chef zakir

Re: chef zakir

I need the recipe of chicken jalfrezi made by chef zakir…would be really appreciated if someone post it quickly :bummer:

Mano or anyone else have you guys tried the Badami korma yourself? Did you like it ALOT? I want to make it for some guests this weekend and i am kind of nervous trying it out for hte first time for them but if its really good, i have no probs. Any suggestions? I havent been making a lot of chicken lately so i dont know when iwill cook chicken next time and be able to try it if i dont do it this time.

lab e shirin

chef zakir

vidpk - Lab-e-Shireen by Chef Zakir on Masala Tv

here u go :slight_smile:

chicken 2 breast pieces(cut into thick julian)
onion 1(medium nd thick sliced)
capsicum 1(thick julian)
tomato 1(seeds nikal kar thick julian)
ginger 2tbsp(thin julian)
ginger garlic paste 1tbsp
tomato puree 1cup
red pepper 1tbsp
garam masala 1/2tsp
salt as required
oil 3tbsp
coriander for garnish

pan main oil lain aur ginger garlic paste daal dain.aur phir thori dair baad chicken daal kar us ka paani jalain aur itna pakain k chicken ka color chng hojaye.now add vegetables in it(except tomato) and mix well.now add tomato puree and cook for a while.add all the spices aur thori dair aur pakain.ab olive oil or cooking oil oopar se halka sa drizzle karain aur mix karain.end main tomato aur corinader daal kar mix karain aur dish out karain.

Dehli Biryani

Ingredients

rice 2cup
chkn (500g) 1/2 kg
yougurt 375 g
tomatos 2
onion 1pao fried
lal mirch 1tbsp
salt
zeera pwdr 1tbsp
garam masala pissa 1tbsp
dhania pwdr 1tbsp
haldi 1tsp
dhania 1/2 gadi
podina 1/2 gadi
zarda rang
kewra
Ghee 1 cup
ginger garlic paste 2 tbsp

Method
ghee garam kr k ( just melt ho jae) tu uss main ginger garlic paste dal dain zra si awaz ay tu uss main chkn, dahi phant k, tomatos cut kr k n all masaly + dhania podia + thoora sa sabut garam masala dal dain n cook till chkn pak jae... jab pak jae tu uss main tali hue pyaz thoori se dal dain

pani mian salt, tez pata, n sabut garam masala dal k rice boil karyn. jab aik boil a jae tu us k 4-5 min k baad 1 cup rice drain kr k chkn waly pan main dal dain n remianing rice ko 2 kani tak boil honay dain... then un ko bhi chken main dal dain ooper say kewra main zarda rang mix kr k dal dain thoora se ghee garam kr k dal dain n tali hue pyaz dal k dam day dain...

Note: dam pahly high flame per dena hay. jab pan main steam bhar jae tu flame slow kr dain

he proudly calls himself a chef, does anyone know how much qualified he is? from which university he got his chef degree? just by cooking u cant earn the title of a chef, its just like calling a chemist a doctor.

erm.. thats like comparing apples and spinach.. doctor and chef in the same boat? O KAY THEN.

and he does come from a long line of bawarchis.. i think thats the only education u need to be a chef love.

zaika kissi kissi ke haath mein hotha hai. sub ke nahi.. and its one thing education can never teach you :)

i've spoken to him and he has studied in Europe. i dont know which university though. He is pretty qualified. As for being a chef, you don't need to go to cooking school. All you need are skills and a passion for cooking which you dont necessarily have to go to school for. He has a talent. Just like there are many designers in the world and have not gone to a fashion institute to study.

he also has his a restaurant in khi which is doing well. he is also the head chef at ramada plaza which IMO has the most delicious food out of the other great hotel in pakistan. so yeh ur right, he does proudly call himself a chef and he deserves to.

he is also one of the nicest men ive ever met and is a pleasure to speak to. he's not arrogant at all as most paki people are. he's very down to earth.

thanks for the recipes

wow,, lovely recipes guys!
And yup chef zakir;s cook books are available in pakistan.. not only in karachi in punjab too..

sumorani, u have rather taken my questions very personally, i just asked simple question about his qualification, which u were unable to answer and gave a long reply about zakirs personality.
let me correct u on one thing that the title chef is earned by those who have a degree (equivalent to Phd.) in the Culinary profession. Anybody who can cook good food is NOT a chef. He's just a good cook.
Chef is a very serious profession coz a chef is dealing with the health of people, he has to go through long period of education and studies, just like doctors.
i only brought this point as i saw Begum Zubaida Tariq'a show in which she demanded that the title of Chef should be removed before her name, since she doesnt have the degree for it.
I guess cooking is a relatively new profession here and people dont have much knowledge. Beside this pakistan anything is possible, even a missthri can call himself and architect. :-)

^yes and i clearly pointed out that he had studied at a culinary school in europe but i have forgotten where exactly. and i seriously doubt that someone would have to go thru the rigorous studies that a doctor goes thru (around 6-9 yrs) to become a chef. but i answered ur question before and now, the man did go to a culinary institute.

let me correct u on one thing that the title chef is earned by those who have a degree (equivalent to Phd.) in the Culinary profession. Anybody who can cook good food is NOT a chef. He's just a good cook.

A chef is a professional cook who is in charge of the kitchen, meaning the top cook

1.the chief cook, esp. in a restaurant or hotel, usually responsible for planning menus, ordering foodstuffs, overseeing food preparation, and supervising the kitchen staff.

dont make the mistake of buying his book. i have his book and it has nothing. none of his famous receipes just a filler with so many ads and very good printing. thats it.

I know people studying to become a chef and its all over the internet what u need to do to become a chef. its 4 yrs. of studies and then 4 yrs training... not easy. u'll be surprised to see the courses they have to study.
I Also read Zakirs interview in the new masala magazine, he doesnt mention anything about his education, he says he started cooking very young and learnt it from his family since its a family business.
do u know that even the uniforms that these chefs wear are according to their qualification and rank(like in the army). i once called his show and asked him which university he went to and the rank of his uniform, he replied that he has training.. and his uniform is yellow to match the "ziqa ghee" brand.... this is not the reply i expected from a qualified chef.
Not only zakir but all the cooks on TV are not qualifies chef. Its a different story whether they are good or bad, nice, humble or mean, arrogant...etc and thats not my argument.
Like i said this is pakistan, u can change the rules and even become the president of pakistan without a BA degree :-)

^i have no idea who u spoke to, but i spoke to him face to face and he told me he went to a culinary school overseas. he is also the executive chef at ramada plaza in khi which is my dads hotel. im sure that he wouldnt have been hired had he been lying and i dont think he would lie to me to my face about that and jeopardize his job.

and i have nothing to say about any other cook or chef in pakistan and their qualifications. :)

His recipes are amazing regardless of whether he has a chef title or not, and that's what matters.

i see why u are defending him :-) im sure your dad checked his credential before hiring him.

^LOL!

my mom has the book, unfortunately its all in urdu and i cant read it. don't know if he has a version in English. but shes tried a lot of the recipes and said she also liked only a few.