Caste System - Misconceptions about Hinduism

Why are Hindus so ignorant about the Caste system? Why cant they clear the misconceptions and dispel the myths?

The Caste System: Clearing up the Misconceptions

India and Hinduism in particular have come under a lot of flak on account of the Caste System. A noble system, which was actually a symbol of the Utopia that was ancient India, has been misused and abused over the last few centuries. The Caste System as it was in 1947, when India attained independence, still had the concept of untouchability, and “untouchables” were then born into an impoverished life, destined to stay poor and backward till they died. Interestingly enough, a man of the highest intellect arose from being an “untouchable” and wrote the Indian Constitution, which is regarded as one of the most egalitarian and fair constitutions in the world.

Official practice of the Caste System was banned by the new Republic of India in 1950 and over the last 55 years, Caste differences have virtually disappeared in India’s cities. Unfortunately, in many of India’s villages, Caste divisions exist and there are occasional rounds of violence between members of high and low castes. More education to the masses has helped reduce this friction, but higher caste persons, who enjoy their status in the “social ladder,” are adamantly resisting change. Similarly being a low caste person in India has distinguished advantages. Preferential admissions to universities, government job reservations and other “privileges” come with being a low-caste member in India.

In modern India, both high caste Brahmins and low caste Dalits are guilty of misrepresenting and abusing the Caste System. This misuse of scriptures has been to the delight of the anti-India elements both in India and overseas. With the advent of the internet, many web-sites have been proliferating for the purpose of demeaning Hinduism and the Caste System, using quotes from the Bhagavad-Gita, the scared text of the Hindus.

The first verse that is so commonly misused is Bhagavad-Gita 1:41 which says: “By the prevalence of impiety, O Krishna, the women of the family become corrupt; and women being corrupted, O descendent of the Vrishni-clan, then arises ‘intermingling of castes.’”

This verse is not a racist statement calling for segregation as has been interpreted by many an India-baiter. Indian culture has always valued the integrity of the family as an institution in life. The verse states that when the true moral integrity of families is destroyed, the morality in the whole society will go down and there will be an ad-mixture of castes. Caste here is not in the perverted term that is misused by India’s politicians and “caste-activists.” Noted Hindu Teacher, Swami Chinmayananda said, “what we witness around us, in the name of caste, is the ugly decadence into which the Hindu way-of-living has fallen.”

Caste in those days was conceived of as an intelligent division of the available manpower in the community on the basis of intellectual and mental capacities of the individual. A person wasn’t born into a caste but rather assigned one on the way he lived his life. It must be understood that in ancient India, all children spent their entire childhood in residential schools known as “Gurukuls” where they learned all about life. It was from here that a young adult chose his caste with the belief that all kinds of work and activity are equally important.

Thus, a person with a high intellect and a passion for research and studies became a Brahmin. Those who had leadership qualities and political ambition became a Kshatriya. People who wanted to be involved in agriculture and trade became Vaishyas. The Shudras, who were later termed “untouchables,” were actually just people who chose service and labor as their activity. All four castes were equally important in Indian society.

The verse’s usage of the phrase ‘admixture of castes’ has nothing to with protecting the purity of any race; but rather, emphasizes that inter-mingling of incompatible occupations can be destructive to a society. For instance, if a lawyer was in an operation theatre to operate on a patient, the result would be dangerous. The verse’s essence lies in the preservation of families and values, not to create a sense of confusion.

The other commonly misused verse is Bhagavad-Gita 4:13 which reads: “The four-fold Varna been created of GUNA and KARMA; though I am the author thereof know Me as non-doer and immutable”

This verse has been even more misused by social criminals to justify the perverted form of the Caste System. “Varna” or caste refers to different shades of color but not in the context of the color of a person’s skin. The text attributes some definite colors to the ‘gunas’ which mean mental temperaments. Attribution of color to a form of behavior is seen in the English language, where the color red is often used to denote anger. The reference to the white, red and black colors is about man’s thoughts. Swami Chinmayananda said, “From individual to individual, even when thoughts are superficially the same, there are clear distinctions recognizable from their temperaments. On the basis of these temperamental distinctions, the entire mankind has been, for the purpose of spiritual study, classified into the four castes.” Different professions and activities needed different types of temperaments. The system of equality of all kind of work emphasized by the Caste System created a Utopian society in ancient India. The principle was that all castes work in cooperation and partnership for the good of society.

