Anyone know of a good site that compares best available cell phone plans from various providers?
no bhai i don’t know but what kinda questions do you have
T-mobile is the best
for $39.99 you get 600 anytime minutes plus nights and weekend..long distance and no roaming
just find if they have good reception in ur area..when i went to chicago earlier this year it worked good for me
go to this site http://www.foncentral.com/zip.asp?PID=hjxrwm&PhoneID=28&CarrierID=2 and you can get a free motorola T722i phone
cell fone plan bohot soch samaj k lena chahiye
I got cheated recently I am not kidding ![]()
i was in a hurry and i just asked my friend which cell phone she has. she said verizon, so i went to verizon, found out their rates. then i went to at&t. she told me verizon and atnt are the best. So I bought the Verizon plan for 40 bucks which was 5 bucks more than AT&T and a 100 minutes less [hayay hayay
] thinking that their nights start at 8pm * but when I got my bill I realised that their nights start at 9 too
I think if you are not in a hurry you should wait for the promo deals, they are really good. Some of my friends got this super mega amazing awesome deal with AT&T which is like 1000 minutes per month less than 40 bucks…
and I’m stuck with Verizon
:(*
you have free weekends and nights right? + 400 mins ? for $40. I think it also includes free mobile to mobile mins soo you should be reasonably ok.
Also you can change plans anytime and if you like to travel you will find verzion to offer the best service
kewl. that makes me feel better :D btw i dint know abt mobile to mobile mins...what r those?
Change of plans, atleast in the case of Verizon is such a joke.
For example, lets say you bought a brand new phone and plan in Feb 2003, and you signed a 1-yr agreement. That agreement will run till Feb 2004. Now, lets say, in August 2003 you found another "killer" plan from Verizon. You call them up and say "hey, I wanna change my plan from this to that", and they'll say "ofcourse, no problem. That plan requires a 1-yr agreement too".
Now, any reasonable person will think, that this 1-yr will mean you are stuck with Verizon till August 2004. Wrong. Think again. The next 1-yr adds on after your current 1-yr is up... so then you are stuck with them till Feb 2005. If you change another time, tag on another 1 yr. You get the picture.
I had to send a pretty email to Verizon's President last year on this. I dunno if they changed this policy now, or its still in effect... but if it is what it is, it makes more sense to play out your current plan, and only then at the end decide what plan you want. Changing mid-stream is gonna get you tagged to them for more than you bargained for. Especially, bcz cellphone companies come out with better and cheaper deals all the time.
Ofcourse, another twist is that by next year (if not this year) the FCC is gonna make "number portability" into a requirement. That means you can switch careers and take your cellphone number with you. Now, that would be cool, cz to go through the hassle of letting all your friends and relatives know your new number, is reason enough why most people stick it with the same company.
Did you do the change from home or from one of the verizon stores?
I called them up on the phone and they said I needed a two year contract again. so i said no. Went to the store and had them change it and they did not say anything at all. Told me everything else was the same. It may be a matter of doing it at the store.
Cant wait for the FCC ruling, so that I can get my permanent phone number!
*Originally posted by hmcq: *
Went to the store and had them change it and they did not say anything at all. Told me everything else was the same.
Right. Just don't try to break the contract any time soon, though. You may be in for an interesting surprise. :)
*Originally posted by Faisal: *
Right. Just don't try to break the contract any time soon, though. You may be in for an interesting surprise. :)
I am probably gonna call them and make sure that its still the one year left and not two more years!
After some research, I think T-Mobile is prolly offering the best deal in the market. I think their family plan (shared minutes 'n all) along with the promise of No Roaming and free phones are prolly the best. Sprint maybe up there also but I find it to be extremely expensive for offering a somewhat similar service to T-Mobile.
Ghalib bhai jaan... there is a reason why T-Mobile is offering so many minutes. Yes, Catherine Zeta Jones may have something to do with it too, but the real reason is that they are new and don't have good coverage in most areas. Atleast in the Bay Area they are awful, so the more minutes do not really matter. That is why they offer more minutes to get more customers to enable them to invest in their network.
So, before going with T-Mobile, do check with people in your area, whether they are happy with the service (reception, signal strength, dropped calls etc). If the service is ok in your area, go for it. Its GSM, so in case you go travelling in Europe, you will be in better hands.
If good old-fashioned quality service is really what you are after, then I think the Verizon guy ("Can you hear me now?" - "Good") is really the tops in most areas. Thought AT&T and Sprint are also good in many areas.
Faisal:
I've had T-Mobile for about 2 years now (got it when it was Voicestream) and it really has been working fine in the midwest. I do get dead zones on the northeast coast (Upstate NY 'n all) but over all, it has been satisfatory. Looking at their coverage area map, it appears that they have a better network in place on the east coast and midwest than the west coast. But West coast coverage maps looks somewhat similar for alotta providers so I, for one, couldn't see who has better coverage over the other. I was upgrading to family plan so wanted to look around for other carriers. I guess I'ma gonna stay with T-Mobile..
p.s. who’se Catherine Zeta Jones? ![]()
Hai koi. Aap nahi jaaantay shaid.
Well, as I said… it depends on the area. If T-Mobile works for you in your area, good for you. Typically they offer the most minutes amongst the top cellular companies, so yeah, it makes sense to stick with them. They also have a wonderful highspeed wireless internet plan. If you travel a lot, you may want to check it out it. If not, its a good thing to keep in mind.
cell phones are about coverage coverage coverage.. .. go Sprint.
Faisal
You were right they sent a two years in addition to my current plan. So now I told them to convert it back to the old plan. Thats just a really lousy way to treat customers.
I have been with Sprint PCS for 4 yrs now. My one-year agreement expired some 3 yrs ago.
My whole family uses Sprint (15+ lines) we have unlimited PCS to PCS minutes which is great. Everyone gets a free phone on Christmas.
No Roaming
No Long Distance
Go Sprint PCS!
*Originally posted by hmcq: *
So now I told them to convert it back to the old plan.
I hope they don't tack on another two years to your contract for this 'change'. :D
Re: Cell Phone Plans Comparison Site?!
*Originally posted by ghalib: *
Anyone know of a good site that compares best available cell phone plans from various providers?
Hi,
The best site I have come across so far for comparison as well as reviews of service plans and cell phones is www.letstalk.com . Just click on 'Service Plans' OR 'Cell Phones' and then 'Find & Compare' OR 'Product Reviews' as required.