childrens desi clothes

Guys, need some advice, this is a genuine request. I have 2 daughters and I’m always on the look out for good quality desi clothes. Here in Birmingham there are numerous desi shops but a lot of them are selling either over priced tat or really cheap and nasty stuff. I’ve been toying with the idea of starting up on online kids store. Is this a viable idea, what would u b willing to pay for kapray? Would u buy kids stuff on-line?
Would really value your ideas and input,
Thanksu

It's the same here in US. I did try the same thing Bc I was sick of
Begging relatives to send stuff or buying super expensive items. They would send cheap stuff that would rip after wearing once. Its a great idea if you can get a customer base. I tried my hand and find that I couldn't get customers to buy or pay for shipping, etc or to trust you.....

If you have friends or relatives with kids your age then maybe you could buy in bulk together. Desi ppl don't like to give profit to anybody especially if it is people they know :(. There is work and time involved and ppl don't always realize that. Many will give you lowball offers. How do up explain that it cost more than that?

If you want to try it by all means go ahead. Things have gotten easier with Facebook and email. Limit your risk and go for it. This way you know you tried. Limit your inventory initially and give it a go. Good Luck!

Re: childrens desi clothes

I think its a great idea. Esp in the UK, my eldest refused to wear shalwar Kameez a few years ago thought they were ugly and not cool as her skinny jeans or her english clothes were. One day she was in need of a sleeping suit and I recommended her to wear one of my old lawn shalwar Kameez to bed. Ever since then she finds it the most comfortable clothes ever. To be honest it looks so elegant and pretty too. I hope our girlls start wearing shalwar kameez more often, I think we need cool designs for the girls. My most difficult thing is that age that they can't wear little girls clothes but are still to young to wear women sizes. I hope you go through with it, and when I come to the UK inshallah would love to purchase some from you too:)

Facebook - prices are good.

Facebook they have designer kids clothes.

Girls, thank u so much for responding, I'm so grateful. I am in exactly the same boat as u guys, I have to wait for Ummi to go or order from our hb girls but once u add postage it does become a bit pricey. Sumo my daughter is a very tall and skinny 9 year old and I'm just finding that some of the western styles don't particularly suit her as she is all arms and legs, I bought her a nice shalwaar suit from the desi area for a wedding , we got to the wedding, within 20 mins of being there, she had burst into tears as the whole shalwaar had split! She was mortified, my poor baby.
I really would like to go ahead with it but I'm nervous. Thank u for your tusulee ladies, means a lot :)

Hey Brummie

I would definitely be interested as I have 4 girls :slight_smile: its so difficult to find simple stuff for girls sometimes as well, I like mine to wear cotton tunics in the summer with 3/4 jeans so i get them made from bangladesh in bulk … wish you all the luck in your venture.

Also please would be ever so grateful if you could think about doing long cotton tunics for us ladies as well, its the only way to survive the summer for me as I wear hijab as they r ideal for pairing with linen trousers :slight_smile: If you are interested I have an album which I told Proto to have a look at and get back to me with prices …

here is the link.
http://www.paklinks.com/gs/album.php?albumid=236

I can help but sub mill kay dua karo Allah mian mujay bhi ek beti day dayn :(

^iA!!

Oh Proto Inshallah Tabarakallah May Allah bless you with a nuni muni beti :). Meri be beti sab teenager hogi hai. I miss having a little guriya to dress up:)

I know :( beti kay chakkar may I have two monsters already MA :D tooo risky now !

Well do research a lot before you start this venture. Also do a test run of your resources before you start marketing your self (a mistake I made by not doing that). Tell the tailor you want to engage that you have started a business so you'd like the dresses done on time bla bla and see if he still stick to the deadlines. There is always a market for everything as long as you can offer a good product.

If you are going to get dresses done in Pakistan, do consider the shipping cost when pricing.

I am sending you an inbox message, please respond.

