Childhood memories of Ramadan in Karachi..and questions

Allright whats the deelio!!!

I remember back when I used to visit Pakistan as a kid a few things
bothered me quite a bit, so I had some questions.
These events are 12 years or so ago so things may have changed
but they existed then…and I always wondered why.

In my Nana’s neighbourhood there was this very old chowkeedar who
walked around with an axe…

Question… what can an 80 year old chowkeedar do with an axe?
I mean surely he cant run to nab a thief or burglar.. he probably could
not swing the axe anyways…and even though this is a long time ago
did teh criminals not have better weapons?

The Chowkeedar used to yell “Jagtay Raho”

Question… If we stay up, then why do we need a chowkeedar?

In Ramadaan he would bang each door for sehri..
offcourse he would expect to be compensated extra for his
duty of waking us up for sehri…

Question: Did he not know that we were using alarm clocks anyway?

Question: Why do the molvis in the masjid do a running commentary..
“Hazraat sehri ka waqt khatam honay mein 3 minute reh gaye hain..paani pi lain”
I am like .. dewd you worry bout yerself and I will take care of moi
why are you so interested whether I get water since there are only 3 minutes left.

Question: Why do the moazzin always clear their throats after the microphone is
turned on, why not clear the throat before they turn the mike on?

Question: Why did they have those little kids reading Na’ats after sehri time on the
loudspeaker? I mean the kids may be off from school, but surely others have university, work etc.
and may appreciate some peace and quiet and a few extra zzz’s?

UFF Khudaya itne sare sawaal?
Chalein agar monday tak jawab na mila to phir main hazari doon gi, Ok.

Have a nice Weekend

Salaam
Saba

hmmmmm....lets see..

Spending ramadhans in karachi really conjures up images of some of the best times I've ever had in my life. Getting up early to wash-up and then eat sehri...our lala used to wake us up with his whistle....

When we had the all nighter, instead of praying, all the kids hung out on the street, played cricket and when time came for sehri, everybody ate together.

Fraudia:

Some interesting analogies.... So true!

Salaam jee

Ramadan woh bhi Pakistan main, Hmmm
Jab ham wahan the to rozah rakhey ka hosh hi nahin tha, chote the na, haan eidein yaad hain, khaas tor pe Eid ke jhule, Wow

Gaoon ke sab se barre darakht pe lambiii si rasi dal ke aur kaprre dhone wale dande se banae jate the, aur phir barri bajiyoon ki minatein kerte the ke woh jhoola dein. Mere khuda itna uuuuuncha le ker jati thein, aur jeb poochti thein ke 'phir se' to saans hi band hoti thi jawab kiya dena hota tha, so phir se upper.

Yahan bhi acha hi hai, but I do miss chawkidaar jo subah subah aa ke jagae, yahan to hum agsar alarm ko thapak ke dobarrah so jate hain, phir saamane wali khalah ke phone pe harrbarrate huwe uthte hai, te fer kujh na pocho.

btw aap ke questions ache the
Saba

[This message has been edited by sabah (edited May 03, 1999).]

Well i was just looking through old threads and this one caught me since Ramadan is just around the corner. Hehehe..some funny analysis and questions by Fraudz bhai

My Ramadan’s in Pakistan were always spent in gaaon. I was really young, so i really didn’t need to keep a fast, lekin it was so much fun getting up in the morning since there was so much chehal-pehal around the house and in the connecting houses. A typical sehri scenario would be that Bari Maami is ghoondhing the aata, while the younger one is trying to get the fire going with the ‘phoonkni’. Puaa used to milk the majjaN, and then i’d find her riRking the milk as i’d wake up. Of course you can’t forget the maulvis doing their commentary, and in our gaaon we had 2 masjids, and i’d always be trying to pay attention to one or the other

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/hoonh.gif

Khair, then the parathas would be made, and various salaans. My favorite things to eat in sehri were a paratha, and dahi with crushed ice and sugar

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/yummy.gif

and of course lassi. sigh And then the siren would go off, and we’d pray and go back to sleep

well at least i did. hehehe…Iftaari memories maybe some other time. :slight_smile:

anyone else got anything to share?

Fraudia,
That's our desi version of :
Testing.....testing......one......two......three

about ramadan, there r two trends in india.

the photographs of children fasting appear in news papers. they will publish something like 'rukhsana ahmed, age 12, fasted for 22 dys for world peace' or something like that. fasting is often for world peace, at times peace in india. it will be followed by other exploits of child like she likes drawing or something like.

second trend is iftaar parties. these r lavish parties thrown by political parties, mostly to gain contacts. often at state expense, chief minister or prime minister will give these parties in 5-star hotels.

