Changes in Cuture due to Technology

Share some practices and acts that changed with introduction of new technologies.

I was watching a PTV drama from 90s and there was a scene where an aunty went to neighbors for telling them that ‘there is a telephone call for them at her home’. I said to my sister, remember that Hindu aunty who had to call when her relatives called her from LaRkana and my sister started telling stories about all neighbors and their styles while talking on phone :cb:

Now, there is no such practice, as almost everyone got cell phones even in small villages.

Re: Changes in Cuture due to Technology

Back in 90s… calling to US cost ~Rs. 300(approximate)… Advent of VOIP technology on MSN Messenger, couple of different free VOIP like dialpad cost us free…
Internet technology has enhanced in Pakistan and Skype is used like ghar ki londi:hehe:

15 years back, I used to exchange letters with my friends.. 10 pages letters covering all chandal chokRi... say this to that.. ask this from that person and then waiting for reply. emails and sms changed everything. I remember, when Telenor started its operations in Pakistan in 2004-2005, they came up with this free sms offer and we used to even text all friends 'good morning' and 'Good night type messages. maal e muft dil e be raham

-cell fone/voice mail service took away our ever popular excuses, like:

.i wasn't home
.i missed your call
.my fone was busy

-cell fone records have helped in solving crimes

-you tube has changed the way we see the world and understand it

-the art of letter writing has become extinct

-billing and chequeing has disappeared

-long line-ups for bill payment is gone

-no signature needed at banks now

-the need to go to banks has almost vanished

-airline fare search is money saving with more options.

Technology has been transforming and enhancing so much.... that it is replacing old technologies with new ones....

Email has reduced the time and cost of letters... and social media sites like facebook providing profile based network and private messages feature...

time pieces killed those baang dene wale murghe :naraz:

I'm beginning think that technology is setting us back in terms of social skills and the ability to interact with actual live humans. I'm surprised by how many people my age I come across that don't seem to know how to interact with someone in person, such as job interviews and things of that nature.

back in those days, when fridge and deep freezers were not common item in all households like today, people used to put fruits like mangoes in clay pot full of water. My dadi also used to put mangoes in matka and that was a good trick to keep mangoes fresh.

Matkas kept on changing the place from morning to evening. In morning they were first placed in 'aangan' under tree. Then around 10 they were shifted to waranda and finally they reached rooms by afternoon.

lagay hathon cell phone kay manfi asrat bhi bayan kardain… :chai:

dunyaa simaT ke hamaare computers meN aa gaii hai. :)

misuse of cell fones is the reason for “deen se doorii” :wink:

:hmmm:

samundar ko kozay main band kar lain..

technology kaa yeh bhii faai’da huaa k aaj ham dunyaa ke har kone se aa kar GS par mil baiThe…varna maiN “phittay muNh” kaa pataa bhii na chaltaa. :cb:

People using the internet to find romantic partner… :5:

^That’s a good one.. and conversely divorce by text? :devil:

For real… :hmmm: