Children and Hobbies/Sports/extracurriculars

Does your child have a hobby? Do they play a sport?

When we were growing up my parents had us pick up a sport of choice and another activity. I was a good swimmer and my sister ended up playing basketball and horse riding. She is also a trained pianist, played professionally in concerts while I learned art. I think it’s necessary for kids to do things other than just sit at home and study. When I say this to some desi friends, they don’t relate because there’s high emphasis on academics and academics alone.

Share your thoughts on how activities other than regular studies can help shape a child.

you are from one loaded family :)

Re: Children and Hobbies/Sports/extracurriculars

Is that all you got out from my post :smilestar:

well so whts wrong if they don't listen to you? care to share if someone failed in life bcos he/she didn't put much emphasis on sports and were always in rutafying books...? its not necessary that if something works for you it will work for others as well.

It is indeed not necessary for a kid to have extra curricular activities...but its a good thing for them I think. I don't agree with having a total focus on academics nor do I agree with filling up a kid's schedule with expensive activities every day of the week. But when there's a balance, when a kid has a couple of activities outside of school, it broadens their horizons, develops mind and body, helps them to become more independant and confident.

In our town, there are many wealthy parents who schedule their kids for something every day of the week after school. Music, dance class, horseback riding, sports, karate, foreign language...they are so over-scheduled its (to me) ridiculous lol. My boys have swim class, the older 2 have boy scouts (monthly meetings) and then they each get an "after school club" of their choice...these are 8 week clubs that meet once a week for an hour after school - so far they have done drum lessons, circus arts, animal explorers and mad science. Every time they have an activity, they are just so excited about it and cant wait to tell us all about it.

Among our 5 brothers 4 were at national/international level in different sports.
Our father always supported us. And he said physical activity comes first and then comes education.

Now about desis:::
In pakistan I use to go running every morning. the days I would feel lazy , I used to take my dog with for company: make him run about 6km with me.(poor dog would sleep most of the day after)
When I first came here I wanted to have a dog, And I told my friend would take it running once in a while. They all gave me strange looks.

You know what nik, you are what you are. Stupid ppl should not be able you stop doing from healthy things.
After all you know better you bn there and you have done that.

Martial Arts, Swimming and Archery....planning to teach the kids these three things inshaAllah, it's also Sunnah of Prophet (SAW) to teach your children these things.

Personally, I'd love to see them learning scuba diving.

Awww you had a great family. Mine were just parho parho parho aur sirf parho. Even my mom didn't let us do drawing. She use to say it's wasting of time.

We were very good in education and my mom use to ask to my uncle why don't you beat them ro read. He use to beat my cousin he do not read. He was laughting alot.

I remember My mom was saying "meray buchchay tumharay kuch naheen hain tum unkay chacha naheen ho sirf doosray bhai kay buchchon kay chacha ho wo sirf tumharay sub kuch hain

He said why?

My momb said you don't beat them up for parhai.

He was lagughin. He said "bhabhi main kioon inko maroon yay to khud parhtay hain aur bohat achcha partay hain wo (my cousins) to bilkul parhtay naheen is liaay marta hoon.

My mom was just insisting. He was laughting and saying again and again bhabhi aap samajhti naheen yay loaga sub bohat achcha parhtay hain.

LOL

My mom didn't let us read any story book. My father didn't ever pay attention and didn't check what we are doing.

So we didn't do any activities. I was fond off learning swiming and other sports. Sigh. wasn't allowed.

I think other activities play a great roll in education, development and making us sociail. We weren't social at all.

Kids who involve in other activities become more genius, understand more things. That also give them more energy and also how to distribute time and make them diciplined.

i think a few hobbies/sports etc can do alot for ones self esteem...esp for girls who are usually discouraged from doing anything . though things are definitely changing for the better....

Extra curricular activites are good for children growth and mind.

I never intended to make them listen to me :smack:

And I never said that if you don’t play you will be a failure in life… at the same time, participating in other activities doesn’t make you a failure either.

We didn't do any activies but we got good education and got great job. Alhamdolillah. Great achievement too.

It's not necessary to have but it's good to have any other activities.

i wanted to do a few hobbies when i was a kid. but..oh..too traumatic to tello here. :(

^ It depends.