Re: chef zakir
i made the badami chicken korma he made ones and it tasted really good
Hmm badamai chicken korma, hejsa please post the recipe for it if you can.
As an aside, my ammi makes the bestest haleem ever and she and everyone else in our family always puts tomatoes in the salan you make.
he is the best thing to happen to paki cuisine.. i dont have any of his recipes but my mom is an ardent fan and tries everything he makes and its all fool proof.. u could have never cooked in ure life and still make good stuff following his recipe.. he is great for non desi food too.. so many new dishes my mom made for us .. and wow.. amazing!
gtg: his books are available .. atleast in karachi they are!
Khawateen, anything in particular you recommend trying?
He has a cookbook??! Is it in English? I want I want!! How can we order it??
M.E, You can find sooo many of his recipes online in videos. That's how I have started following them, it's so much fun to watch :)
Ya, but then you have to watch sooo carefully write everything down and I always miss things because Im not careful enough and am doing 2 other things at the same time :CareBear:
I love watching his videos too, he's soo nice and humble! But I like following recipes when they are written down, its just easier for me like that
Yeahh, that’s true.. but what I do is just write whatever he mentions then check up on it with the recipe card. I guess I am more of a visual person ![]()
gtg: his books are available .. atleast in karachi they are!
:o are you serious???
Last year, it wasnt there since every caller who called and asked for the book, he said he may or may not publish it..I even heard that he had a contract with masala channel that won't allow him to publish the book until he is with them!! I watched his show continuously for three months :D
If you can find more information.. let me know.. I would make sure hubby buys it for me before he leaves Karachi. :D
thanks mano! M-E, it's the same as above posted.. :)
No problem!!!:)
Hmm badamai chicken korma, hejsa please post the recipe for it if you can.
As an aside, my ammi makes the bestest haleem ever and she and everyone else in our family always puts tomatoes in the salan you make.
Badami Chicken Quorma * Chef Zakir
INGREDIENTS:
Chicken - ½ kg (with bones)
Onion - 3 to 4 med size (thinly sliced)
Ghee - 1 cup or 2 big cooking spoons (if u wants use oil)
Whole garam masala - 4 choti green elaichi, 2 badi black elaichi, 4 laung, 2 piece dal chini
Ginger garlic paste - 2 tbsp
Curd - 250 gms (whipped)
Red chili powder - 1 to 2 tbsp (as per taste req)
Dhania powder 1 - tbsp
Garam masala powder - 1 tsp (choti elaichi 4, badi elaichi 2, jaiphul 2 pieces, javitri 2 small pcs)
Salt - to taste
Almond - 20 gms (abt 30 pcs)
Kewra water - 2 tbsp
METHOD:
1. Heat oil in a pan add thinly sliced onion and stirring it from time to time sauté it till golden brown, don’t fry it to dark brown, take it out in the dish spread it with spoon so that no lumps remain and keep aside.
2. For garam masala powder: put 4 choti elaichi, 2 badi elaichi, 2 pieces jaiphul and 2 small piece of javitri in a grinder and grind it to a fine powder and keep aside.
3. Take 20 gms (abt 30) almond and boil it hot water, remove from water and de-peeled it skin removed, then half quantity of badam abt 15 and chopped them into thin slices, and half quantity of badam abt 15 grind it and make a fine powder and keep aside.
4. Heat 1 cup ghee in a pan add whole garam masala (4 choti green elaichi, 2 badi black elaichi, laung 4, 2 piece dal chini) and stir it, then add 2 tbsp ginger garlic paste and sauté it for 1 to 2 mins, then add chicken pieces and stir it up and down and cook till chicken become whitish.
5. Then add 250 gms whipped curd into the chicken mixture and mix it, then add 1 to 2 tbsp red chili pwd, 1 tbsp dhania powder, 1 tsp garam masala powder, salt mix it well, cover it with lid and cook till the chicken is cooked well, and the aroma developed inside, open the lid and time to time keep on stirring it and cook till the oil leave the side of pan.
6. Take the fried brown onion and using a both hand crush it finely, then add this crushed fried brown onion to quorma mixture and mix it well.
7. Lastly add the sliced badam, badam powder, 2 tbsp kewra water and 2 pinches of garam masala pwd mix it well cover and cook for 1 mins.
8. Dish out the Badami Chicken Quorma in a serving dish, garnish it with ginger julienne, and sprinkle some badam powder on it and serve.
gtg i shall get beck to you .. my mom is meant to be pickin one up for me in the next week.. lets see what she finds out
midnight eyes: rus bukhari, green pepper kebabs, thai curry shrimps, chicken and cheese stuffed green chillies. i have the recipes but i just cant find them.. ive searched twice! sighz...
I love his recipes....I made delhi biryani which was delicious. Right now I just finished cooking Dal Korma and tastes and smells divine....My place literally smells like korma and I dont even feel like lighting a scented candle because it just smells Yummmm!!!!
^ recipe plz CA.
I didnt write it down. It’s on khanapakana.com here’s the link to video Beef Masala and Chana Dal Qorma by - Chef Zakir Live - Pakistani Cooking Videos
CA thanks.
But the authentic and tested recipe never use tomatoes. Its like one uses tomatoes in qorma!
I put some tomatoes in qorma to give it color and believe me everyone love smy qorma and wants me to me it for potlucks!!
Badami Chicken Quorma * Chef Zakir
Thanks mano! I will post here once i try it.
^ur welcome!!:)
Mano, the badaami chicken qorma sounds delicious! I wish I could make it but my sister is highly allergic to nuts :(
i dont know but maybe u can try it with out nuts?? I have a really good tried and tested recipe for degi korma by samina jaleel it turned out reallyyy yummy maybe u can try this one: instead of mutton i used chicken and also i didnt use jaifel and javetri b/c once i added it to a salan and the salan tasted soo bitter....
[FONT='Verdana','sans-serif']deggi qorma
[FONT='Verdana','sans-serif']ing:
1 kg mutton
1 pao dahee
1 pao ghee
adrak lahsan paste=2tbsp
gingerjulian cut lil bit
tez path=1
green cardamom=8-10
cloves=10-12
black pepper=10-12
salt=1-1/2 tsp
dhania powder=1tbsp
deggi pisee lal mirch=2tsp
haldee=1/4 tsp
pisa garam masala=1tsp
(jayfal,javtree,greeen cradomom)=1/2 tsp(sab ko mila ker grind ker len)
kewra=2-3 drops
water=1/4 cup
method:
IN a pan,mix 1 medium onion kachee ,ginger garlic sath blend ker len),dahee,mutton,ginger julian cut,tez path,green cardamom,cloves,kali mirch,salt,dhania powder,lal mirch powder,haldee,ghee all together and marinate it for 15 mins.then direct pakne rekh den.panii abhi add nahi kerna hai.woh gosht aur dahe ki pani mein gal jay ga .if u feel ki mutton nahi galay ga tu half cup pani shru mein hi dal ker cherhain.
1 pao mein se baqea pyaz jo tha us ko golden brown ker len aur crush ker ki side per rekh len.
jab mutton bilkul gul jay tu qorma mein crush brown onion ,garam masala,(jayfal javetree,green cardamom powder)1/2 tsp,kewra aur 1/4 cup water dalker mix ker ki 5 mins dum per rekh den.serve kerte waqt 5 mins pehle kacha ghee ooper se dalden ta ki sondhee khusboo ay.