Chief, Coach, Sir, Mister...

Something I’ve noticed in some older desi men (including men in my family) - when they’re talking to goray men regardless of their relationship with the other guy (whether he’s older/younger or more or less senior than them), they speak to them in a deferential tone of voice and they call them chief, coach, sir or mister.

Do you think this behaviour is a hold-over from days they were oppressed by the British Imperialists?

Re: Chief, Coach, Sir, Mister...

hmm never noticed that. Usually it's ppl of all ethnicities who I have seen call someone chief, boss, etc.

Chief and Coach are new to me, however even I use Sir or Mr sometimes. You try to pay respect to people in the language they can understand, I dont think it has anything to do with oppressed mentality.

:hmmm: so does that mean they use Mr. or Sir in place of sahab or jenab? I never thought about it that way…

Yeaa.....I think its normal...I normally say "This Gentleman/Lady", if I have no clue as to the name of the person I am talking about.

Bus jee aap ko tou har cheez ka drama banana hai naa iss liye. Ra’ee ka pahaar ..

yesh sub desi men ko badnaam kerne kee sazish hai

Main ra’ee ka pahaar nahiN, balkay, mardon ki soch ya unki zehniyat ko samajh na chah rahi thi :snooty:

To tt01’s point, I’ve noticed the same in other immigrant communities where they refer to goray men in a deferential manner. So the question is why do they do this - is it because there is a communication gap or because immigrant populations are intimidated by goras.

And again, I don’t see it in the younger generation - more so in the uncles who immigrated here 20, 30, 40 years ago.

Calling people of all ages by their first name is a new generation thing. People of certain age were always referred by Mr (last or sometimes first name). Our older generation is still accustomed to that protocol.

Re: Chief, Coach, Sir, Mister…

I use Miss while talking to all my colleagues even though they simply use my name:bummer: disadvantage of being the youngest:hinna:

I remember meeting a very senior executive at the firm I work for (he's an older gentleman - in his late 40s) and I called him mister. He laughed and insisted I call him by his first name - said when I called him mister he felt like I was talking to his father.

So definitely the western culture is moving away from such formal titles.

I see TLK's point that there may be a disconnect between social norms in Pakistan and western communities in how people are addressed - an issue of tameez and tehzeeb instead of some throwback to colonialist mindset.

I use Sir/Madam/Mr/Mrs.. all the time.. .and it's not limited to goray... for desi's too..

just to show some respect and it makes you a good gentleman..

I use aapi baaji aunty for desis :@:

Re: Chief, Coach, Sir, Mister…

I have this weird thing that I cannot address anyone to their face with their name..dunno why :bummer:

mee too....except if younger to me

So in the corporate world - I find that using a person’s first name puts you on a more level playing field. I find there are times people will take advantage on my age and gender and try to undermine my authority. By using their first name, you’re in effect telling them you are their peer/colleague and therefore deserving of professional respect and consideration.

Outside of the corporate world, depends on the situation - for older people (grandparents age), I definitely say Mr. or Mrs. or Ms. - but that’s use a term of respect.

But for others, i.e. electrician, painter, financial advisor, I’ll use their first name since they don’t expect to be called by a salutation.

Again ^ this applies to non-desis. For desi people, especially those who I am personally acquainted with, the khaala, chacha, bhai, aunty, baji is expected and used.

CHIEF is like calling some 1 thief in my school days we use to call ' U CHIEF ' as you prick ..