Changing a baby's name

Re: Changing a baby's name

The aunty is an idiot. Tell the aunty to shut up.

Thank God here in Europe we cannot change names that easily otherwise ppl would make a mockery of giving names to babies.

protype pls dun worry there was a thread here which was askin who chose the baby's name.. i said in that thread also that no matter how many names u use to call ur baby, hell even the name on the birth certificate, in the end the child will b known by the name YOU decide to call. formally let ur hubs change the name.. who cares... u continue callin him his original name (maybe try not to do that in frnt of hubs after a month or so by which time he wud expect u to get used to the new name, huh?!)my devar has different name on passport but everyone calls him by this other name. he cud use the new name in schools, college etc but at home call him whatever u feel like. he will not get confused dun worry!

No - you are not overreacting. I know in Pakistan it's not a big deal to change your name, your child's name and it does not have any implications and it's not a big paperwork processing issue either

Since you are the mother you do have a say. Why would a 3rd party have any say.

Re: Changing a baby’s name

okay…so just an update.. we changed it to Abdul Wahhab from Ahyaan after VERY bad arguments in last few months. the new name is a ‘product’ of an istakhara that a friend of my husband did and according to him, he thrice found out that the baby is named Wahhab. It is VERY hard for me to digest this change :bummer: and i am SO upset :frowning: I hope I get used to it REALLY soon. thanks a lot for all your support. :hugz:

why didnt u and ur hubby do the istikhara? why the friend?

he believes in him for it since always ! I totally gave up on everything. we cannot change anyone’s beliefs/aqeedah !! It’s not that i dont believe in istakhara but I have my reservations on this one but who cares :bummer:

I'm sorry .... not trying to be judgemental but its weird.

of course u should believe in istikhara.

im asking why didnt you do the istikhara yourself?

Afshi I think she meant that her husband only trusted the istikhara of the friend...correct me if I'm wrong proto.

either way, this is all really silly and sad.

That’s what happened to my mom.. I guess that’s like the only legitimate time when you should.

For once I agree with KKFt-..

I love the meaning of the name Ahyaan/Ayaan! :(

Ayaan is a beautiful and very very common name.

That is true, but ilm-ul-asmaa’ is a real Ilm. Naamon ka asar hota hai and even Prophet :saw2: asked many sahabaas to change their names.

^ Ya but he asked them to change their names because their names didnt have good meanings or they werent honourable names, because it the times of Jahiliya people used to have strange names like War, Difficult and Lizard! This lady is telling them to change the name not because it is a bad name or because it has a bad meaning, but because of some astrological/numerological beliefs she has about the name not being suited to his date of birth

Proto, I think it is one thing to change the name of your baby if you and your husband have a good reason to and firmly believe it should be done. But beyond that, you should not feel pressured and bullied into doing it just because someone else wants you to, especially when you donot agree with her reasoning and believe it to be false and unIslamic. I dont think you are overreacting at all and I hope that you will be able to convince your husband to understand where you are coming from in all this hugs

thanks for your feedback .. I gave up and we have changed it and his documents,passport,etc are being processed with the new name. It is really hard for me to address him with the new name but I hope I will do it someday ! :bummer:

This must have been so difficult for you, especially as the reasons for changing are so at odds with what most people believe in. I hope your hubby realises what a sacrifice you've made in terms of agreeing to this idea. Abdul Wahaab is a beautiful name, perhaps more suited to him when he is older (sounds oldish if that makes sense),
lots of love being sent your way

I understand it must have been so difficult for you. Let’s keep positive now which is the easier way to help you accept the new change. We can’t dwell on the past as it stops us from moving forward and what’s done is done. Inshallah you’ll accept baby’s new name one day and his name is beautiful.

Remember what Shakespeare said:

What’s in a name? that which we call a rose
By any other name would smell as sweet

x x