"chamcha" or "chamchi"

why not ‘doee’ or ‘spatula’ or ‘chimta’ or other kitchen utensils? :hmmm:

why do people use such words when they see too much of favoring going on? Why label one person as 'oh look woh uska chamcha/chi hai"

where did it originate from?
why not in english we say * ‘oh look he/she is his/her boss’s spoon’?* lol that would be funny:D

Re: “chamcha” or “chamchi”

because chamchas stick together when you stack them :chai:

Re: "chamcha" or "chamchi"

Interesting thing you brought up, their are some funny things in every culture. This chamcha/Chamchi kind a words started by the interaction of different communities. A cherish part of our culture, i would say !

ahh good reasoning :hmmm:
never thought of it in that sense!

but so do ‘doee’ no?

any idea what kind of communities?

Hmmm....because you can lick a spoon? So licking is kind of like kissing-up or sucking-up?

But then why not a fork? A fork is a kaanta. A kaanta could also be a thorn. You can't picture sucking-up behavior with a thorn.

I know......weird reasoning. But creative nonetheless? LOL!

creative indeed :hehe:

but then we can also lick on to that ‘doee’ right? infact we can do it nicely with our fingers instead of directly with the tongue, so more respectful i guess :smiley: same goes for spatula..

Good thought provoking question. :hmmm: I wish there was an Urdu Wikipedia for questions like these. :smiley:
I do not know the answer.

Lois, get over your doee would ya :smilestar:

I remember I had a fren in pak and she would call her sister ‘DOEE’ :omg:

from now on I will use the word ‘doee’ or ‘doaa’ [for a male species] instead of churi kanta chamcha :hmmm:

the masculine gender of doee is kafgeer not doaa, there is no word in Urdu as doaa , may be in Punjabi.

lol I just made that word up, doaa :smiley:

Kafgeer? but how do we differenciate between kafgeer and doee :konfused:

Chamcha servers your hunger more than anything, it is your very own tool. And no hunger is more overwhelming than one to be praised, a sycophant is a great admirer, a very “your own” too to server your hunger, Thus a “CHAMCHA” in our culture.

Every language has some unexplainable sayings.

Such as "Why not call spade a spade" in English.

So why spade? Why not Axe?

The origin of Chamcha for the most part is unknown for this saying.

Perhaps its because chamcha is used to mix sugar in the tea of the master?

Some people do say Kafgeer if the chamcha person is really overzealous in chamcha-geeri!

Hope people know why 'Lota' is used.

Like in Urdu Saying...."Bay Painday Ka Lota"!