**Unfortunately, in the early middle ages, power politics reared its ugly head into India. Then this communal feeling cropped up in its present ugliness. Because of a general ignorance among ordinary people at that time, some Brahmins paraded their assumed knowledge by quoting bits and pieces of verses. This was when a perverted version of the Caste System was born. In the second text that this author discussed, these abusers of the text, claimed the whole text said just “I created the Four Varnas,” leaving out the rest. This tragic butchering of the verse made it look like the Caste System was a divine sanction and that God decided who was in a caste. This was perverted to the belief that a person is born into a particular caste. Those who cut the text emitted the part that said, “By the differentiation of the mental quality and physical action (of the people).” The full definition clearly removes any misunderstanding and provides us with a way to understand the true significance. Swami Chinmayananda added that “Those who did this (perverted the text), were in fact, the greatest blasphemers that Hinduism ever had to reckon with.” **

**It was not the system but a selfish set of people who blatantly abused the system for their benefit who are to blame. Whether it’s the high or low caste that is exploiting the system in modern day India, the fault lies exactly with the people. Unfortunately every religion and religious text has been manipulated for those that want power and control. It’s the younger generation that needs to forget the injustices of the past, bury all hatchets and look forward to working together to create another utopian society. **

The Caste System: Clearing up the Misconceptions - Panorama - TakingITGlobal

Re: Caste System - Misconceptions about Hinduism

If you live in society or work in a corporation, are all the members of the company CEOs or are all marketing or are all accountants or are all laborers?

Obviously not. So, have you ever wondered why that is so. that is division of labour according to a person's ABILITIES AND Disposition.

The so called " Caste system" is a a misuse of the same division of labour that EVERY society (including the so called egalitarian Commie dictatorships) in the world needs for it to function.

Certainly, people over time have misued it and it is upto us to correct it. However, just making irresposible statements without a complete understanding is inappropriate and unfortunately only showcases ignorance.

So, although the prosletysing Semetic faiths, such as Chriistianity and Islam bad mouth this, it is upto the followers of Sanatan Dharma to correct this. To do that you first need to inform and eucate yourself, for which the above book and others mentioned (such as "An idiot's guide to Hinduism" Penguin books or Hindusim frequently asked questions, Chinmaya publications)can help tremendously.

As our scriptures say -
May your quest be a noble one.

WOW MY MAN SASAREREGAMAPAPA YOU REALLY ARE HURT ARENT YOU??
Chill dude chill!!!

You can post 100 pages of Misconceptions about Cast system in Hinduism but you are totally ignorant about the reality. The reality in INDIA your Bharat where hundreds of millions are untouchables (they are treated worse then animals).
Anything they touch is destroyed and they are born on street and they die on the street.
THAT is the reality not what u posted here. So please instead of sitting in your chair and browsing on internet and searching for proof of misconceptions about cast system in Hinduism i would suggest you to GO to INDIA and just LOOOOOK what is going on in your country.

And to be honest what did make me sad was that somehow u did try to justify THE HINDU CAST SYSTEM and that is really really bad my friend.

saregamapa, i have a friend of mine who was explaining to me about this whole caste system in hinduism, but when asked if someone wants to convert to hinduism , which caste s/he will go under was a question he have never given me answer of.

Also, what happyheart above said, there are caste within in the hindu religion which are considered untouchables. One caste is the caste with the name of " Dalit ". They are considered 'achoot' or 'the untouchables'. A regular hindu is not suppose to touch them. They are to be found at certain place and if found else where, they get punished/killed for that. Please do let me know where is the misconception that i have regarding the Dalit caste?

Also, to add to the topic, India's largest population is of Hindus and yet indian constitution reject the idea of caste system when it is in the religion itself. Can you write a word or two regarding that as well ? thank you.

A human being, no matter which religion he borns in, no matter which family s/he is born in, no matter which race,country or culture hes born in..should be given the universally accepted human rights. You cannot judge who is more superior to who merely just by knowing his place of birth or which family he's born in to.

Peace Mr. Popat,

To answer ur question, there is no concept of conversion in hinduism, therefore there is no prescribed system to which caste any prospective hindu would convert to.

Happyheart has his own problems that drives him to spread lies about hinduism. Dalits used to be considered achoots or untouchables in the past by some bigots, but now this is a crime according to Indian penal code considering someone achoot or untouchable. For ur kind information, Chief Minister of India’s most populous state Uttar Pradesh is a dalit lady, Ms. Mayawati is a so called dalit, our CJI Justice Balkrishnan is a dalit, the speaker of Indian Parliament Mrs. Meera kumar is a dalit. And the list is endless because we have a system of reservation in our government jobs for dalits.

Therefore U will find more than 33% dailts in all goverenment higher jobs. They are working as District Megistrates, Higher Judicial Officers and Police Officers all over India. Discrimation on cast lines is serious offence in India and one can land in jail for discriminating against a dalit. Read the following story, and there are thousands like it.

The Hindu : National : Three school teachers jailed under SC, ST Act

So the untouchability myth just boomrangs over here. However there are still some bigots who practise this social menace, but exceptions are everywhere.

Hope this clears ur misconception.

Before Pakistanis start pointing fingers at others, we should maybe deal with our own Zaat Paat Bullcrap first.

Indians have the excuse that it's part of their religion, what is your excuse Pakistan?

caste system on the basis of relegion is being discussed here.

"the zaat paat bullcrap" u r talking about is entirely different from what is being discussed here. that exist due to some social factors involved (i think u r some shehri babu and have no idea why it exists and its importance) and it does not necessarily means that u consider inferior who is not of ur zaat/biradari.

that zaat paat system is common in india and pakistan. so we shud stick to the topic that saregamapa has started.

@ raj

u r right to the great extent. situation have changed considerably. i think one of the factors were the rule of muslims and british rule. who did not supported much this caste concept.

like different mandirs for different caste etc.

then there is democracy after independene, it all gives voice to the ppl.

newayz just tell me what % of indian population is considered dalit.

Well we DON"T have an excuse :)
Anyone who DISCRIMINATES someone because of ZAAT PAAK/T BULLCRAP is an idiot!!

yaar last year was an exhibition in the Eu Parlement in Brussels and i personally spoke with Christian Dalit who was from India and he told me that about 200 million Dalits are daily discriminated and RAPED (no joke) and nothing or not much is being done about it.

Surely some of them do get the chance to get educated themselfs but they are branded for life for being a dalit.

Peace Maverick,

There are around 160 million dalits in India. Not necessasarily all are hindus, but they are divided among many religions, ie Buddhism, sikhism, christianity, and even Islam. But the major portion of them are hindus.

Peace.

In present day, everybody is a Shudra.

The logic behind the Caste System

The Caste System was one of the first attempts at division of labour when the society was primitive. There were a few major job roles that needed to be filled in.

The different roles were alloted based on the inherent nature one was born with. Brahmins possesed the intellectual capacity, Kshattriyas exhibited valour, Vaisyas had good business sense and the Sudras could serve well. Since these natures had to be passed on through generations, inter-marriage between the different castes was not encouraged.

Not only was this division of labour natural, it helped in easy grasping of the job skill by the child from the parent.

The Caste System also had a ranking structure. It progressively decreased from the Brahmins to the Sudras. This helped in smooth issue of commands for getting things done in the society.
For the above reasons, the Caste System became a deeply established practise in the Hindu society.

The growth of weeds in the Caste System

Since the Caste System was based on ranking, the higher castes misused it to subjugate the lower ones. It went to such intolerable levels as to the creation of the idea of ‘untouchables’ - those who were considered sub-standard humans.

The different castes itself was a dividing factor. No wonder that foreign invaders, time and again, capitalised on such a division of strength of the Hindus. The practise of Caste System was removed from the Indian Constitution with the birth of the Indian nation. However, Indians still practise it to a great extent.

Karma, Rebirth and the Caste System

The Caste System was conceived by ancient Hindu sages after deep spiritual practises. It started with the Manu Dharma and is recommended by Lord Krishna Himself in the Bhagavad Gita.

One of the accusations of the Caste System, that it is unfair to some, can be argued against like this. Karma states that one reaps what one sows. Hinduism suggests also an immortal soul that is reborn. Thus, the actions in a past life decides the fate and thus the caste one is born into in the future life. Suppose a man hurts a dog for no reason, he will face a similar fate in the next life. This is the only justice that the nature implements. Imagine this scenario…a man who is in charge of a nuclear bomb wants to destroy the world while shooting himself with a gun. If karma does not carry to the next life, he will have no hesitation to do the act because he will think that he is going to die in this life by simply pulling the trigger. To prevent such a collapse of the world, nature tallies the karma and passes on to the next life. Likewise, someone born in a high caste, if his karma was wrong, will be born in a low caste in the next birth.

