@ raj and saraygapama**
i think u cant outrightly deny the things that mr happy heart mentioned here.
*though i agree that things are moving in positive directions. but still india has to go a long and long way to get dalit social equility. [QUOTE] *
What U say cant deny? I outrightly deny what mr. happy heaert is mentioning here on this thread. His statements are unique display of falsehood.
U can think whatever u wish, but Indian dalits have achieved social equality already with their ppls in commanding position all over India. They have risen to posts of Chief Minister of state, minister of provinces, Chief Justice of Supreme court of India, President of India, Speaker of Parliament, Defence Minister of India, as well as every position which gives them equal share of power.
few weeks back a govt doctor refused to provide medicl treatment to pregnant dalit woman and she had to deliver her baby on the road. i think this is simply disgusting and even i havent heard such kind of incident during whole my life.
And U know for sure that the doctor refused to provide medical treatment coz the woman was a dalit? or it was his greed for money which compelled him to act in this inhumane manner? And I m amazed to learn that this is most henious crime against humanity by medical profession which U have heard of. Bottomline is that we are discussing here what role hindu society as a whole is playing in upliftment and equal treatment of dalits. Stray incidents like this one will put all classes of hindus into same catagory as opressed ppls.
u r talking about their representation in govt department once i read in a book a dalit who managed to reach a high govt position. he mentioned that he had to face negative attitude of upper caste seniors, ordinates and even subordinate throughout his career.
most of the time staff simply hated him and tried to ridicule and defy him.
I m not just talking about their representation in govt departments,but claimingt hat one out of every three government officer and staff is supposed to be a dalit. I think that U have been missing this point badly. And I cant comment which book U read which spoke of bad treatment of high govt official. But that ignorant official perhaps didnt know of powerful SC & ST act. According to that act if he had lodged a complaint about his ill treatment from his subordinates and collegues, those guys would have immidiately thrown in jails and wouldnt have granted bail for months.
They above quoted act is so fearsome that no one can afford to come in its net. If U can recall that recently the son of our past home minister Buta Singh was caught red handed taking bribe of **Rs. ONE CRORE, **U will be surprised to know that the bribe giver was an accused in same SC& ST act who wanted to get out of charges of dalit discrimination. Incidently Buta Singh heads SC& ST commision right now.
and u have mentioned the only two fields medicals and engineering what about the rest of hundreds of sectors.
Plz forgive my mistake of mentioning only two fields where dalits are entitled for reservation, to correct myself, all institutions in India are bound by government laws to provide reservation to dalit students. Being a dalit has become a boon in India, which ensure U of better and free education, and ease in getting government job than their counterparts from so called higher classes. Even guys from so called higher casts are ready to spend a hefty sum to get a certificate of being a dalit. LOL.
beside every now and then we see that a dalit was thown out of the xyz mandir by upper caste hindus.
We see a lot of wrong being happened in India, a nation of more than 1000 milllion ppls. We are not as pious as other Utopian nations where nothing wrong happens. U can pull me up for that if U wish.
But plz come to India, take a dalit with U to some mandir, ask the dalit to reveal to others that he is a dalit, and just watch whether one can dare to even call him a dalit, leave alone throwing him out. I dont deny the possibility that someone can dare the adventure........but rest assured that he is thrown in jail without a bail. Now U can keep on saying whatever u have heard or read.
hope u have watched that video clip tagged as voilence against dalit in which dozens of college students beating relentlessly a student and nobody bothered to stop those ghunda type students. eventually one of his friends tried to save him and he had to face the same fate. dozen of guys were beating those two poor guys with every thing that comes into their hand
I just told U that a lot of wrong things happen in India on daily basis. I hope U can watch other vedio clips which can show U person belonging to any communinity being beaten. But those cruel students and those bloody policewallahs dont form entiere Nation. I admit that we are not some Utopian nation unlike many around us where nothing of this sort happens. I m sorry for the pain U went through by seeing this much cruality towards human being. Something which U have never seen around urself.
But believe me in India, ppls from all casts are beaten like this from the hands of goondas. Its not just dalits. so this comment of urs is irrrevalant in this discussion U can see.
so the bottom line is apart from govt measures what is the level of social acceptability of the dalit hindus in the society by upper cast hindus do they consider them equal in every way.
LOL brother, perhaps U are not aware of the facts that in democracies, its representative of ppls who make laws, and not some bigot dictator. So if government is talking measure to uplift certain section of society and given them equal rights, its only because majority of ppls want this to be done. I dont deny that there are some hindus who are against this all, but that are just like marginalised exceptions are dumb asses. Dalits are totally accepted in Hindu society.
As I told U that india's largest population state Uttar Pradesh has elected a dalit as its chief minister for the third time, U can make ur own calculation how this happened where majority of voters comes from so called upper classes like Brahmins and Thakurs. Will U again ask for social acceptability?
(
i have a request please dont get defensive, as most of the indian are doing here. whenever someone start discussing about something going wrong in india they strat making sarcastic remarks
or try to give impression india is shinig and have got no problems. Giving impression they are just here to point out weakness and shortcomings of pakistani govt and society.
this is a forum so discuss the things openly and i hope partrotism wud not impair ur objectivity)
LOL just LOL.
Peace to U.