Catwalk Collections-Review thread

Re: Catwalk Collections-Review thread

This is not good replica..I can make its 99% copy..my quality/kaam not like this..they will be heavy work.thick kaam with A-quality material.pls send me ur email id then i will send u my embroidery samples

Pm'd you, JazakAllah Khair

My experience with Catwalk Collection - 3/10

Ok so I really hope that Misbah does not get offended by what I say here but I’m giving an honest review. There were a lot of problems that came with my order, and in the end I feel like it wasn’t worth my time, stress, and cost. Back on March 4th I asked for paklinks designers to contact me if they could make this outfit and have it delivered to me by the end of the month http://www.paklinks.com/gs/bazaar-talk/545852-designer-needed-for-black-outfit.html

This is the designer piece that inspired my dress:

I’m attaching pictures of each issue and then going into more detail about my ordering ordeal. 1. Dress arrived late - more than enough paklinks designers contacted me about taking my order but I went with catwalk due to her high rep.
2. The front piping was not sewn on straight and so the front of my dress had sloppy kaam. I tried to fix it with a safetypin -failed.
3. Dress didn’t fit- could not zipper it up and the stomach area was loose. I specified i’m top heavy and prefer outfits fitted through the waist so that people realize I have a smaller waist. When you are top heavy that’s very important to how moti you can look in pictures. Sleeves were also HUGE arm holes were big and so were the sleeves.
4. Material was left to open it up but was damaged so my alterations lady was limited.
5. Bottom patti border didn’t match the top. Top was pure gold and black, that was the only color we discussed but for some odd reason there was a white gold/silver looking patti border. This obviously didn’t match and was not going to do. Luckily Misbah replaced this but it was already on March 29th and she promised me that my dress would be shipped out on March 26th on her facebook wall when I inquired if loadshedding would delay my dress because I really needed it by the end of the month. Maybe she promised me as to not deter future customers or worry current ones that could read her wall? I’m not sure.
6. Two holes in the back of the dress, one was the width of my index finger, the other the width of my thumb. Ladies would you buy an outfit with holes in it? I wouldn’t even buy a $20 shirt with holes in it why would I buy a $260 dress for that?
7. I was given cotton churidaar pants with a chiffon formal dress… why would I wear cotton pants with a formal dress? the day of I opted to wear my own opaque leggings. Again I felt like my order wasn’t cared for, there wasn’t much though to it and it was rushed and thrown together very last minute.

Pictures of the issues with details

I mention cost because in the end the fit was terrible and I received the dress late and so I had to pay for same day tailoring. I didn’t have time to let the tailor fix the huge sleeves and just dealt with it. If the dress would have arrive by the end of March as I specified I needed I would have had a full week and my tailoring could have been as low as $10 (tip included). Instead I paid $25 for alterations and the dress already cost $260 (shipping included). So in reality I paid $285 for the dress you will see pictures of. I still need to fix the sleeves so eventually I’ll have to pay another $7ish in town to get that tailored. So really a dress with no heavy work will cost me $290-ish in the end due to fit issues.

I found this design and Misbah helped discuss how we can make it a long gown. Then I decided that I’d like it to be short in the front and long in the back.
She advised me that this is a risky cut to choose but I told her I trust that she can pull it off and she did.** At the shaadi I went to many girls asked me about my dress and found the train to be extremely cool so** thank you Misbah the cut was a total hit and something that hadn’t been seen** in my town. Lots of people asked me where I got it from and I didn’t tell them about the stress and issues I had; I still mentioned the fb group and I hope that if you get any orders from Houston, TX you take good care of the girls outfits, pay attention to the colors that are discussed and written in emails and make sure their orders are properly distributed. Maybe my bad order was a fluke but then I heard from my cousin she had issues with her order as well. (i’ll get to that)

I was extremely concerned about having the dress arrive by the end of the month. I posted this topic on paklinks and had a lot of designers contact me but I went with catwalk because she came highly recommended. My dress wasn’t completed until March 30th and I stressed the need for it to be delivered here by the end of March. **Misbah mentioned loadshedding and I asked on her fb wall if my dress will be delayed and she said it will be finished on the 26th and mailed out and will arrive by the 29th. Then I asked for pics of the dress on March 26th and she had none to show me. I didn’t get a picture until March 29th and was horrified when I saw the bottom looked silver and the top was gold. I had a mini heart attack because my event was around the corner and the dress had this color that totally didn’t match. Misbah was really nice and said she doesn’t mind giving me a pure gold border but if she would have done it right the first time I wouldn’t have been stressing and having a heart attack about it. I was at a seminar all day and didn’t have the time to sit at a computer dealing with it and luckily my cousin was able to come to the rescue and help resolve the issue while I was tied up. Misbah also told me she didn’t collect my 2nd payment yet and won’t until I am satisfied. So that shows her integrity and I do appreciate that too. **

When the dress arrived I inspected it before trying it on for glue marks, loose threads and such and I didn’t find that but **I did find 2 holes **in the back of the top chiffon material. Luckily the lining is black and it masks it but still I’m paying decent money for wholes…are you kidding me?

Dress was mailed out March 30th arrived Tuesday April 3rd and in houston all the desi stores are closed on tuesdays so I couldn’t get to a desi tailor until wed. The dress wouldn’t even slightly zipper up. It was alsoextremely loose on the stomach and I specified I wanted the top part of the dress fitted through the waist area. Didn’t get that. However Misbah did listen and left room for it to be opened but that material was damaged. The issue with that was there were two horizontal slits cut into the extra fabric around the chest area. I took it to my tailor and she pointed out the slits and said that limits her ability to how much she can open it up but luckily she made it work. So what’s the point in leaving extra room if that extra material will have a horizontal cut in them?

**sleeves were huge **luckily they were sheer but in the attached picture you can see that my arm compared to how big the arm holes and sleeves are way off…not slightly but extremely off. I just felt like the whole time my order wasn’t taken seriously or attention/care was paid to the order I placed. I sent in measurements for a reason right? Ayesha of Kapray Shapray did an amazing job with my fitting and I think after this she’s the only one I feel I can trust.

So while I was happy with the way the dress looked after I got it tailored in town the process took a lot of emails, and lot of stress to get the final product. Also my cousin ordered a dress for her brother’s shaadi in lahore (early March). She ordered this one: she also posts on here and so I hope she doesn’t mind me pointing out that her order too wasn’t a smooth process. Her dress was made in black and gold and she told Misbah that she wanted it **just like the black one in the pic, with silver. **She bought silver jewelry and everything and flew to lahore a few days before her brother’s shaadi only to find out the dress was made in black and GOLD. At the last minute she had to shop for jewelry to match and she barely had time to do that, and her baby son was traveling with her so she had responsibilities as a mother to tend to.

My cousin (who posts on here too) also told me her dress was really loose and ill fitting She felt like it made her look heavier than what she was and she was let down but the work was done really nicely and neatly. I talked to Misbah about making sure the fit was right since my outfit because I still had a few weeks to go and mentioned my cousin just placed an order, my cousin still plans on placing more orders and I’m open to it too just as long as Misbah can confirm that if I do place another order it will be neat, fit well, and arrive in time. I mean i don’t get how so many paklinks girls had great reviews to give Misbah and how my order, which isn’t even a super heavy outfit went so wrong and was carelessly made.

Also Misbah you were so nice throughout the process and thank you for not taking payment until I was satisfied but you can’t blame me for this experience leaving me with a sour taste in my mouth. If you were in my shoes I’m sure you would feel the same way and I hope that this doesn’t offend you. Who knows maybe sometime I’ll see a dress and give this another shot, if you are willing to have me as a customer again (don’t know if you would be) but I hope that if you are we can both have a pleasant experience that will go smoothly from order to end product.

This is a pic of the final outcome but imagine this as a non fitted dress to get a better idea of what was delivered to me.

Pros the sprayed sequins were neatly placed, nothing was coming off, my work didn’t get caught on the dress, the bottom train was just what i wanted and Misbah is friendly and has a lot of integrity.

:hmmm:

Just tell me one thing,When u have 50% advance of seller then how can she send u defective piece?And u do not even once mail me to tell me that about any issue...?????????????

Once you sent me the pictures with the proper gold border on March 30th based on the pictures I said ok it looks right now, go ahead and pick up the 2nd half of the payment. I was glad that you weren't going to do that until I was satisfied with the pics. I was glad you changed the bottom border but again if it was made right the first time... Also if you are sending an outfit a week late why didn't you make sure it was perfect before sending it? In fact each order that leaves you should be perfect, what the heck was up with the holes?

The outfit arrived Tuesday afternoon April 3rd. I've been working late on a project at work and at that time I was working 8:30am-7:00pm days. Stores here in houston close at 8pm and all desi boutiques are closed on Tuesdays. Wed. I left work around 5:30 got to hilcroft (the desi part of houston), found a tailor who could offer me same day tailoring (not many places can do that and most stores don't have the tailor on site during the weekday in the evenings they tend to go home earlier). Thursday after work was the mendhi, Friday after work was the garba, saturday early morning was the baraat and hindu wedding ceremony then lunch, I had friends visiting from out of town so naturally I wanted to spend more time with them, saturday I came home and didn't catch a nap or anything just got ready for the reception and wore the black gown. Got home really late Saturday night and slept my heart out on Sunday. I obviously can't write a review within that time, I hadn't even seen my parents that much only as I was heading to sleep did I see them during those days. I didn't want to spend more money to buy another dress in town and ask you for a refund so on Wed. I made the choice to make do with what I have and to get a tailor to help me out. Btw why were the sleeves so huge the fit was not off by a little but a lot and I would think sleeves are not as complicated as the bodice of a dress. You had measurements for a reason and i'm not being a mean person but pointing that out.

Misbah you tell me as a client why did you reassure me on your fb page that my dress would be done on time after you posted about the loadshedding issues? If the dress shipped on time as you promised me on your fb page in front of other clients I would have received it early enough to have time to protest the quality of the dress, email you and point out the many issues and discuss fixing this situation. But even then if we agreed for me to send it back I wouldn't have had a new dress to wear for my friend's shaadi. I don't know when I'll need to wear another formal pakistani dress so if I would have sent it back I would order a dress to just collect dust in my closet? At the end of the day had you made the deadline I would have had more than enough time to discuss the many issues with the dress.

Misbah why didn't you inspect the dress before mailing it and notice the holes yourself? As a designer you should put your stamp of approval on everything that leaves you so when you messaged me on fb about 3 clients calling you concerned I just think well those clients should be worried. You should re-assure them that it will be okay and of great quality and you should work hard to make sure their orders turn out well.

the work isn't very delicate, or full of much stones and so that too was a complete rip off. Protoype pm-ed me and I pasted her the exact description you gave me and we both agreed for the price I was ripped off. I would have assumed more stones would have been used and that the sequin border at the bottom would have been a hand stitched one not a cheapy kinda border. If I saw this dress with like barely any stone work hanging on a store here in houston I would have never bought it. I went to pakistan in 2010 and got a heavy Rizwan Moazaam dress for about $230 (my purple and blue anarkali) and it's got such heavy work, spray sequins, etc and was cheaper. I should have either ordered from a real store in pak or just waited patiently for prototype to become available.

My cousin had problems with her order too so in general I feel like maybe you aren't oversee-ing the dresses like you used to, or something is just off. Maybe the facebook platform gave you more clients than you can handle and your quality is suffering because of that? I don't know I'm merely speculating because so many paklinks girls had wonderful reviews and I too was hoping I could give you one as well. Again if you said "Trust me with another order" I'd do that and inshallah i'd get a dress that is of good quality and would happily write a great review. I have no problems recommending someone. I do it all the time.

How does a designer NOT see crooked pipping and ships the outfit?

Did u talk to her about ur issues with the outfits before. And what did she says. I think most of the issues would have been resolved if u have talked to her first except for the time

I am so disturbed Sweet-lil-Hunnie. You should have talked to me in private first before putting the issue here and creating this whole drama. You enjoyed the dress at the event and then you decided to penalize my publicly and sending nasty messages to the members of my group against me? I emailed you many times that mistakes do happen. it was an urgent order and due to loadshedding,it was completed at the last moment and sent in hurry. For the prices, I gave you a quote after describing the amount of kaam on the dress and you went ahead with the order because it suited you so it is useless discussing if it was overpriced or whatever now. If I was this careless with my work since always,there would have been more complaints earlier as well from other clients because people seldom bother to appreciate someone's work and take out time for a positive review but always have time on hands for bringing a reputable person down with a negative review without even discussing with the concerned person first. I emailed you several times that I am ready to pay you for any alterations charges. If it was not worn and you had discussed this earlier, I would have done a full refund. You are not replying to my emails so I cannot help any further because I already offered you help with all that I could. I really look forward to you letting me cooperate for solving this issue calmly. Thanks

Re: My experience with Catwalk Collection - 3/10

Just wondering was this ur cousins dress

Catwalk you have discussed about the errors from her side and the part of the communication vice versa. She has also said about the holes in the fabric. How would you explain that?