An explanation of the Caste System

Those who accuse that Karma is fatalistic by saying that someone is punished for errors he did in the past do not understand that he can act in the present wisely to have a better future.

“Chaturvaranm maya shrushtam Gunak Karmaha Vibhagasya”
It means the Lord has created the system of four Varna (Castes) according to one’s own traits and Karma. Thus the Varna system has not been sanctioned as per birth.

happyheart, what U just told here is a balant lie. I dare U to prove what U just said that about 200 million Dalits are daily discriminated and RAPED(What a dirty joke).

Not some of them, but there is about 33 percent reservation for dalits in all reputed medical and engineering colleges in India. U will find similar percentage of dalits in all top government positions. And there is reservation for them in Parliament and state assemblies too.

Dalits in India have been given their required share in power, education, and social status. But there are of course some bigots among hindus who deny to wake up, and some of their counterpart in other religion who are busy spreading falseness.

Peace to U.

@ raj and saraygapama

i think u cant outrightly deny the things that mr happy heart mentioned here.

though i agree that things are moving in positive directions. but still india has to go a long and long way to get dalit social equility.

few weeks back a govt doctor refused to provide medicl treatment to pregnant dalit woman and she had to deliver her baby on the road. i think this is simply disgusting and even i havent heard such kind of incident during whole my life.

u r talking about their representation in govt department once i read in a book a dalit who managed to reach a high govt position. he mentioned that he had to face negative attitude of upper caste seniors, ordinates and even subordinate throughout his career.
most of the time staff simply hated him and tried to ridicule and defy him.

and u have mentioned the only two fields medicals and engineering what about the rest of hundreds of sectors.

beside every now and then we see that a dalit was thown out of the xyz mandir by upper caste hindus.

hope u have watched that video clip tagged as voilence against dalit in which dozens of college students beating relentlessly a student and nobody bothered to stop those ghunda type students. eventually one of his friends tried to save him and he had to face the same fate. dozen of guys were beating those two poor guys with every thing that comes into their hand.

and the most importantly the many police constables were standing there just watching that ghunda gardi and talking on cell phones.

so the bottom line is apart from govt measures what is the level of social acceptability of the dalit hindus in the society by upper cast hindus do they consider them equal in every way.

(i have a request please dont get defensive, as most of the indian are doing here. whenever someone start discussing about something going wrong in india they strat making sarcastic remarks
or try to give impression india is shinig and have got no problems. Giving impression they are just here to point out weakness and shortcomings of pakistani govt and society.

this is a forum so discuss the things openly and i hope partrotism wud not impair ur objectivity)

And U know for sure that the doctor refused to provide medical treatment coz the woman was a dalit? or it was his greed for money which compelled him to act in this inhumane manner? And I m amazed to learn that this is most henious crime against humanity by medical profession which U have heard of. Bottomline is that we are discussing here what role hindu society as a whole is playing in upliftment and equal treatment of dalits. Stray incidents like this one will put all classes of hindus into same catagory as opressed ppls.

u r talking about their representation in govt department once i read in a book a dalit who managed to reach a high govt position. he mentioned that he had to face negative attitude of upper caste seniors, ordinates and even subordinate throughout his career.
most of the time staff simply hated him and tried to ridicule and defy him.

I m not just talking about their representation in govt departments,but claimingt hat one out of every three government officer and staff is supposed to be a dalit. I think that U have been missing this point badly. And I cant comment which book U read which spoke of bad treatment of high govt official. But that ignorant official perhaps didnt know of powerful SC & ST act. According to that act if he had lodged a complaint about his ill treatment from his subordinates and collegues, those guys would have immidiately thrown in jails and wouldnt have granted bail for months.

They above quoted act is so fearsome that no one can afford to come in its net. If U can recall that recently the son of our past home minister Buta Singh was caught red handed taking bribe of **Rs. ONE CRORE, **U will be surprised to know that the bribe giver was an accused in same SC& ST act who wanted to get out of charges of dalit discrimination. Incidently Buta Singh heads SC& ST commision right now.

and u have mentioned the only two fields medicals and engineering what about the rest of hundreds of sectors.

Plz forgive my mistake of mentioning only two fields where dalits are entitled for reservation, to correct myself, all institutions in India are bound by government laws to provide reservation to dalit students. Being a dalit has become a boon in India, which ensure U of better and free education, and ease in getting government job than their counterparts from so called higher classes. Even guys from so called higher casts are ready to spend a hefty sum to get a certificate of being a dalit. LOL.

beside every now and then we see that a dalit was thown out of the xyz mandir by upper caste hindus.

