chicago desi restaurant reviews and recommendations

so doe their chefs make food ghaseet ghaseet ke..dats why their haleem is good

Re: chicago desi restaurant reviews and recommendations

*Originally posted by Fraudz: *

recommendation: weekend mornings, this place makes kick ass desi omelette and parathas.

Pir sahib,

Any idea what's in that desi omelette? I am allowed one omelette per week by the one who must be obeyed. Might as well make it a great desi.

^ yaar hmmm eggs (no egg beaters stuff here..real eggs and lots of them), onion, harri mirch, podeena, timatar ( I think)

amazing omelette..with real parathas, the "warqi" (layered) paratha as its called.

Sabri is tasty but very spicy. I remember when we were there last year, my hubby's head was dripping...really dripping. & he was mad cos I dragged him there :D

I recently moved from Chicago to Boston and all this talk abt Chi town finest paki joints is close to making my rozaa makroo ... lol ... but yeah man tried desi joints all over the country .. LA, SF, NY, MA, TX, OH, NJ etc etc ... but nothing beats Chicago .... We actually travel down there just to have Sabri ... If anyone is visiting I would recommend just go down to Sabri and don't waster ur time or money elsewhere ...

'GAY LORD'? what kinda name is that

i’m craving samosa chaat from tahoora…it’s been too long :crying:

sabri is fine and all, but man it gets boring…esp when everyone and their brother caters from there :smack: or when anyone comes from out of town it’s the only place they want to go

Ravi Kabab House is :yummy:

ravi kebab house sucks and its owner is a two bit cheat and his wife is a rude bizzatch. I will never eat there again, never cater from that place again. Any place that has the audacity to mix in ppl's leftovers is fit to be closed, not to be eaten at.

I would rather go to usmania, chopal or JK kebab house. better wuality in all cases, better service, and better mgmt.

ya now why did you guys have to bring this thread back and that in ramzan :smilestar:

Really? Majority of the desi restaurants i've been to (in NYC and Lahore) the service is really good, whether its sorta esspensive on 28th street n lexington avenue/Gulberg, or kinda cheap like in jackson heights/brooklyn/Food street.. :)

hahah the service in these restaurants is REALLY bad, but it can be fun too, reminds me of pakistan, the waiters just gonna pass by totally ignoring you! they also stand there and stare at you when ure about to leave their 'baksheesh'

^ Nahh, ive always had really good service wherever i went :)

Since we are planning to visit Chicago, I came accross this excellent old thread which has people's experiences with the local desi restaurants. Please contribute more if there are any updates or if you have anything to add. I have summarized everyone's reviews so far...

Khan's BBQ - kebab rolls & weekend breakfast (amazing omelette with real parathas)
JK Kabab House - Behari & chapli kababs, karahi dishes
Pepper & Salt - biryani, kebab rolls
Ghareeb Nawaz - good quality cheap food
Sabri - nihari, chargha
Ravi kabab house - sucks and its owner is a two bit cheat and his wife is a rude bizzatch
Tahoora - halwa poori breakfast
Ghaseeta khan - haleem

paradise restaurant in schaumburg/hoffman estates

good restaurant, decent quality food, nice clean, excellent waiting area.
my only gripe aside from slow service is that theu have indian movies playing on a projector like always..and knowing indian movies they are not always the best thing to be running in the background when you are there on a business lunch or out with family. they stop that chichora pana and start buying their waiters some coffee, and I will give it a thumbs up

Yeah a projector TV with Indian movies makes the restaurant look VERY cheesy.
You didn't mention if there is something special on their menu. I guess since we don't have enough time, we'll stick to more famous places like sabri, usmania and few that are already mentioned here.

nothing that special,

oh and u have to try a place called bhabhis kitchen, the owner is a bit too friendly and will do a lot of bakbak with you, which goras who go there likem but they have good food, a dozen or so type of rotis, onion lulchas and whast nots, jwaar ki roti, etc etc.

very diff

Cool. Will check it out. What else is there beside rotis?
Also, please rank top 5 must-go eating places in chicago :D

desi or non desi
and also like good restuarants or chicago icons which may be local dive bars? pizzerias and hotdog shops.

Dude, that’s a restaurant? Hahaha I spotted it once when I was on the other side of the street and I thought it was a place to buy bartan shartan :hehe:

Just desi please since going with family...good food is priority, ambiance/cleanliness is secondary
Oh since you mentioned it, please tell me one good pizzerias that serves best chicago style pizza (preferrably fast food/carry out type).
Also, what else do they serve besides roti at bhabi's?