Career in the UN [split: New Government (in Pak Affairs]

Re: Career in the UN [split: New Government (in Pak Affairs]

I have field experience in domestic violence, AIDS/HIV (more extensive) and lots of research experience in cancer therapeutic development. Medical background is not that extensive yet, I'm first-year in medical school. May be I should wait till 3rd or 4th year, or would they be okay with this?
Also, I'm not looking for a pay as in salary, but more like pay for travel, lodging, that's okay right?

Nope. They pay for nothing at all. Not for room, trip or food. You have to pay for everything yourself.

It may be a good idea to Intern for WHO in Pakistan first and the try to get sent to Geneva through the agency.

This thread closes on the 16th of April from my side. I stop being bored at work. So if you got questions or issues, you have till the 16th - if you want me to answer them.

If Ali wants he can help you.

I am a bit confused. You are encouraging people to apply for it and then saying that they probably wont hear anything back cuz they don't know anyone.

I providing information on the UN. If they want to apply they can. But I am merely an avenue of information. Nothing more.

Geneva is tooo far, I was thinking my hometown- New York. Specifically I was thinking Red Cross, and after I'm done with school inshAllah, I'll do something in the field, and with that I wanna actually be in medicine.

That's why I really want to get started with some kinda exposure to UN in NY to see how they operate, and then decide if I wanna invest more time career into it. Sahee hai naa?

Thanks for the information btw, its v helpful!

CM / Ali_R

I am based in Pakistan. Am I eligible for the positions in Pakistan only or can I also apply for overseas vacancies?

I would gladly join a short term contractual / temporary opportunity just for the sake of experience.

Yes you can apply to any UN organization in Pakistan or overseas.

Ok, dont get this. You still at school and already making plans to work at the UN? True?

yeah but that was for a short time but am happy with that too cuz experience at UN counts too :)

yeah am at Isloo working with a commission for S&T...

cant say abt the first part but yeah pleasent personality was one of the traits (saw the comments later on my cv as i was in HR :D)

^True. UN experience always counts. No doubt on that.
Why not apply for It again :p

If I can start all over again - be 18 again, knowing what I know now - I would persue my career at HR, hey its not easy I know but then IT is not easy too.

I ammm but i guess my luck isnt working since am in this org its jinxed!

yes thats true, because as of yet I want an internship not a job.

WHO has a small office in New York. Check with them, its like a 3 man unit and they do need interns from what I last heard.

HR, how boring!
Naih Saadia, you have made the right decision. Trust me ;-)

Hey! Dont give up. Keep trying yaar.
Wish you best of luck :)

Well, Vienna needs a lot of them too. You can try here too.
If you need more infos contact me via PM.

thankyou sooo much btw where r u situated??do u have any idea if theres any UN agency in UAE???there was a IRIN-OCHA office there..