I have three daughters and I am in the same position. I can get party clothes, but only around Eid time and even the the quality is often iffy. I don’t mind paying a bit more for quality, especially if it’s for the oldest and there’s a chance it can be used later on by her sisters. But so much of what I can find is just trash. :frowning: Last year I ventured into the world of HB designers…and have been very pleased with my ability to order stylish casual and party wear for the girls (and myself). I’ve I choose carefully, I can still get two suits from one set of fabrics for the two younger girls (though I they need to share the pant or I have to get a second one made). With four of us, my orders have tended to be on the large side which helps bring down the shipping per suit cost, but it’s a little nerve racking on the dollar invested per order side, but so far so good. :slight_smile: The final cost of their clothes after shipping is usually about $45 - $55 Canadian for 2 pieces (my girls where hijab and usually skip the dupatta). I think that price range is very reasonable for the beautiful dresses that I’ve been able to buy for them. They have received so many compliments. We don’t really have family that I feel comfortable asking to shop for our kids (it’s all my husband’s side), they don’t go that often, and I’m not really fond of them know what we spend our money on anyway. :blush: For lor local party/semi formal wear, the better stuff that I find, I’m willing to pay around $65 Canadian. My oldest is almost into ladies sizes, but not quite (she’s actually taller than me now, but is too narrow for most of the ready made ladies dresses). I’ve been able to find some smaller things for her here and there for around $75 - $80 Canadian…for some really beautiful things (like a couple threads and motifs dresses stitched for children) I’ve spent in the $90 - $120 Canadian range and have pleaded with her to take better care of them so her sisters can enjoy them when she’s outgrown them.

So far I have been lucky with customs. I’ve had items sent to my mailbox in the US. Having them shipped directly from Pakistan I know I would be looking at a ton of duty which would really drive up the cost of the dresses, but so far I have been lucky with packages coming into the US so I only pay the tax to bring them into Canada. What I don’t understand is why do people bring such trashy kids stuff to sell here? I never see girls from Pakistani families, who travel frequently, wearing that stuff. They are usually dressed so nicely.

Just wanted to add that now that I’ve got a little boy trying to find nice kurta shalwar for him has been a challenge too. What I would give to find him a nice little sherwani for speical occasions too, but those ones I find here are usually so gaudy looking or they are just way too big for him. I’m still waiting for him to grow into the nice one he was gifted as a new born…smallest size they had in the store…he’s 2 and it’s still too big!

Ouch! I just looked at the Royal Gemz page on facebook...$130 -$160 for a child's outfit...now I feel cheap! I wasn't meaning to be, but I honestly can't afford that with 3 daughters. I don't often spend more than that for myself!

$130 - $160???!!!
Are you kidding me???

I haven't spent more than $75 for very heavy outfits for my 9 year old and she is usually decently dressed Ah.
What I have learned to do is to purchase the year's worth around Eid when there are melas and vendors bring extra stuff for kids. I purchase clothing that is a size or two larger than she needs and that usually saves me from having to go hunting when I need an outfit for a wedding or other event.

And those outfits that I find are a "bargain" are just that.....worn once or twice and that too after I have gone over each seam with a sewing machine myself.....

I have mash'Allah 4 nieces and my sisters are always on the hunt for reasonably priced shalwar kameez for their daughters but vendors tend to shy away from kidswear fashions.

The girls have found that even cotton/lawn suits tend to be priced at $50-60, which IMO is high for kidswear. Kids outfits use less fabric and is generally simpler tailoring, yet the prices for clothes don't reflect that.

The little girls don't need designer lawn, the market lawn and cottons and georgettes with pretty tailoring should cost less, but it's tough to find a vendor that reflects that reality.

My khala buys designer wear for her kid whenever there's a sale & she buys enough for a year.Same thing next year.Her kid is 6 yrs old now & she has been doing this since he was born.

Yep! Same here. I am so glad I have an overlocker. I go over all the unfinished seams before the kids wear them.

@ prototype;

Out of curiosity if we were in Pakistan, how much would it cost for an under 12-year old:

1. Simply tailored cotton/lawn suit
  2. Simply-tailored georgette suit (obviously lined)
  3. Fancy tailored (with lace/pipings) georgette suits
  4. Chiffon/silk/jamawar suits - simple (maybe kaam at neck or daaman and with a finished dupatta)

I don't expect the tailoring charges to be much less, because stitching is stitching. Fabric cost should be less though unless your dealing with pre-cut suits of cloth (or have a nearly adult sized child like my oldest (12yrs). I wish picking from unbranded lawns and cottons was an option for me, but I think I'm too picky about prints. I need to be able to see beforehand the print I'm choosing, so I'm stuck with branded.

I rarely see any cotton suits for kids around here...only around Eid time and only party wear. I used to buy for the year all at once, but now the girls have gotten too choosey about what they wear. I can't just bring home a pile of dresses anymore. :(

You all have pleasant dilemmas..... After two boys ( aka my tasmanian devils/angels) i tried again....and was blessed last year with .......da da daaaah...another little beta! Cheer up, my gynae said, you will be the sole princess in the house! :(
Still, 2 eids a year, finding decent boys outfits is hard, and they grow so quick mA, that its a shame to spend so much on something worn for just a day.