^i think catwalk ne clearly mention kiya hai apni post ke agar sweet uss se problem discuss kerti tou she would have accomodated her.

and i dont think anybody has right to ask for explanations from catwalk

I second Belle, the matter should be resolved at bilateral issue, none of us should advocate any of the side or ask for the explanations from anyone either

Re: My experience with Catwalk Collection - 3/10

Yes i am SLH's cousin who had order from Misbah a few weeks before SLH placed her order.

260 $ does seem a lot for a dress with kaam only on the gala front and a bit on the upper arm!! :O

I am actually shocked and disturbed by Misbah’s responses here and the way she is acting on FB (blocking someone from your group for writing an honest review is really low.) I thought this forum is for posting your experience with catwalk regardless if it is good or bad. What SLH posted is an honest experience. SLH didn’t have the time to contact Misbah once she received the outfit BUT that’s not the problem here. There shouldn’t have been any issues to begin with. The only solution Misbah would have offered was to send the outfit back so she can fix it. BUT as SLH mentioned she didn’t have time for that and needed that outfit for a wedding. Just like I never complained to her about gold work, or bad fitting, since I needed the outfit and wore it as is. Tell you guys the truth, I was shocked when Misbah didn’t apologize for the miscommunication about the work, or the bad sizing once I posted my review.

SLH called me and was freaking out once we saw the silver boarder. I personally called Misbah at that point. I reminded who I was and which order I had placed, she remembered me just fine. I told her the SLH is freaking out about the silver boarder and that Misbah needs to fix it. I had recommended Misbah to SLH, and I told Misbah that please don’t disappoint her or me. Misbah assured me that she will replace the boarder and send the outfit out ASAP. I didn’t even know there would be so many other issues. I am honesty not going to recommend her to anybody.

Here are some of the issues I see with this situation:

Mistake/issue 1: I think in both situations mine and SLH’s the fitting issues might have been resolved if Misbah delivered on the date promised. For both of our outfits she was late. I actually think she purposely pushed mine to be late once she herself saw the gold work…so I wouldn’t back out of outfit…basically left me with no choice which I had mentioned to her.

Mistake/Issue 2: Cotton churridar on a formal outfit…for $260…Mishab why should SLH contact you to point that out…do you not know that cotton churridar with a formal outfit doesn’t go? Didn't you buy the cotton fabric for the churridar?

Mistake/Issue 3: Wrong size, well again why did this happen in the first place? Secondly, SLH had asked you to leave 2” room on each side so if any tailoring was needed she can get it done….why didn’t you make sure there was 2” left on each side?

Mistake/issue 4: Holes in an outfit. WTH, seriously! Why didn’t you inspect the outfit before it left your house?

Mistake/Issue 5: Why haven’t you apologized for your mistakes???? Instead you are getting defensive and getting ugly with SLH. Blocking her from your group on FB is really low.

For the ppl who are suggesting that SLH should have contacted Misbah and all of this would have been avoided. NO it would not have been. Misbah might have sent new churridar for the outfit, might have gotten the outfit resized for a better fitting but these changes would have taken a least a month to get done, the event SLH needed this outfit for would have passed. What about the time and energy SLH has and have had to waste on this one outfit ... any refund for that??? NO.

First of all why is everyone telling me to discuss issues privately – Just like when I order on amazon I place an order, get the product, write a review eventually. Was she blind when she packed my order (why did you pick those casual churidaar pants?) and notice how not once has she apologized about the MANY issues, explained why she packed an unprofessional damaged dress?** If we all discussed our buying experience in private no consumer/client would know who to order from **and i didn’t foresee a bad ending. To the girls that order dresses online would you have preferred me to discuss this privately or do you appreciate to see how an unhappy client is being approached?

I wanted to share pics of what Misbah first sent me and I realized the top is dark gold and the bottom looks silver, in reality it was a white goldish color. She was very kind to change it to a darker gold border that matched the top. Here’s a pic of the transformation from the silver like bottom to the one we eventually went with.

pic of the almost silver border:
Ladies would you wear a dress with that border? Nopes and again Misbah accommodated me fixed it to this:

much better right? that’s when I said ok collect the 2nd half of payment and please pack and ship it ASAP mind you my deadline given was for the end of March this was March 30th…so if my event was on that saturday March 31st i would have been out of a dress.

[FONT=arial, sans-serif]Also I’m extremely offended because I feel like she crossed the line by accusing me of bad mouthing her to friends and accusing me of being unethical. Seriously how dare you go there and stoop to name calling. I feel like bad mouthing means to spread rumors and I didn’t do that. Unethical means lacking moral principles and I don’t think I was unethical at all. You giving me a faulty and damaged dysfunctional product that was over priced (assumed i’d have more stone work like we discussed in email) is unethical if you want to throw around that term. Everything is very black and white and factual in regards to my reviews and backed up by pictures so honestly how dare you accuse me of being a low person like that. Not once did I name call you or accuse you of being a bad person but fact is you were a bad business woman in this situation. I think this whole time** I have tried to be tactful, respectful and polite but here’s a screen shot of the message I got on facebook:

Misbah while i’m glad you are willing to compensate me for my tailoring I feel like I’ve still been ripped off and I think many other girls would feel the same way because it’s not an elegant heavier dress and even your friend prototype agreed with me through pm–it is what it is. Misbah posted this pic of the dress and only two girls commented at the time. **Here’s a link to it, btw thanks for banning me from the group anyhow: **https://www.facebook.com/#!/photo.php?fbid=351143674935235&set=oa.378274805549372&type=1&theater

After i wrote my review yesterday morning messaged both of the girls that had commented on it at the time. With one of the girls being someone that had messaged me weeks ago when i posted how excited I was to receive the dress because she was wondering if i’d show her pics of my outfit when it arrives. I told the girl i would do that and i will write a review when it comes in. I said this all before the outfit showed up so** how was I to foresee i would be writing a negative review**? I would have written a positive review had I had a reason to. As for the other girl I merely said something like “hey I see you commented on this pic, it’s the dress i ordered and I had a lot of issues with it if you want you can read the review here.” Was it not a fact that I had numerous issues with my dress? Did I not state the harsh reality of this whole ordeal? Did I say anything malicious? Did I post a link to my negative review on Catwalk’s group’s wall and put you on blast? No, because I really mean no harm but I do want potential clients to be educated. Did I message other random people in your group? NO, nor would I have any intentions of doing so. However I was glad when someone warned me about another fb group I was going to give a shot to and as a consumer I feel like us girls need to look out for one another and give sisters a heads up if there’s a reason to hesitate about any order they may or may not place. That’s why reviews on here are important. **Misbah truly can you honestly say you are proud of how this dress turned out? **

Ayesha as a mod of this forum I feel like you agreed with me at first when we privately messaged each other this morning and then you must have chatted with Misbah and changed your mind. I understand yall are friends, I think she could learn a lot from you bc I still get tons of compliments on what you made me. I can’t wait to place another order bc your workmanship was neat, and prettier in person than the pics mA. The whole thing about how I should have messaged Misbah privately about the dress’s issues to me comes off as a** “coverup” and you really don’t want to encourage people to post their good and bad experiences **on paklinks. Please see things from the potential consumer/client’s eyes and see that we all don’t know these people in person, we don’t live back home and we expect a good product when we spend good money on it. How can we know who to place an order with if girls privately discuss issues. Should I have only posted a review only if the vendor/designer was not willing to satisfy me as a consumer? No way I feel like it should be out there for other potential clients to understand what they may or may not get into when placing an order.