Originally posted by Fraudz:
**.I remember back when I used to visit Pakistan as a kid **
You don’t any more?

Anyway, when I left Pakistan my milk teeth hadn’t fallen off. At that time, we were taught that if we were to pass an elderly we were to say Salam to them. There was no punishment but this was taught as a matter of edicate. This practice went by the wayside from 80’s in the big cities like Karachi, where I was born. But looking at the practice, which also explains the respect the elders were given, at home or on the street, it is not hard to understand that some of what you mention stems from that.

In my Nana’s neighbourhood there was this very old chowkeedar who walked around with an axe…
That was progress. Prior to that the chowkidaar walked around with a long stick. Guess the times had begun to go bad. It was expected that the criminal elements would not strike an old man, the chowkidaar, and drop their act in respect and move on…generally… and it was true in those days.

Question… what can an 80 year old chowkeedar do with an axe?
Not much. It’s just the image that is needed to put a scare in others and give the neighbors some sense of protection…like Who-Me said.

I mean surely he cant run to nab a thief or burglar.. he probably could
not swing the axe anyways…and even though this is a long time ago
did teh criminals not have better weapons?

Other then knives? No. (in those days…in the pre-Klashnikov culture)

**The Chowkeedar used to yell “Jagtay Raho”

Question… If we stay up, then why do we need a chowkeedar?**
It was more of a call of ‘lalkaar’. Telling any criminals that might be in the hearing range to be on their toes since there is someone looking for them. And like Who-Me said, that call gave a sense of peace to the neighbors knowing that there was someone walking the streets keeping an eye out for their welfare.

**In Ramadaan he would bang each door for sehri..
offcourse he would expect to be compensated extra for his
duty of waking us up for sehri…

Question: Did he not know that we were using alarm clocks anyway?**
Did. But during that time, you are mentioning, this tradition had begun to die… Everything was advancing… crime, technology, people getting wary of others, etc. The whole culture changed in the last 20 years. Now there is a huge amount of distrust towards everybody in the society. Nowadays, it is rather hard to give the benefit of the doubt to anyone.

Question: Why do the molvis in the masjid do a running commentary..
“Hazraat sehri ka waqt khatam honay mein 3 minute reh gaye hain..paani pi lain”
I am like .. dewd you worry bout yerself and I will take care of moi
why are you so interested whether I get water since there are only 3 minutes left.

Well, true, but the sense was that after waking up and having seheri intently could cause one to miss knowing how much time has passed risking stepping over the close time. I doubt this happens anymore in the larger cities anymore. But, even then, not everybody had clocks so these calls by the molvies were valued by majority of the people. But I don’t think it’s done anymore.

Pathwari nailed it.

I see it happen here…forget Pakistan.

Question: Why did they have those little kids reading Na’ats after sehri time on the
loudspeaker? I mean the kids may be off from school, but surely others have university, work etc.
and may appreciate some peace and quiet and a few extra zzz’s?

I would vote against it. But during Ramzaan, kids reading na’ats…mmm…make feel good that kids are being involved, trained, exposed to religion, cute (not that early in the morning ! ), sense that the next generation is rising with the faith in their heart… Who-Me, we were allowed to sleep.

I don’t know if we will ever be in Pakistan during Ramzaan or any Eids. I think those who can visit are lucky. I would like to take my kids to show them what is Pakistan and where we came out of.

Haha dont take my mucking about as not understanding the culture, it has its quirks and charms that one has to get used to. Now some quirks and charms are great and some can be a little annoying.

I guess the old baba ji chowkeedar for the mohalla became an extinct species since I have not heard that "jagtay raho" in years.

The one I remember was a baba ji with a stick taller then he was. He would walk using that long stick as a walking stick but banging it on the ground hard. I was too young then but I can imagine it becoming like a chinese torture but then it would have been normal to someone growing up in that place.

Fraudz: You still go to Pakistan?

Jannu

I still do but not as frequently, as a kid I used to go pretty much every other year. Now its less frequent but still once every 2-3 years.

Re: Childhood memories of Ramadan in Karachi..and questions

You know what I don't like? When the Call-to-Prayer from every Mosque in the neghbourhood goes off at the same time, you can't make out what they're saying, it's a beautiful part of Islamic culture but the Mosques should take turns on who gets to use the loudspeaker.

wtf is this thread a sticky
Fraudia stop promoting your self. had it with you self promoting ways. damn it!

Note : This thread is made sticky by the moderator of this forum for obvious reasons. If you have any complaints/ concerns /reservations about this particular decision then please let us know. Your sugestion and feedback is important for us. Thankyou
- Code Red

:-/

This is soooooooooo nineteessss

ahh look at the date

Has anyone been to Memon areas of Karachi during Ramzan (Ramadan)?