We see a lot of wrong being happened in India, a nation of more than 1000 milllion ppls. We are not as pious as other Utopian nations where nothing wrong happens. U can pull me up for that if U wish.

But plz come to India, take a dalit with U to some mandir, ask the dalit to reveal to others that he is a dalit, and just watch whether one can dare to even call him a dalit, leave alone throwing him out. I dont deny the possibility that someone can dare the adventure........but rest assured that he is thrown in jail without a bail. Now U can keep on saying whatever u have heard or read.

hope u have watched that video clip tagged as voilence against dalit in which dozens of college students beating relentlessly a student and nobody bothered to stop those ghunda type students. eventually one of his friends tried to save him and he had to face the same fate. dozen of guys were beating those two poor guys with every thing that comes into their hand

I just told U that a lot of wrong things happen in India on daily basis. I hope U can watch other vedio clips which can show U person belonging to any communinity being beaten. But those cruel students and those bloody policewallahs dont form entiere Nation. I admit that we are not some Utopian nation unlike many around us where nothing of this sort happens. I m sorry for the pain U went through by seeing this much cruality towards human being. Something which U have never seen around urself.

But believe me in India, ppls from all casts are beaten like this from the hands of goondas. Its not just dalits. so this comment of urs is irrrevalant in this discussion U can see.

so the bottom line is apart from govt measures what is the level of social acceptability of the dalit hindus in the society by upper cast hindus do they consider them equal in every way.

LOL brother, perhaps U are not aware of the facts that in democracies, its representative of ppls who make laws, and not some bigot dictator. So if government is talking measure to uplift certain section of society and given them equal rights, its only because majority of ppls want this to be done. I dont deny that there are some hindus who are against this all, but that are just like marginalised exceptions are dumb asses. Dalits are totally accepted in Hindu society.

As I told U that india's largest population state Uttar Pradesh has elected a dalit as its chief minister for the third time, U can make ur own calculation how this happened where majority of voters comes from so called upper classes like Brahmins and Thakurs. Will U again ask for social acceptability?

(
i have a request please dont get defensive, as most of the indian are doing here. whenever someone start discussing about something going wrong in india they strat making sarcastic remarks
or try to give impression india is shinig and have got no problems. Giving impression they are just here to point out weakness and shortcomings of pakistani govt and society.

this is a forum so discuss the things openly and i hope partrotism wud not impair ur objectivity)

LOL just LOL.

Peace to U.

An attempt to clear a much maligned practice in Hindu socities whether it really has any religious basis or not. However I fail to see any real substance in the explanations given in this article.

Just commenting on the first verse quoted in this article, there is no explanation of which intermingling of castes is being referred to for the unmoralistic women to whom are referred in the verse. Which caste would they belong to. The verse is incomplete with respect to the explanation being given for it.

To keep the debate academic and of some real value w.r.t to the Hindu scriptures I am willing to ignore the reality of the Hindu society because even in muslim socities a lot is done which cannot be justified through our scriptures.

The verse quoted does not talk about the division of work in the ancient hindu society as being the meanning of belonging to a caste. The explanation given is quite absurd for the verse quoted. I would like to more meat on the discussion and some parity between the explanations and verses quoted for them.

Let me quote the verses from Bhagvad-Gita .... surrounding 1.41

"With the destruction of dynasty, the eternal family tradition is vanquished, and thus the rest of the family becomes involved in irreligion."

"When irreligion is prominent in the family, O Krishna, the women of the family become polluted, and from the degradation of womanhood, O descendant of Vrishni, comes unwanted progeny."

"An increase of unwanted population certainly causes hellish life both for the family and for those who destroy the family tradition. The ancestors of such corrupt families fall down, because the performances for offering them food and water are entirely stopped."

"By the evil deeds of those who destroy the family tradition and thus give rise to unwanted children, all kinds of community projects and family welfare activities are devastated."

How could the author of the Article produced such a ridiculous explanation of the caste system based on the verse 1.41 from the Gita. Anyone reading these verse as they have been translated into English cannot go away without mistaking them for condemning adulterous relations of women in the household. And the fall from the grace their families experience in society.

Sigh!!! I was willing to have a good discussion (without any insults or provocations) here but unfortunately no replies.

Adultery is frowned upon in every religion ..