I feel like I gave Misbah a platform to redeem herself and the whole refunding me my tailoring charge is chump change in comparison to what was spent and it’s just not worth it and petty. Ladies look at the picture and tell me how much you would spend on the dress and keep in mind the holes, the function didn’t work bc the zipper couldn’t go up, the amount of stones and etc. In the pic the sequin border looked hand stitched and mine was a flimsy border, and even Ayesha agreed with me on that yesterday and said the sequin border should have been hand stitched for the price i paid.** I implore the consumers that order outfits online to please weigh in and let me know how much you would have paid for that because I don’t think you’d pay $260.** Ideally I wish that maybe since I felt overcharged Misbah would have said something like “Hey since you are not satisfied and there were issues I would like to redeem my reputation but taking another order from you, giving you a big discount and I promise to give you a great product.” But she has not stepped up to do that. We could have placed an order, it would be a great experience i could rave on and on about how she rectified the earlier shopping experience i would tell ppl i could trust her and encourage people to use her. I would have also told my friends and family and my fb wall or my fashion topic on here. (let’s face it my fashion thread gets a lot of hits and a lot of readers read what I say or post in there: http://www.paklinks.com/gs/fashion-and-beauty/453551-desi-fashion-designers-that-ive-stumbled-across-9.html [FONT=arial, sans-serif]I have over 23,000 views o that topic and let’s face it most of these facebook designer groups visit my topic to get many of the pictures for their own groups… really if I wanted to be malicious I could say bad things but I have no intention of that and even offered a solution as to how we could both meet in the middle and attempt to fix this bad client/designer relationship. That was not taken, no good enough solution was given in my eyes.

I realize you won’t care about fixing your reputation because my cousin called you Thurs. March 29th (day before it was shipped) and she told you something along the lines of** “Hey this is Rabia…you messed up my outfit’s color and fit but please make sure you take care of my little cousin’s suit and assure me the work will be done well. Also she’s worried about the fit and the color of the border not matching the top.**” Misbah assured her that the border can be changed and the dress can be shipped soon. She also tried to sell my cousin and I on the idea of keeping the border as it is but luckily my cousin told Misbah she saw the pics too and it looked whitegold or silver like and that it won’t do. Misbah came through with that and the border was changed.

link to my cousin’s review which wasn’t too great either: http://www.paklinks.com/gs/bazaar-talk/469767-catwalk-collections-review-thread-7.html#post8790304

If Misbah really cared about customer service and satisfaction I would think she’d realize hmm I messed up one paklinks member and girls dress i’m going to work hard to redeem myself and my reputation by making sure her cousin’s dress turns out perfect. My dress had more problems than my cousin’s dress. But she didn’t care that one girl in the family had a mishap and maybe she should make sure the other girl doesn’t. I don’t see her explaining why I had so many different problems with my dress.

Not once has she apologized in this topic. **Instead she’s very defensive, had accused me of being unethical and just made this experience a really really horrible one so thanks for that. Call me crazy but it’s unethical to send me a dress I spent $260 on with holes in it…much less fit issues. I see Misbah mentioning time, loadshedding and the outfit being rushed, well if that was the case then you shouldn’t have taken my order. there were plently of other paklinks designers that said they could handle my order. Your excuses are entirely unprofessional, your lack of an apology for damaged material and cotton churidaar etc are useless. Ayesha was a professional and told me that she couldn’t handle my order so I went to you based on your high paklinks rep for turning out a good product. Reviews made me feel confident in using you and that’s another reason why it’s important for negative reviews to also make it on here. When you name called me that just made you hit a new low. I’m assuming you are stressed out and still the nice girl that I placed an order with. Like I said on facebook I wish you well and I hope you learn a lot from this situation. If a client is as unsatisfied as I am and offers you a solution or how to work it out maybe you should hear the client out and be flexible and attempt to redeem yourself.

thanks and even in a pm prototype agreed with me so really I was overcharged in my opinion and I appreciate the support from you and the other girls posting that are helping me out with this.

Hunny, it sounds like you've had quite a tough time over this issue and I think there are definitely lessons in this for other buyers. From my own point of view and I'm being totally honest here, I would not have paid 260 dollars for the outfit, that's close to nearly 23000 rs! Try and get a couple of quotes before u place an orderI also think in terms of urgent orders, there is just way too much that can go wrong, I always start off with giving a deadline at least 3-4 weeks before my event so that any probs can b ironed out, but again this doesn't always work.
I really don't know how this one is going to be resolved, again being realistic, I'm not sure you'll get a complete refund, can she re make the outfit for you? Again I realise the event u wanted it for has gone but it may ho towards resolving the situation. I ordered.an outfit from a vendor on gs, there were numerous things wrong with it, I sent it back to pak, the outfit was lost in the post but the designer sent me a brand new outfit!
Again, I'm not taking sides but surely some sort of compromise can b reached as things are getting ugly now