Celebrating Eid

Re: Celebrating Eid

kiyun bibi! Pakistan wale lift nahin karwate to social hone ka keh kar face saving kar rahi hain?

That is NOT what I meant. :emmy:

Gol kar gae. Chaalaak.

roze rakhne walon per kiya farz hai? Eidi dena ya lena?

tp oper waly ne kaha hy eid manao sari busi shakal nhai

khosh hona k unko itni tofeq hui k vo roze rakh pai

But most of the dramas and shows are boring :yawn: They so want you to sleep :sleep:

Do you have days off on Eid? How do you manage to offer Eid prayers on a working day?

You use your own vacation days. :emmy:

So much for secular kontries. :nook:

Pakistan main Maseehiyon ko Christmas ki bhi chuTTi milti hai aur Eid ki bhi. :k:

Exactly, if they are secular, then why don’t they announce public holiday on Eid like Christmas?

BTW, @KKF kiya India main Eid is a public holiday?

Schools allow excused absence for religious holidays...as far as work goes, you have to use PTO or a vacation day to get the day off

Yes. These are the tons of holidays in India. :)
I would think all are for all public. But I am not sure.

[TABLE="width: 676"]

New Year's Day

Wednesday

1-Jan-2014

Festival Holiday

Makar Sankranthi

Tuesday

14-Jan-2014

Festival Holiday

Ramzan

Monday

28-Jul-2014

Festival Holiday

Idependence Day

Friday

15-Aug-2014

National Holiday

Ganesh Chaturthi

Friday

29-Aug-2014

Festival Holiday

Gandhi Jayanthi

Thursday

2-Oct-2014

National Holiday

Dussehra

Friday

3-Oct-2014

Festival Holiday

Diwali

Thursday

23-Oct-2014

Festival Holiday

Christmas

Thursday

25-Dec-2014

Festival Holiday

Republic Day

Sunday

26-Jan-2014

National Holiday

Rakshabandhan

Sunday

10-Aug-2014

Festival Holiday

Janmasthami

Sunday

17-Aug-2014

Festival Holiday

Bakrid

Saturday

4-Oct-2014

Festival Holiday

AP Formation Day

Saturday

1-Nov-2014

National Holiday

These are considered optional. Not sure what that means:

[TABLE="width: 536"]

Milad un-Nabi

Tuesday

14-Jan-2014

Kanuma

Wednesday

15-Jan-2014

Maha Shivarathri

Friday

28-Feb-2014

Holi

Monday

17-Mar-2014

Ugadi

Monday

31-Mar-2014

Sri Rama Navami

Tuesday

8-Apr-2014

Good Friday

Friday

18-Apr-2014

May Day

Thursday

1-May-2014

Varalakshmi Vritham

Friday

8-Aug-2014

Muharram

Tuesday

4-Nov-2014

Christmas Eve

Wednesday

24-Dec-2014

how do you know?

Google. Check the list above. :)

in India, not only Eids are a gazetted [statutory] holidays but other Islamic events are a Holiday like MoHarram, yaum-e-Meelad-un_Nabi, Half day on Alvidaa~, Shab-e-Barat and so many others.

we enjoy Muslims holidays. Indian Foreign Missions are also closed on major Muslim Holidays.

In Pashto, it’s called Kochnai Akhtar. People tend to do a “spring cleaning” type of thing, in anticipation, a few days days before Eid. On Eid, we typically do the Eid prayer and then have family and friends over for a gathering.

The typical Eid spread consists of most of the following:

See post #35](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=35)
http://www.paklinks.com/gs/culture-literature-and-linguistics/642903-ramadan-in-your-culture-2.html#post10055713

in addition to the following sweets:

Asabia-el-aroos

Shir berenj

Awb-e-dundawn

Kulche badami

Kulche birinjee

Sheer Payra

Noqul

We do the Eidi bit as well. People do give cash gifts, usually to children, as well as other small items. Among adults, I’ve noticed that people tend to give each other gifts, rather than cash though.

Noqul… is that sugar coated nut?

:hmmm: app ko Indian ki har cheez ka pata hia…

OMG. For a sweet lover like me, this is heaven. Nummy. :yummy:

#I_am_RAW_agent](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=I_am_RAW_agent) :smiley:

#Nadeeday](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=Nadeeday)

:hmmm:

isi](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=ISI) is better than raw](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=RAW)

:nook: Agar ISI better hoti to RAW ko Pakistan main saari aatankvaad karravaaiyyaan na karnay daiti. :hoonh:

Yes, sugar coated almonds. They're commonly eaten on New Years, Eid, or at weddings and other celebrations.