Car lifting in Pakistan

**Pakistan, the world leader in stolen cars business!**Monday, 18 August , 2008, 12:50

Islamabad: On an average cars worth Rs one billion are stolen every month in Pakistan, said a report of the country’s Interior Ministry, and added that cars of an estimated worth of Rs 18 billion were stolen in the past 18 months. According to the report, 14,037 vehicles worth Rs seven billion were stolen or snatched across the country during the first half of 2008 while 23,144 vehicles worth Rs 11 billion were stolen or snatched during 2007. Punjab had the highest number of vehicle lifting incidents, as 7432 vehicles were taken away in the first six months of 2008 and 6,801 in the same period of 2007. In NWFP, the figures remained low and 341 vehicles were stolen from Jan 1 to June 30, 2008 as compared to 329 in the same period in 2007.

Pakistan, the world leader in stolen cars business! - Sify.com

Re: Car lifting in Pakistan

I bet our interior minister rehman malik is a gaddi chor himself!

plenty of these stolen cars end up in afghanistan. maybe kharzai is riding a stolen truck as we speak

here are some parts of the article not highlighted above

*"Motorway is the safest way to take the stolen vehicles to Peshawar and Mardan.

According to him, Peshawar, Hazara and Mardan Divisions were havens for carjackers."*

Yes, the (many of the) stolen cars get sold in NWFP because of FATA. But why are the figues so low for NWFP whereas it is so high for Punjab? Or have the carjackers spared NWFP?

Other crime figures e.g. rape, gang rape, honor killing, etc., are also low for NWFP compared to other provinces.

But the issue is not any particular province. It is, what is wrong with the police system?

bhai jan, NWFP is the destination, whan churra kar kya milay ga. As the article states the cars are stolen in some areas and wind up in havens like peshawar, hazara and mardaan as teh article notes.

why are the figures of car theft in NWFP so low? well aside from teh fact that we have already established that that region is the destination of stolen cars and not the source..

less people, less percentage of people own cars = less cars = less cars to steal

as far as rape and other crimes go just a few days back I had done a per capita analysis which paints a different picture, that while in absolute numbers NWFP (dinn the name get changed already btw?) had the lowest numbers but when you factor in population figures, it was second only to punjab. anyways that is a diff topic. (honor killing it was towards the bottom though)

so looking back at the car scenario, I am sure if we look at number of cars in NWFP, and then number of thefts, the difference will not look so stark. especially if we factor in that that is the demand center for stolen vehicles. or atleast a pit stop on the way to afghanistan.

what is wrong with police system, well, where do we begin. :)

Rebel Bhai, statistics are not generated like this and statistical inferences are not made this way. The article mentions the evidence by only one car lifter making the sample size faulty and insufficient to be the basis of any good approximation. Actually, there is this inclination in other provinces to link crimes to NWFP.

This impression is also wrong that less number of people in NWFP have number of cars. The opposite may be correct rather as for percentage of people having cars is concerned. As for population, there is 1:3 ratio but as for car lfting there is 1:21 ratio.

I think for higher car lifting cases and other crime figures, the fudalistic nature of society may be responsibe, which puts less restrain on the powerful. A corrupt police system may also be responsible for that.

sarkar, I live in a world of statistics, and inferences can be made on data points like I mentioned. for the case of crimes as in a previoius threads, absolute numbers did not tell much until they were compared against population.

here you will need 3 data points, # of cars stolen, population, and car ownership percentage, that will give you a real view of crime rates. This infomation may be obtainable but it may take some digging.

looking at basic raw numbers and saying oh wow, its much less in such and such place is incorrect. one may look at NWFP and baluchistan and say well baluchistan only really had a few dozen more cars stolen than NWFP, but then when you look at it with the context that baluschistan has a smaller population, it just shows that the problem there is more severe.

I am surprised that the article does not list Karachi, because to the best if my knowledge that is ine placew where car jacking and car theft is very high.

I am surprised this thread is free of that "word" so far?

heheh lemme do the honours..
MQM?
I think they deal with smaller goods, cell phones, electronics and cash. harder to track em and easier to move.
unless they are the ones carjacking in other provinces.

You are too late! It should have come in the 2nd post! No gold no silver no bronze!!!

My car was stolen in 1998.Never got it back. Came to know that somebody would be driving it as a taxi in FATA.

muj se meri garhi 2D seloon modle 2004 gun point per 10-junuary ko cheen li gaee our mutaliqa thana ne meri FIR 6-

motn k bhad kati he our asal mujrim bhi pukrhy gay kyoon k

wo jaty waqat mera moblie bhi le gay our IMEI no se calls bhi

trace out ker li gahein laiken police ne without any reason unein chorh diya garhi ko wo log peshwar mein sell out ker aye our un ki detail bhi he laiken kuch nahi kersukta

[quote="rajabechain, post:155, topic:165885"]

muj se meri garhi 2D seloon modle 2004 gun point per 10-junuary ko cheen li gaee our mutaliqa thana ne meri FIR 6-

motn k bhad kati he our asal mujrim bhi pukrh ker chorh diye