Celebrating Defence Day?

Should it be celebrated and the way it is celebrated? In recent times, I have observed that Pakistani media has become apologetic in owning the sacrifices of people made (irrespective of was the war justified).

And Momin is steel if truth and false await

Defence Day (Youm-e-Difa) is celebrated in Pakistan as a national day on 6th September to commemorate the epic struggle of Pakistani nation, led by its valorous armed forces, in beating off the Indian military attack on Pakistan. In that conflict, the Pakistan armed forces successfully countered the design of the much stronger Indian military with superior military stratagem.

The history of 1965 War is replete with the tales of Pakistan armed forces rendering supreme sacrifices in the line of duty. While sacrificing their lives for the state’s defence, Pakistani forces portrayed practical version of our national poet Dr. Iqbal’s verse i.e.

“Soft like Silk in the Company of Mates
And Steel is Momin if Truth and False Await”

Translation of a verse of Dr. Allama Mohammad Iqbal - a Persian and Urdu poet, taken from his book Zarb-e-Kaleem (the poet said that sometimes situation drives a polite person to behave strictly- to maintain peace, law and order in the society). Complete verse and its translation can be read in the next footnote.

Pakistan Army, Navy and Air force, all of them took part in the 1965 War beyond their capacity, as Pakistan, being a nascent state was short of any sound defence infrastructure at that time. The initial thrust of Indian Military on Lahore-Kasur front was soon stalled, but, later on it escalated into a full scale war. Though Pakistan armed forces could not match the Indian forces in terms of number and weaponry, yet their morale and commitment to defend their Motherland was certainly matchless. On one hand, there was the tank battle at Chawinda (Sialkot front), where world witnessed the courage and passion of our ground forces. And on the other hand, there were world records of PAF fighters and the successful Naval Operation Dwarka, which reflected professionalism, determination and dedication of PAF and PN, respectively. The entire nation was united to defend the homeland and to counter adversary’s malice. The Pakistan armed forces paid Indian Military in same coin; therefore, Indian Army suffered immense losses of men and material beyond their expectations. Eventually, Pakistan took the war on Indian soil and then the Indian leadership found no alternative but to rush to the UNSC with a ceasefire request. Nevertheless, the issue between both states was settled later on in Tashkent Declaration 1968.

Since then the day is celebrated to pay homage to those national heroes who were martyred in the Indo-Pakistani war of 1965. From the beginning, common rituals of the day included a variety of social activities which involved not only military but civilian participation. Therefore, these activities were quite helpful in strengthening the bond of civil-military relationship. That dynamic civil-military interaction gave birth to a mutual harmonious relationship and a sense of mutual trust between these two concomitant building blocks of state.

Translation of a verse of Dr. Allama Mohammad Iqbal- a Persian and Urdu poet, taken from his book Zarb-e-Kaleem (the poet said that a pious person behaves politely with others, but when it comes to decide between right or wrong deed, such situation compels the same polite person to behave strictly- to maintain peace, law and order in the society)

**Another motive to celebrate September 6th as a national day is to make youth aware of the hardships their elders faced while defending the state. The awareness will make the young generation realize the price their predecessors paid to deliver them a free state. Hence, it would enhance the spirit of nationalism, which ultimately, integrates a nation firmly. **Moreover, with reference to the day, youngsters are also encouraged to participate in extra-curricular activities. Print media too plays a vital role in nation building. It publishes war based stories of martyrs and special editions in the memory of the 1965 war. And then there is electronic media- a dynamic source of massive information, it broadcasts entertainment programs based on true stories of war heroes and other military related documentary programs. It also does coverage of the ceremonies held in the memory of martyrs. It not only enhances the sense of nationhood among masses but also make them proud of their responsible military forces. September 6th also provides the nation with the opportunity to once more recall the very ideology for which this piece of land was acquired.

Pakistani nation still celebrates Youm-e-Difa every year, but for past few years, the zeal and zest among the masses-an integral component of the day’s celebrations, is a little faded. A sordid reason of this fact is the wave of terrorism which has engulfed the state for nearly a decade. Consequently, this situation has abandoned many civil-military gatherings due to engagement of Pakistan Military forces at several fronts in and outside borders. Nevertheless, the facts remain certain and the nation believes it, that Pakistan’s armed forces are always vigilant to secure the states’ boundaries. Because this is what armed forces are meant for, the essence of their very being is to secure the country and national interests. From the sea shores of Karachi to the heights of Siachen, the national defenders are fully alive. They risk their lives for the Motherland’s security and always willing to sacrifice their lives in the line of duty.

