Carpal Tunnel Syndrome

I’ve been experiencing many if not all the symptoms that are closely linked with Carpal Tunnel Syndrome for the past year or so…Ive been doing some research on it and was wondering…

How many of you have it and what are your experiences with drugs, therapy and surgical procedures?

thanks for sharing :slight_smile:

Re: Carpal Tunnel Syndrome

what is it?? i've heard about it but not sure of what it is..

AE: i USED to thing i had it.. cuz when i used to do heavy weights, my third fingers of both hands used to show symptoms..

but its slowly moving away now .. so i'm guessing whatever it was, stared due to not being exposed to heavy weights..

i would suggest u go to a doctor or a physio first.. they will be able to diagnose/direct u more..

^Kiya to signature hai bhai. lol

perhaps i misunderstood u....are u saying that it could be caused because im NOT using weights or because i am?...i would think that it would be because of the latter since I use weights regularly and have been for several years now...maybe im holding the weights incorrectly?

i plan on making an appointment soon inshAllah...i just wanted to gather enough information about it before i went. Thanks

http://www.ninds.nih.gov/disorders/carpal_tunnel/carpal_tunnel.htm

Carpal tunnel syndrome is a painful progressive condition caused by compression of a key nerve in the wrist. It occurs when the median nerve, which runs from the forearm into the hand, becomes pressed or squeezed at the wrist. Symptoms usually start gradually, with pain, weakness, or numbness in the hand and wrist, radiating up the arm. As symptoms worsen, people might feel tingling during the day, and decreased grip strength may make it difficult to form a fist, grasp small objects, or perform other manual tasks. In some cases no direct cause of the syndrome can be identified. Most likely the disorder is due to a congenital predisposition - the carpal tunnel is simply smaller in some people than in others. However, the risk of developing carpal tunnel syndrome is especially common in those performing assembly line work.

best cure, is to let it rest. I felt it a while back, and wore those removable casts for my wrists for like 3 weeks, and alhumdulillah its better now.

rest rest rest! wow ae u dont' eeven use the comp that much .

I had this for a while, it was painful and made life difficult at times... in the morning, I had to hold my coffee cup with both hands, I couldnt open pop-top cans etc. Something that helped alot was a wrist guard. You can get these at most pharmacies. They hold your wrist in a rigid position and it allows the nerves and muscles to rest and heal.

actually .. using the gloves without exercising the wrists is not a good idea. I would suggest you use them sparingly if you are typing. But try and do wrist exercises and strectches. They help out and will have you all better in no time at all...

well actually i do....for uni...research papers and all. But from my understanding carpal tunnel syndrome isnt limited to ppl that just use the computer.

thanks for the adivce guys....I will def do those exercises and look into purchasing a wrist guard.

Angel eyes u need to see doctor, CTS is not diagnosed based upon symptoms, u may need an NCS. And splint for CTS is better designed by an occupational therapist.