"Children of Gebelawi"

Anyone read this book? It’s by Naguib Mahfouz, an Egyptian novelist who won the Nobel Peace Prize.

i haven’t finished the book yet. Apparently after it was published, it was banned in Egypt (and MAYBE throughout the rest of the Arab world). i think the ban has been lifted now, the book was published a few decades ago.

Basically the book makes allegorical references to tyranny and justice. But um - it does it in a unique way. There is a central figure, Gebelawi, who has several “children” - the children represent, in an Egyptian context, different Prophets, may Allah’s peace and blessings be upon all of them. It begins with parallels to Hazrat Adam, may Allah’s peace be upon him, and how he gets thrown out of Gebelawi’s house for disobeying his orders.

You have to read the book to understand how Mahfouz creates the plots and the settings. It’s not a blasphemous book. If you google the title, you’ll find that it’s become a huge popular hit as a children’s book (helps to explain what happened in the lives of different Prophets (may Allah’s peace and blessings be upon all of them)). It’s interesting… but i’m still on the first chapter, so lots more to read yet.

Anyone heard of it? Read it? Did you like it?

Seems like Milton's 'Paradise Lost' type? Right? I am expecting a Book Review from you after you have been done with it :-)

Nadz :hug: i miss u yar :-/ :flower1:

i’ve read parts of this book, and other excerpts from works by this same author…

its a good interesting read… :slight_smile:

Seedha Saada, Sorry i have not read “Paradise Lost”. i know, the only person in the universe who hasn’t yet read that classic. Sorry :flower1: i have no idea what it’s even about. Naam bahaut sunna hai, but to be honest - i have never ever read even a single page of it. Sorry. Yep, i will definitely give a book review on “Children of Gebelawi” after i am done with it. It might take me a while to finish b/c i tend to read books & then leave them in the middle. But once i finish it, i’ll post my review here… i love to blab about books.

Irem, yaar i miss you too :flower1: Kithey ho? You’ve read the book - wow cool. Yeah he’s apparently written many, many other interesting books. i want to start reading the more interesting ones. You know what’s funny, i’ve never read any fiction by an Arab author. So first time for me. Different writing style, i’ve noticed, very different, closer towards European styles than American or desi.

If you don’t mind my asking (please feel free to ignore the question if you want :flower1: ), does your Ammi teach any of his books in her classes?

haan it is interesting. At first i thought - maybe it’s something blasphemous and i shouldn’t be reading it. But his message is completely opposite if you really think about it - he’s infact trying to raise accurate awareness of Islamic principles (justice and stuff). So i think it’s a useful book from that pov.

Whats unique about Literary Classics is that they are read rarely. Had I not been in English Department, mein ne bhee naheen parhna tha :slight_smile:
Well, the theme of both is same Nadia. I wud get back to you on this after u have posted its Book Review :slight_smile:

nadz [hugz]]] nai mummy doesnt yaar :) but i read em in college...

i read it in undergrad 10 years ago..don't remember much but I DID like it...