Pakistan’s Military with broad national support has the capability and the courage, to counter any threat imposed against Pakistan’s national security, sovereignty and integrity.

The military must be appreciated, for; it is playing a pivotal role not only in the maintenance of South Asian regional peace and stability but also contributing to the world peace with its irrefutable involvement in the global War on Terror. Thus, at both national and international fora, Pakistan’s forces are proving themselves as strong as steel when truth and false awaits.

Of course this day should be remembered why not?

Re: Celebrating Defence Day?

because Amn ki aasha is n fashion nowadays.

That’s why nobody replied here :hehe:

I don’t think any channel would be doing special transmission for the day. If we accept Geo as Indian agent, what are other channels upto?

A defence day show will be on aired tonight from PTV hosted by Sidra iqbal and Noor ul hassan.I don’t know about other channels.

There is always a limit between friends there is always a boundary in friendship and whenever that limit is crossed there is no Amn ki aasha.

with the passage of time and continuous propaganda, Pakistan army has lost its glamour and so the achievements of army.

I think one should consider this statement:
Well, the army is not just four or five generals. We’re talking about thousands of young, ill-paid men on the borders 24-hours a day. These boys are risking their lives for our security and because of one per cent of people we don’t agree with, we cannot downplay these brave boys. The army has to be commended.”**

Exactly long live Pakistan army :jhanda:
There are hundreds and thousands of stories to share and people think just because of few generals our army is to blame.

1965 war was based on lies, lies told to the Pak people. Pak started it by sending SSG soldiers to stir trouble in indian kashmir. Grandslam and other provocations forced India to retaliate.

Anyway, if you want to continue to live in denial, please accept my heartiest congratulations on your great victory.

same lies that were told on other side of border. What ever is the bitter truth, sacrifices of soldiers and sufferings of people can't be ignored.

PS: Indian Kashmir (read as occupied Kashmir) is far far away from Pakistani Lahore, which India wanted to conquer. Believe me its not story related to pre historic era and there are living people who are eye witness of these events.

well read in jang newspaper in morning that geo news will telecast 6th September special transmission (finally), don't know about other channels, how people can watch if no holiday....

yes ptv has always aired great defence day shows, i remember some were par excellence...

Atleast, they should stop playing bollywood garbage on days like 14th Aug and 6th September. Give prime time slots to programs related to occasion to let people know it was some special and important day

agreed on this....

I really don’t think there is too much aman ki asha. Probably not enough considering recent events this yr. I don’t think increasing people to people initiatives stop people celebrating defence day. More Pakistani people visiting UK doesn’t stop them from celebrating Aug 14. Anyway, nothing wrong in letting people know of similarities between both countries, highlighting the positives rather than the negatives. The people someone mentioned who’s songs were played in 1965 at the time like Mehdi Hassan and Noor Jehan have many fans and friends in India. Gulzar, Mehdi Hassan’s friend, wrote a poem for him and Lata Mangeshkar has mentioned how awed she was by Noor Jehan and how she helped her in interviews. Aman ki Asha Gulzar recites poem for Mehdi Hasan.wmv - YouTube In one interview Noor Jehan was baited to say something negative about Lata but she only praised her and expressed affection. The interviewer asked her does Lata sing as good songs as you and Noor Jehanji being the classy person she is said " nahi Aisa nahi kaye bahut acha gaati hai…meri bahut izzat karti hain Allah(swt) unne kuch rakhein..mujhe unse bahut mohabhat hain. woh shayad iss liye kyun ki woh mujhse bahut mohabhat karti hain."

The older generation who had friends before partition are sometimes more strong proponents of aman ki asha then even the younger generation. When Pakistani gov did not raise enough money for artists like Mehdi Hassan Jagjit Singh held concerts raising money for his friend and a fund for old Pakistani artists. Jagjit Singh - Live in Pakistan - Aid of Mehdi Hasan - YouTube

Lot of Indians and Pakistanis are part of peace initiatives promoting aman ki asha. We are not connected to governments or armies yet we value the similarities we have and understand the differences. While hate can never be erased neither can the longing and curiosity to know the people who live on the other side of the border. The hope for peace can never be erased instead it will be born in at least some part of every new generation. I have many young Pakistanis, who live in Pakistan as friends, and we bond more over our similarities then our differences. I ask them more about their patriotic days they have then them telling me. I share whatever i know of Pakistan’s positive past and history with them so if they don’t know something I do they know it. Same with them. I also tell non-Pakistanis who have negative image these positive details even non-desi foreigners who do not have much knowledge of Pakistan’s history or only hear negative things.

