Career Moves...Your thoughts?

Right now I absolutely LOVE my job alhamdulillah, and my workplace, work environment, colleagues, everything. Every single day I look forward to going to my office and working. I had three close friends at my office, one of whom was my childhood friend and has left since she’s about to get married, the other left a few months ago to get an MBA and the last leaving tomorrow. I do have two other good friends at the office and I’m also good friends with the two other people in my department, they’re guys but we get along very well alhamdulillah and have a real good time joking around with each other.

Every single day at work is fun. My boss is nice, the work environment is just really great and decent, the people are very very decent and respectful, all types of food (fresh juices, snacks, all types of desi/chinese food etc for breakfast, lunch etc) are avlbl right then and there whenever we want, we sometimes go down ourselves and get them. Work itself is laid back and not demanding or stressful, workplace rules are not strict, and everybody respects each other. Also its not a high maintenance environment and I don’t have to spend lots of time everyday getting ready and looking fashionable etc either. I can ever wear normal clothes, chaadar on my head, look like a paindoo etc, all that is fine and nobody looks at me like I’m weird if I do that. Most people are normal type. I just LOVE my workplace alhamdulillah, and am really really lucky to be working here. This is my first full time job and I have been working here for a year. I did join another company for two days but left it right before joining this one because I did not feel comfortable there.

Hmmm…

The thing though is that this is a small company with very few prospects for advancement and the nature of the work is such that I don’t have much growth opportunities career wise and I’m not employing my degree skills here either…The salary is not that great but not bad but the main thing is that its not really a challenging job that is going to be a wow factor on my resume.

So… I’m thinking of changing jobs…All my friends have also been telling me k Irem what the heck are you doing at this company…

I like it here though…and its making me sad to think that I would leave this company and move to a “bigger” company. I know I have to move on, its the logical thing to do, I have to make career moves forward and move to more challenging things, I feel like I owe that to my education and besides that’s the natural route to take.

I’ve got close friends who have worked in very big multinational companies, the best companies in Pakistan, and their work experience is very different from mine. I mean, the work is not laid back, the people are more mod scod and fashionable type, there’s more competition and professionalism.

Its like moving from a small town to a big city. And the thought is a bit intimidating I guess…

I realise I need to move out of this warm and cosy shell I am in, it will be a growth experience for myself as well and I will learn a lot professionally as well as personally, and it will look better on my resume as well…

My brain tells me that I can’t spend my life at this company…I need to apply to other places…

But…somehow…I feel so settled and happy and content here alhamdulillah…that…dil nai karta idhar se janay ka mera… :frowning:

:bism:

Irem, it is not called (in English) as Career Move, but Company Move. Career Move will be if you left this company and decided to become a Molviani teaching little kids Quran Shareef. Alhamdullilah.

If you want to do something career development wise, you don’t need any justifications etc., for that. Just do it. Grab the best opportunity that comes along. Don’t worry about friends and colleagues waghera and how they will feel. Your friends will always be there whether you work in this company or sell Chana Jour Garam on Bandar Road.

:jazak:

:salam:

:jhanda:

For some reason, I can pitcure you as a Bhikaran on Shahbaz Qalaadar’s Mizar Shareef.

:jhanda:

^^

If you want to do something career development wise, you don’t need any justifications etc., for that. Just do it. Grab the best opportunity that comes along. Don’t worry about friends and colleagues waghera and how they will feel. Your friends will always be there whether you work in this company or sell Chana Jour Garam on Bandar Road.

hmmmmmmmmmm…k :slight_smile: thx :slight_smile:

Irem,

Madhanee is right. Listen to ur head, and make the change. You know you have the potential to do something different and use your education to a better level, so what stops you? Sab cheezeiN sada aik jaisi nahiN rehteiN, and at this point in life this is where you take the steps to move ahead. You already said you don't want to spend the rest of ur life working for the current company, so if you have opportunities now, go ahead and take them. Make it happen, you know you have the potential.

Irem,

I suggest you stay at your current job for another year or so, learn/master what you are good at and then move. I think this way you will have more experience and a resume with stable work history.

Wish you all the best

Irem .. get me hired at your position and THEN you can move ahead .. sounds fair ? :)

waisay i agree with Saqib here ..

Irem even though you are saying that you are happy at your company, I dont think you are as satisfied as you tell yourself, and that is why you opened this thread. At this time you shouldnt think too much about the people that work with you and stuff. If you feel like you do not have any chances to go forward here, then you should move to another place. Adjusting to the new place will not be hard at all.

Sorry, havent read all the responses.

Career move is a very good thing especially when you are bored with your present career (like I am now) or sad faces that you have to look at daily… Just change your career path (Like I plan to :k: )

Good luck

PS: “Sorry if it didnt make sense.” Im too tired :bummer:

thanks all for replies :)

TNWB g'luck to u too :)

proudpakistani i am satisfied alhamdulillah even though the fact is there that it is not at par with my degree...thats the only thing...but i am happy here there's no doubt abt that...i look fwd to going to the office everyday...and do have a good time there...
khayr i have decided already to change jobs... :-) all my good friends have already left anyway...so an i shud also make a move on :)
thanks for the advice btw :-)

Ansoon hey buddy ... if u r looking for a job then feel free to send me your resume, i'll fwd it to my HR dept who knows maybe u will get hired :D

Saqib as always thanks a lot for dropping by and posting in my thread, really appreciate it :) and thanks for the good wishes. I have learnt most of the skills at this job already, not much new things to learn as we r now working on the same process...though there definitely is some stuff to learn...but i have decided to change jobs...inshallah do teen maheenon tak...

~Sehar~ haan yaar i know..i have to do that...but i was just feeling a bit sad abt the whole thing i gues...lekin i know i have to do it especially now at this job meri close friends ne already chor di hae ye wali job so the pull to stay here is also less now...
thanks for dropping by in the thread :)

I didnt go through the whole set of replies.

Irem, first of all, the point about 'your professional growth' is really an important one. If you think you have worked here long enough and there areny many things left to learn or experience in your job scope than you should be able to make a move in other company with a better profile and growth scope.

Having said that, I must acknoeldge that working in a more challenging environment can catch you off-guard for so many reasons. You recognize some of them already.

saby true that..

khair..i have decided already to move inshallah :) do teen maheenon tak most prolly :)