So, let’s say that you know 3 kids aged from 7, 9 and 11. Now the 9 yr old is Mashallah very smart and she knows her right to wrong…but she gets influenced by her other sisters. The 7 yr old always listens to the 11 yr old. In my opinion from what I’ve seen the 11 yr old is way too chalak for her age and lies about anything and everything…I think she might suffer from Compulsive Lying Disorder.
For example:
a girl - my class are going to perform in the O2 (no they aren’t really she just wants to see what the 11 yr old says)
11 yr old - OH YEAH! my teacher said we’re going to go there and we’re going to have the front row!
ummm, what?
Anyways, I’ve seen the 11 yr old take some of my stuff…when I asked her if she’d seen where it went she would on the spot say ‘Oh yeah I saw your little sister put it in a drawer but I don’t know which one’
The 11 yr old skips pages whilst reading Quran…I’ve also told her mum, like listen aunty she seems to be making up quite a lot of stuff, aunty ji brushes it off ofcourse. =)
Now whenever the 7 yr old gets told to do something, the 11 yr old will whisper to her ‘don’t listen to them’…umm what?
There was once a time when we were all crossing a busy road, I had told them all to get in front of me to which they all did…we cross the road and the 11 yr old sneakily stays behind. I look across the road and she’s standing there…I didn’t even notice her not come along! Anyways, she went and told her mum that I wasn’t looking after her, the 7 yr old agreed that I didn’t tell them all to get in front of me a couple of times…however, the 9 yr old told the truth and said no sweet.i.f did look after us…their mum asked the 9 yr old again with and her story changed, she looked very guilty about it too.
They’re suffering from serious issues about lying and I think it’s just going to get worse because it’s consistent, not just once in a blue moon…every day they come around here and every day they make up something (need I mention they have no manners at all). Albeit the 9 yr old showed conflicting feelings towards siding with her sisters I just don’t want her to get ruined in this too because she’s so very clever Mashallah.
They’re my cousins, and their sister who’s my age doesn’t seem to care. I’ve told her parents but I guess their family background is pretty much like that too. Spouses hiding stuff from each other, and lying.
I just want to ask you parents, if these were your daughters what would you do? Would you listen to your neice if she told you your daughters were like this? Would you sort it out?
If they were my daughters, I would have a stern sit down with them (perhaps even a little threaten of taking away any priviledges) and tell them that’s not how it works, I would keep a CLOSE eye on everything they say and do…perhaps even test them a little. You know what? I wouldn’t even let them get to this point.
They’re so young and they say such chalak stuff, it scares me what they would be like when they grow up.
They lack the right sort of attention and it’s funny how the parents are turning a blind eye to it. You see perfectly capable kids getting screwed up and it’s so sad. Why do parents do that?!