Defence day should be about celebrating the bravery of the soldiers and celebrating their sacrifice but also about ensuring that soldiers who have fought for their country are respected and given good benefits even after by government and the people of the country. It can be mutually exclusive of aman ki asha. Anyway, i don’t hope to halt your celebrations just adding a few words to show that aman ki asha is not a new fashion. It is a fashion which will never get out of fashion. Please continue on.

Agree on hilighting similarities point, but one need to open his eyes and don't forget history. Interaction should be on equality and not on inequality basis. our channels are showing bollywood garbage day and night.. bollywood movies are shown in our cinemas and our channels are not allowed in India. This is not interaction, this is submission, which I don't agree at any cost.

I didn’t say history should be forgotten. You should celebrate your defence days and India should celebrate hers. Bollywood movies have only been showing recently but before were banned. If people are fans of the Khans and they like their movies then that would be shown. If they are good movies showing important themes like My name is Khan which was about discrimination against Muslims in the West, a theme people could relate to, then that would be shown. Not all Bollywood movies are shown some get censored and banned. A recent movie called Ranjhanaa was banned in pakistan even though the lead singer was Pakistani. Reason was because it showed a Hindu-Muslim love story but that also occurred in My name is Khan yet that was shown. Funny thing is it wasnt even a love story it was an unsuccessful one-sided love story which was not even successful. Bol movie was shown in Indian cinemas few years ago. Pakistani music, Pakistani artists holding concerts happen often in India and coke studio songs are liked by many Indians. I think the coke studio facebook page has few hundred thousand likes from india itself. Not sure how many Indian artists get to go to Pakistan or how many Indian artists get to perform or be part of Pakistani dramas. I know a few like Jagjit singh and kaliash kher got a chance. Some had their visas rejected. Pakistani tv channels might not be shown but people watch humtv on the net like people used to do in the days when bollywood was banned. Like my parents watch only humtv channels. They love Zindagi gulzar hai and ek pagal si larki. usually they prefer it over indian channel shows. We live overseas so our dish package includes indian and pakistani channels. Not sure if indian tv channels are freely allowed in Pakistan. Maybe rules changed recently because i thought previously they were banned because of the “bad” influence they would have. There was recent talk of introducing Pakistani channels in some article i read. I also read that ptv1 and ptv2 is shown in some parts of delhi..whether illegally i don’t know. There was this one channel called fida channel which showed pakistani singers like hamid Ali Khan, ghulam ali, nfak, rfak, mendi hassan and basically only had Pakistani singers. Qtv also showed for some time. In the 80s and 90s many Indian families in overseas places like Uk used to watch Pakistani dramas on cassettes. Recent shows like Humsafar have many fans from India. I think in the past India did show Pakistani dramas as i remember Ranbir Kapoor mention on youtube how his parents and family used to watch them together. India gave Pakistan most favoured nation status back in the 90s, India is yet to get one from Pakistan. I know those things are only symbolic but just to give an example that there are many inconsistencies.
So since Indian channels have mixed deals with Pakistani channels overseas and Indians overseas actually view both, will they be seen more positively to you? since they are not restrained by gov rules. What about Pakistani movies shown in Indian cinemas like Bol?

With comparisons a Pakistani facebook group banning bollywood movies has thousands of likes and a facebook group banning pakistani artists etc has like 93. Funny that as in India hard core right wing people want to ban bollywood because they believe it is appeasing too much to minorities and shows unrealistic love stories of people from different religions falling in love. My parents watch humtv and i know a few other Indian families and family friends who watch it. No other Indian person, of any religion, has said to them it is wrong to watch Pakistani dramas or listen to pakistani songs. Lot of these people are Hindu families. My brother, who is 22, watches some of the comedy shows on humtv and he enjoys it. I’ve never heard that so i don’t understand people who want to stop Pakistanis from watching Bollywood. Doesn’t make them any less Pakistani than Pakistanis watching US or UK shows. People should be free to watch what they want. My aunt and mausi watched Bol and said it was better than any other Bollywood movie at the time. None of us felt we were un-Indian for saying that. Art goes beyond boundaries.
**I’m just curious but are there many Pakistani tv channels that have shows where they bring Indians and Pakistanis together **like chote ustaad or saregamapa or sur kshetra or have mixed Indian/Pakistani judges? Do many Pakistani movies show Indians and Pakistanis getting along like friends/family with the setting being overseas like namaste london or dhan dana dan goal or jhootha hi sahi? Bollywood may have lot of garbage but it also has a lot of gems where it fosters harmony between indians and pakistanis. Would there be many pakistani movies/tv shows which would have a scene similar to this showing desi harmony? Akshay Kumar is a great rugby player - Namastey London - YouTube i would love it if i could be shown one even if it doesnt go to the extent of painting both flags on cheeks of the people in the scene. I’m just thinking of ways in how bollywood is appealing to wider diaspora reaching beyond indians.

Anyway, inconsistencies in censorship rules by the government do not affect the common people. It’s not like most people have a say in what media is allowed to be shown and what is not. Obviously Indian population is larger so in terms of film output so equal number of films won’t be produced if you compared both countries. Aman ki asha isnt a government initiative it is an initiative by the people for the people. so why blame it for things not in its control? If aman ki asha were in control pakistani tv channels would be playing in India from right now. what about the Indian fans of humsafar? Or the indian channel directors who wrote rave reviews of humsafar?http://rangmunchtv.blogspot.com.au/2011/10/international-segment-humsafar-journey.html

Also i should mention that my Pakistani friend tells me about new bollywood movies that I don’t know about and i always inform her of new Pakistani movies like Bol, which she watched after i told her. She really liked it. I guess maybe it’s because we’re females so we naturally like to think of similarities that bring us together.

Interaction was our policy since first day of our independence though we were cursed from your side of border to lose our identity. Our history time and again proved that Indian leaders never accepted us. Statements like from Indira Gandhi after fall of Dhaka to got drowned two nations theory in Bay of Bengal say all about this attitude.

People loved each other on both sides of the border (at least to the level of artists delegations and appreciating ones works..), but lot of work is still required to be done. First step should be accepting our existence and treating Pakistanis equally.

I don’t know who doesn’t accept Pakistani identity among majority of population of India. I can’t speak for everyone obviously but i don’t know anyone who denies the existence of Pakistan. There have been good Indian leaders as well. There was Indian PM
Manmohan singh helped the town he was born in part of Pakistan with solar energy and people in that town celebrated his victory. Just as people in Nawaz’s town in Amritsar celebrated his victory. It went beyond borders. Lot of development was occuring there before gov changed and it stopped. Why is Manmohan Singh’s village better than mine? – The Express Tribune Blog Development and decay in Manmohan Singh

Inder Kumar Gujral was very Pakistani friendly PM of India and he grew up in his early days in Jhelum. He often got criticized by it within his party and the media. http://tribune.com.pk/story/473220/former-indian-pm-ik-gujral-dies-aged-92-minister/

There was Jaswant Singh who wrote a positive book on Jinnah. So one cannot tarr all indian politicians with the same brush.

Im sure there have also been Pakistani leaders who have not agreed with being friendly with India on the inside as well. Unfortunately i don’t know too much politics but i believe in maintaining people to people links and my main response was related to the aman ki asha comment. As aman ki asha is a grassroots level people to people interaction projected not helped by governments on either side. Aman ki asha is a mutually exclusive thing not related to celebration of defence day and it has no impact on it. Unfortunately all our prime ministers/government don’t fully represent us in the same way im sure not all your pms don’t represent you. India is a democracy but a small fraction exercise their democratic right to vote and so you can’t say it is representative of India as a whole. Lack of people to people interaction, promoted by aman ki asha and rejected by both governments on number of occasions, make the situation worse. ALthough the situation between indians and pakistanis living abroad is better. Lot of haters exist for both the main Indian political parties and Indira Gandhi and the congress party have a lot of haters for more reasons than can be imagined. Same with the BJP. Indian politics is dirty and shareef educated whose only goal is to change the system rarely make it up. Anyway i don’t want to side track your discussion with india-pakistan politics because it’s a murky political world between india-pakistan and in India, not sure about elsewhere, it is known only gundas go into politics. Good people who want to change things don’t go into the area. So i don’t expect anything good to come from it. I talked about this to my dad as we had elections in Aus today and he said same thing.

India for me is not defined by the governments or by every person there because if it was then it would be severely disappointing especially recently with all in the news. For me India is defined by the natural, man made wonders, the diversity found in each state, the traditions and customs and the general values of the people of hospitality, warmth and their general fun loving nature. I am sure same is in Pakistan.