Re: Celebrating birthdays
so a simple bday observation is okay. kewl
Don't forget about laughing, dancing, eating cake and having fun, surely they are equally evil.
But how are birthdays different from requesting pictures in video gallery and posting in cafe? Isn't that wasteful as well? Not to mention that the video gallery would seem to be a forbidden zone.
FUNDAMENTALISTS ALWAYS HAVE TO BE SO ENVIOUS AND JEALOUS TO RUIN ANOTHER’S CELEBRATION IN LIFE.
Makes you wonder about suicide bombers killing off other muslims. Where is the joy in Islam? no wonder some want to end it all!!!:mad:
Are Jehovah’s Witness really muslims? they are just as dour and depressive to listen to.
Does this mean I should stop taking salsa lessons also? NEVER AND NOT, ITS MY LIFE TO ENJOY.
I think the issue is about being wasteful, which is common sense.
if y'all want to just pick on one link by one person and go overboard with it, that says something :)
Plenty of celebrations and plenty of fun among muslims, just because some folks have some strange views about it doesn't mean thats the common practice for everyone. But then really.. you knew it already.
You are correct.:) and I agree about waste, its the rest I can't reconile.
the issue is "not to be copying traditions of non-muslims"....
the issue is not about being wasteful. That is not the primary issue here.
One only needs to understand the western world's philosophy of life, in order to understand the concept behind birthdays. The Islamic philosophy of life is totally different from that, and hence birthdays dont make any sense to muslims.
what if birthdays are celebrated among family members without spending too much? Just using birthday as a reason to sit together and have some laughs. hence its not about celebrating birthdays..its basically pointing on how one should avoid wasting and spending more than one should.
Asslam-U-Alikum
There're 2 types of people in the world. One, who are momins and looking forward meet Allah subhaanhu Wa Ta'ala, they love Allah so much that they wouldn't even do anything that makes Him angry or doesn't please Him. The other type of people are those who love this duniya and don't care about their bond/relationship with Allah Subhaanhu Wa Ta'ala.
From this we can conculde that a true momin wouldn't celebrate his birthday as Kafirs do or wouldn't be looking forward to that day. And wouldn't be thinking of how many greetings he/she will get, and how many gifts etc. etc. Instead it'll be just one single day like other days, He'll obey Allah's commands and will try to get closer to Him. His way of celebrating birthday will be offering extra prayers (nafals) thanking Allah for giving him one more year to please and pray to Almighty Lord, Allah. And asking Allah for forgivness and seeking refuge from evil shatani acts.
On the other hand, a person who loves this duniya, a fool who lost his sense and following worshiping shatan and his desires, doesn't know that he's celebrating his birthday because he has lost one year of his life. I'm sure this makes sense!
Also, did any Shaba and Prophet (SAW) himself celebrated his birthday the way we do now days? Prophet (SAW) "Whoever introduces anything into this matter of ours shall have it rejected" (Reported in Muslim)
Prophet (SAW) warned us about Jews and Christians traditions and said: “You would follow the ways of those who came before you step by step, to such an extent that if they were to enter a lizard’s hole, you would enter it too.” They said, “O Messenger of Allaah, (do you mean) the Jews and Christians?” He said, “Who else?” (Reported in Bukhari and Muslim)
Prophet (SAW) also said "whoever imitates a people is one of them"
Except for the bolded part, I don’t see how Islam forbids you from the other activities?
Walaikum Assalam
1- so you basic point is that the day can be somehow special to a person, you just have a view about how it should be observed…some people question whether the day even should be observed as a special day
#2- a day can be special, as long as it does not have some religious significance, you are not adding anything to religion, forget birthday, what about graduation, what about, the day your child is born..these are special days for us and mean something to us personally, they however do not become part of religion
#3- the part about other religions and their traditions, I dont think that birthday is a religious celebration or tradition. The reference may be to other traditions which have nothing to do with religion but have become part and parcel of christianity for example like santa or easter bunny, kinda like our own matam and alam etc.
But by making that an issue you are indicating Islam is cultural in nature and not religious.
