Chicken corn soup...

**Ok i hav this recipe for chicken corn soup… I wanna know, is cornflour really necessary? What does cornflour add to the soup? I dont want to buy something I won’t be using again…

These r the ingredients, all of which I have on hand at home (i dont wanna go out):
**INGREDIENTS

• 2 bowls of chicken broth or water
  • 1 ½ cup shredded chicken
  • 1 corn de-stalked
  • 3 egg whites beaten, 1 egg yolk
  • cornflour
  • salt, pepper, soy sauce to taste
  • 1 pack frozen peas and carrots

DIRECTIONS

A.Boil chicken and let chill for 1-2 hours. 

B.Mix corn and chicken broth in pan, boil on low heat.

C.Add cornflour and small amount of water until thickened.

D.Cook on low heat until smell disappears.

E.Add one spoon of water to egg in separate bowl.

F.Add egg to bowl, stirrign with a fork in one hand, pouring with other hand.

G.Add chicken and mix. Serve with crackers or coconut rice or lettuce, tomato and cucumber and crouton salad. 

Re: Chicken corn soup...

sara - corn flour thickens the soup mixture. Everytime I have seen desi ppl make soup, they always add it.

Well i added anda to the ramen noodles I was makin and it was pretty thick so that wud be enough no?

Diva is right! egg is necessary in it as well as corn flour. And you can use the corn flour later on if you are making popey's chicken or even some desi dishes. I use them often, it adds the cripsy flavor to the fried stuff.

btw if you don't mind me asking where did u get the recipe from?

Re: Chicken corn soup…

Well I made the soup yesterday and i think i tcame out pretty good, except i tihnk i put too much chicken (or not enuff water/broth).. i didnt measure anything , i never do, and it came out arrite i think.. I was at the market yestrday but all i saw was corn meal, and corn starch..i wasn’t sure if it was the same thing :bummer: Uhm i forget where i got the recipe from, i think it was some website or my bhabhi’s cookbook.. feel free to use it :smiley:

Yaar.. mujhay to Xin Xuan ka Hot & Sour soup yaad aa raha hai...

Xin Xuan = zinwa ( :D forgot the correct spelling)

starch soup ko gaara karta hai

u can use corn starch to thicken also...

ive nvr added peas to my chicken corn soup...perhaps i'll try that this time.

corn starch would had the same impact on it. hmmm, yeah cuz of green peas I was wonder where you got that from. Normally, the one I make has only chicken and egg in it and no veggies. So you are saying you are becoming a gr8 cook eh :wink: kool. I will see if I can try it one of these days, cuz for some reason nobody likes to eat anything in ramzan, I mean we just break the fast and it seem like we are out of energy and really full. Strange eh :frowning:

peas and carrots?

just use em anyway, if she is saying its good then it might have been good :slight_smile:

sounds a bit odd 2 me 2…but i think it’s a gr8 way 2 add veggies 2 ur diet

I want some soup:crying: