Chalti ka naam gaRi

Look at public transport in Pakistan and you will think that Pakistan is poor nation and therefore they can’t afford new buses, so they are using all the models which were used by the inventors. The buses are in eally bad conditions and can cause injuries to the people traveled in. In other countries, these buses might be labelled khatara (khadi ka naam khatara), but in Pakistan its chalti ka naam gaRi.

On other hand this very poor nation, can bring all the new models of Japanese, German cars on roads. The owners of these vehicles are those who cry day and night on the economic crisis of the country.

Why is it common among the elites to cry on problems, when they are privileged with facilities? Karachi suffered almost 4 years of double sawari ban during last PPP Government and who imposed those ban? those who don’t have to ride on bikes.

Re: Chalti ka naam gaRi

I agree with your statement partly. In some cases people do own Japanese vehicles, but are part of the middle class which barely survives these days. Cars have become a part of our life, no more a luxury.

Again there is a conflict. On one side, we middle class, say that it has now become a need and can't be termed as luxury. On other hand, there is no active voice in favour of those who travel in centuries old buses on daily basis.

it's really sad and strange that a metropolis like Karachi has no train service...like they had Circular trains before which stopped. i believe this government has promised to restart circular train service in Karachi...it's a must!

^^ because kisi aur kaa dard koun mahsoos kartaa hai, middle class mein tou shashkay loag bhi bohat hein, aamadni ziaada naa ho lakin thaat bhaat zaroor houn gai.

exactly.. I know some people earning Rs 25,000 per month and wearing designers clothes... No, they don't work in Tax Department and neither they take bribe by uttering 'Hadha min fazl e Rabbi'.. They just live on 'udhaar'.

The thing is that a family of four, earning say 80000 (good salary as per Pakistani standards) rupees and living in a rented house (roughly 30000 these days), paying all the bills etc. it's impossible to survive on the salary, it's almost impossible for us to think of a family of 8 living off 10000 rupees.

Thats what I'm talking. Why not there is an active movement for those who earn little and can't afford to have say 800 cc car and have to travel in khatara buses as they can't afford taxi fares as well.

I think they will have to stand up for themselves, and make themselves heard. The policies of the country are made in air conditioned rooms like you mentioned. I have done my share of travelling in buses and wagons in extreme heat of Lahore.

The inflation in the country is killing all, including the middle class. Only the super rich are immune from its effects.

Mustafa kamal ki yaaad dila di :(

he was about to start mass transit project

Bhai used to travel on his 50 (bike) and now his followers roam around city in their pajeros and land cruisers. height of hypocrisy when they call themselves middle class representatives. They are no more than urban feudal.

I think there is no culture of agitating and raising voice on real issues in our public. Either we lost that culture of agitation after independence to talk for our rights our culture of contentment ( jo jaisa hai chalne do) dominates the society.

Traveling in a mini bus is really a humiliating experience in Pakistan.

People sitting in assemblies (so called awami numainday) can’t even think to put themselves or their children in this condition.

That picture…I remember going to Kashmir on the roofs of the bus, loved the trip… :cobra:

might be singing ChayyaN ChayyaN :sunnyboy:

wese bus ki chat par ya latak kar travel karney ka apnaa maza thaa…

I think its maza when we experienced this occasionally. Ask from those who face this on regular basis.

ONLY if you don't respect your life and have no care for it. most people travel like this as they have no other choice.

As compared to these buses, the wagons are worse. I dont think you guys have got them in Karachi.

Transportation System in Karachi is worst. Before I postmortem elites, I want to raise few concern in existing system.

• Most buses stop other than bus stand and vice-versa
  • Reckless driving and speeding
  • Conductor or ticket checker behavior with ladies
  • Ladies compartment has few seats and sometime you can see Men sitting on ladies seats...
  • Passenger are let to use roof and rare of the bus.
  • Last but not least, buses are not disco club. (Munni and Sheila...songs....)

i used to travel in buses on daily basis during my university days and had an experience of traveling in almost all coaches/wagons/mazdaa of karachi, then situations changed, but that time had its charm :)