Fraudia yaar, why do you argue about beliefs? You wanna celebrate birthdays and you don’t agree with the interpretations of others, then do so by all means…No one is stopping you…
I don’t celebrate birthdays…Won’t say I never did or that my own weren’t celebrated, but I don’t anymore…Why? Because it’s a tradition not found in Islam, is a wastage and not to mention, if it happens to be mixed gender, then it’s even worse…
As far as celebrating births and everything is concerned, the most that we know from Islamic traditions, is that you hold an Aqeeqah, distribute food amongst the needy and sacrifice a goat…
As for graduation, how about thanking Allah :swt: for giving you the ability to pass and be a graduate by offering a Sajda of thankfulness?
I know you don’t agree to the interpretation of others and no matter what anyone says to you, won’t matter as you’ll find some logic to refute that and following faith is far from logic…
It was due to logic that most of the innovations have found their way into Islamic traditions like mehndis, Mayuns, Koondas, Jahez e.t.c. in the Islamic marriage traditions, specially of the subcontinent…
Logically it seems there is no harm in following these harmless traditions, however, as we are told not to imitate Kuffar, we don’t…By ‘we’ I mean those who differ from your interpretation…It’s not a matter of logic, it’s a matter of faith…And as far as faith goes, you are welcome to do anything you wish…
Fraudia yaar, why do you argue about beliefs? You wanna celebrate birthdays and you don’t agree with the interpretations of others, then do so by all means…No one is stopping you…
I am merely responding to a post here, or do yoou want this section to be less about discussion and more about one person posting and the rest just posting jazakAllah?
Similarly no one is not stopping you from not celebrating your birthdays? why do you argue about beliefs? you dont wanna celebrate birthdays and you dont agree with the interpretations of others, then d so by all means…No one is stopping you.
**As for graduation, how about thanking Allah :swt: for giving you the ability to pass and be a graduate by offering a Sajda of thankfulness? **
Notice I did not say ‘how’ to observe or celebrate but made a point that by their importance in our life, certain days and dates are personally more important to us and thus meaningful to us as a person, not that we incorporate them into religion.
I know you don’t agree to the interpretation of others and no matter what anyone says to you, won’t matter as you’ll find some logic to refute that and following faith is far from logic…
I do agree with interpretations of others, yet I dont want interpretations paraded around as the faith and the only interpretation which certain people have a knack to do.
It was due to logic that most of the innovations have found their way into Islamic traditions like mehndis, Mayuns, Koondas, Jahez e.t.c. in the Islamic marriage traditions, specially of the subcontinent…
lajjo, there are local cuctoms that have been a part of weddings in arab coutries, iran and afghaistan as well, and indonesia etc etc. These are cultural traditions, social ills..depending on how you want to look at them but I doubt anyone has introduced these as innovations into the religion.
**Logically it seems there is no harm in following these harmless traditions, however, as we are told not to imitate Kuffar, **
where does that imitation end? is driving an imitation, is watching sports an imitation, is posting on a web forum an imitation? hey..lets not take things way too literally..lets understand the logic behind the commands and be faithful to those.
we don’t…By ‘we’ I mean those who differ from your interpretation…It’s not a matter of logic, it’s a matter of faith…And as far as faith goes, you are welcome to do anything you wish…
If the followers of the faith started following the basic principles first before they started worrying about the minutia then we would not be in the state that we are in.
Ofcourse I am welcome to do anything I want, it aint faghnistan bro..however I maintain the ability to question others..and my own interpretations and accept or follow it based on logic or faith or guidance from those i respect. You assume too much
Watch that show my super sweet sixteen, it will all make sense
cant make extremes or excesses in some situation be used to define the religious rulings.
I know i was just playing devils advocate
The truth is i dont have enough knowledge on this subject to comment.
i doubt any real muslims will do that kinda thing..i wonder what MTV is tryign to achieve by showing this crap [not that any of their shows are high quality either].i wonder if the parents realize they’re raising their kids to be pathetic, shallow, empty-headed lil whores..i am very against those type of party/celebrations..
as i recall, most desi families just gt together and have a cake.. friends will give gifts/cards, you cut a cake thats abt it.. big parties (renting hall) are usually for the baby boy’s (coz its always the boys’ 1st birthday thats a big deal, girls fist birthday is like nothing
) first b-day..