 1 kg. In fact, for an ounce of Cordyceps, a mushroom hunter in Tibet can earn $900, according to History Channel.

Though ‘flower hunting’ intrusions don’t necessarily pose a serious strategic threat, theArunachal Pradesh government is worried at the way China is building strategic infrastructure in its territory, along the border.

Re: Chinese soldiers cross to India in search of ‘love’

:aq:are they really crossing the border to get this love flower power?

and why isn’t india capitalizing on making the big bucks on this aphrodisiac fungus that’s become rare in china…Pay up china!

Re: Chinese soldiers cross to India in search of 'love'

ISI is behind India not capitalizing on it :P

alright that sarcastic comment deserves a love flower fungus just for you :sheen:sell it for millions

Hmm well well … Never knew there was a desi Viagra in the form of fungus . Bloody Chinese, leaving us behind in terms of bania giri. :grumpy:

Is it poisoned? Did RAW appoint you to deliver it? Do you have a hidden agenda?

let me guess, ISI is behind this as well

Nah .. she is the ultimate CIA-RAW honey trap :P ducks for cover

Give them Indian women instead of fungus and they’ll run away.

:vivo: ^^^^ i don’t appreciate all the mean, bullying remarks:zobo: :frowning:

and jhoom is banned from saying the words “maybe isi did it” from now on:zobo:

$900 that’s a lot of money

Jeez Paulie. Just ask Shoaib Malik.

seriously India and China don't need aphrodisiac... look at their current population!!!

give it to Pakistan :p

it's strange but you guys haven't even seen the money angle of this, all you saw was the "love, aphrodisiac" aspect ........i'm a gal and all i heard was the cha ching of the cash register : D

I only saw the aphrodisiac aspect...

Somethings are priceless

i don't know who Shoaib Malik is but we have GS's TLK bhai too :)

lust,sex are priceless? it's just a temporary high then nothing......

^I am talking about its aphrodisiac properties, you are talking about making money by selling it to people looking for aphrodisiacs.

sorry lust and sex is not priceless it costs Rs 2 lakh/kg in this case

^^^oopps yea duh, that was the whole reason i had posted this thread here in the science and nature section, aphrodisiac props of the fungus, the thread got diverted a bit :-D.sawly :)

Manisha ... r u frm india ... i guess ...

Common Manisha. Shoaib malik, you know, the Pakistani cricket player, who was lusting after Hyderabadi women. And who came not once, not twice, but thrice to Hyderabad to pick up a bride, despite their baudelin complexions and proto-African genes. :cheer:

^dost i grew up being obsessed with basketball and being totally in love with michael jordan, cricket is a south asian obsession. but good to know who shoaib mallik is and that he married an indian :)

in my university there were a few indian pakistani couples so it's not really that shocking. indian and pakistani americans get along pretty well where i grew up