There are some chat room related concerns and issue that I need official word from Ehsan Bhai and Gizzy bhai as well as whoever setup the chat script.
I keep hearing from different individuals that chatroom messages (public) are logged and that private messages that people exchange with each are also logged. The other day, someone *(citing **Azkar *as the source) was mentioning that those logs are emailed to the “admins” and the FBI. Which sounds like BS but we all need clarification on whether or not chat room conversations (private and public) are logged or not?
I don’t care if they are logged as long as we know that they are and if they are logged then there should be a notice of some kind before signing into the chat room.
The chat is neither logged nor do the admins receive logs by email and we certainly do not send them to FBI or ABC because we don’t receive them in the first instance. Talk about ridiculous rumours and on top of it to quote Azkar.
Ease it with the paranoia people. Don’t want it to be known, don’t talk about it or post it. Simple.
BTW, by now they probably know where you live, what you like to eat, what kinda shopping trend you have, oh and who you hang out with too. Kinda late, but beware!
Ali_R - vbulleti.com has some simple xml hacks, which enables you to read anyone’s PM. So yes, the server owner, the site admin who has full access to the vb admin panel can read the PM’s, and even unread PM’s and they will always show as “unread” bold pm in ur inbox. So the answer is YES, but ofcourse it is not something you go around and say. But the answer to your question is YES, any PM can be read,so rest is up to you to believe.
, and with just easy modifications you can alter the code so you can have the logs sent to any email, or you can archive the weblogs.*
So what Ehsan bhai is saying does not make any sense. Unho nay to hamesha waise bhi apnay mods ko bachana hota hai issi tarah, jaise idhar a kar rahe hain. Jaan Leva Maybe the tech admin can provide you more info.
but ofcourse it is not something you go around and say. But the answer to your question is YES, any PM can be read,so rest is up to you to believe.
So what Ehsan bhai is saying does not make any sense. **Thanks
Coming from someone who is not even trusted, let alone reliable. Ehsan bhai has made himself clear earlier on that the chat is not logged. JahaN pe PM ki baat aati hai, they do not read the PMs, neither do they have time to. Keeping that in mind, members can PM each other without any worries.
I wouldn't be surprised if I was told that it was you telling others that the logs are e-mailed to FBI.
Coming from someone who is not even trusted, let alone reliable. Ehsan bhai has made himself clear earlier on that the chat is not logged. JahaN pe PM ki baat aati hai, they do not read the PMs, neither do they have time to. Keeping that in mind, members can PM each other without any worries.
I wouldn't be surprised if I was told that it was you telling others that the logs are e-mailed to FBI.
It was not ASN who said logs are emailed to FBI. I had that conversation with one of the members... I don't remember who else was in the chat. If you want the name, I can give you in PM.
Also, how do you know if something is logged or not logged or if PMs are read or not read? You are not the admin nor do you install modifications in vbulletin backend... so, why comment on the unknown?
So what Ehsan bhai is saying does not make any sense. Unho nay to hamesha waise bhi apnay mods ko bachana hota hai issi tarah, jaise idhar a kar rahe hain. Jaan Leva Maybe the tech admin can provide you more info.
Thanks
The feeling is mutual. 24 ghantey rotey rehtey ho. If you dont like it and you dont believe it than leave and go elsewhere, you will not be missed, no one is forcing you to stay here. I do not take lightly anyone calling me a liar.
^ I'm sorry. I forgot ASN was an admin. Carry on please.
Read his post again... he never said he is the admin and that is how he knows. He cited the SCRIPT that GS uses for chat as it has the FEATURE TO LOG and monitor. So, the capability is there but if its logged here on GS is a different question.
Same goes with the PM. The capability to read PMs is there when you install additional modifications now whether a website administration wants to read those PM or not is a different question as well.
It is about having the capability, not "knowing" if that feature/capability is used/in action or not... and ASN was only highlighting the fact that both vbulletin forum script and chat script have that capability... and as Ehsan bhai said, that capability/feature is not used here on GS...
There are some chat room related concerns and issue that I need official word from Ehsan Bhai and Gizzy bhai as well as whoever setup the chat script.
I keep hearing from different individuals that chatroom messages (public) are logged and that private messages that people exchange with each are also logged. The other day, someone (citing **Azkar **as the source) was mentioning that those logs are emailed to the "admins" and the FBI. Which sounds like BS but we all need clarification on whether or not chat room conversations (private and public) are logged or not?
I don't care if they are logged as long as we know that they are and if they are logged then there should be a notice of some kind before signing into the chat room.
Thank you!
recent cases on showed that these "chats" should be saved (if it is not...which i doubt)
users must acknowledge the fact that boundaries of cyber world is limitless.