Chicken Marinate Recipes

I need some new recipes to marinate chicken for baking or grilling. Has anyone used mint to marinate chicken?

I know everyone cooks/grills/bakes chicken so please share some recipes. Thankoo

Whatever the bbq recipe, add a teaspoon of 'ajwain' for added taste and good for haazma too.

*Originally posted by funguy: *
Whatever the bbq recipe, add a teaspoon of 'ajwain' for added taste and good for haazma too.

I have no idea what that is.

Oregano.

ajwain flavoured chicken is really yummy
and I think ajwain is also called bishops weed

go to any desi store, you can find it there.

*Originally posted by Femme Fatale: *
Oregano.

WRONG!

:eek:
I always thought it was oregano!!! It smells just the same! What is it then?

The closest desi spice to oregno would be methi or that pahaaRRee leaves one puts in lassi in PK.

Ajwain are these small seeds. Kabhi khud bhi jaa ker desi grocery ker lia karo. Sirf Indian DVD's pick kernay naa jaaya karo.

What the hell r u talking about! Methi is not Oregano. I'm pretty sure its ajvain. If not then it could be thyme but thats about it. Methi?? Pahari leaves??? U must be on dope!

FYI Methi is fenugreek leaves.
Oregano is ajwain leaves.

Ajwain is related to fennel, caraway, cumin (seeds) etc., but it is much smaller. The seed has a similar size and shape like celery seeds.
Also it tastes more like Thyme then Oregano.

this is a recipe from a site I visit often, I've shared this with alot of people since its so yummy and easy to make.

2 cups packed fresh flat-leaf parsley
2 cups packed fresh cilantro leaves
1 cup fresh mint leaves
3 small cloves garlic, minced
1 small jalapeño pepper, seeds and ribs removed, roughly chopped
1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice
1 1/2 teaspoons salt, plus more for seasoning
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
3 tablespoons vegetable oil, plus more for grill or grill pan
4 skinless, boneless chicken breasts, cut in half and each half cut into thirds
Freshly ground black pepper

1. In a medium bowl, combine the parsley, mint, garlic, jalapeño, lemon juice, salt, cumin and oil. Arrange chicken in a nonreactive dish. Spread the green paste all over each piece of chicken.

2. Heat a well-oiled grill set over medium-high heat until very hot. Season chicken with salt and pepper. Cook until meat is cooked throughout, about 4 minutes per side. Serve.

FoodSubs: Indian Spices: Ingredient Substitutions and Ingredient Synonyms when you’re confused what the english word is use the above site…

Mix garlic, ginger and black mirch into yogurt.
Apply lemon to chicken then the marinade..

add a bit of oil or spray to a dechki and cook through.
:yummy: and easy

Yay, thank you everybody.

~MuNiYa~ i've tired that recipe before, very yummy.

Aashna, hmm this sounds really yummy. Instead of the vegetable oil is it okay to use yogurt or olive oil?

You gotta try ground fresh mint leaves with green chillis added to shaan masala. Amazing!

*Originally posted by Roman: *
You gotta try ground fresh mint leaves with green chillis added to shaan masala. Amazing!

Thanks Rom. Does shaan masala come in one flavor?

There is a shaan chicken tikka masala that I use. There is also shaan tandoori chicken masala and chicken broast masala but they are not good.

PS-
waisay, Ms belle, aap apnay haath say jo bhi banaeiN gee uss meiN spice milanay kee kia zaroorat hai? woh to waisay hi sizzling ho ga. :dhimpak:

i also use the Shan tikka boti masala
i use only like teaspoon of it though; my mom says it gets to spicy then;
other than that i add:
about enough dahi (yogurt) to it cover all the chicken
some lemon juice about two tablespoons
garma masala
namak
a little soy sauce

Funguy, I once wrote a thread on the wonders of Ajwain. I’ve come to appreciate the taste of it over the last couple of years, and often add it to my dishes.

BTW, you were all wrong, anjwain = black hen bane seeds :stuck_out_tongue: