Car-achii......

**With all new n improved chikni roads …
Signal free corridors

Most ppl in karachi now owns a car (Thnx to massive auto loans by bank)

n every 1 feel like flying …

Wanna share ur expereince with cars ??

any race, accident, drifting ,… any thing …

Re: Car-achii......

kahan chikni roads bhai, so much congestion everywhere. clutch daba daba kay taang mai dard hojata hai!

*raat 12 k baad nikla keroo merey dost ;)

Well you can lead a horse to water but ya cant make it drink :@:

*^^lagta hai koi bohot gehri baat kerdi .......

Re: Car-achii…

Sarakain or Pull Bana’nay se kuch nahi hona , jaab taak log , QanooN k da’eray mein reh ka GhariyaN nahii chalna seekain gay !

Driving in karachi is the easiest way of buying yourself a cardiac attack :hoonh:

All this car centric "progress" is absolute bullshat. This money could have much better been spent on a mass transit system.

Paisay walay kay paas gaari haiy aur chalaanay kay liyeh road. Ghareeb gaya tail lenay.

yaar cheegum i disagree. even from the perspective of the environment, the more efficient road system is better than 4 hour traffic jams every day. bear in mind that most commutes in karachi are through the buses, it helps average joe if the bus isnt stuck in traffic for hours.

Karachi used to have a rail system that is now quite limited because people prefer to use buses/motor cycles. ideally we'd have both.

What i meant was a more efficient rail system. And a culture in which its normal for even middle to upper middle class people take the train. Wishful thinking i know :hinna:

It used to be the case when our parents used to commute, a lot of people used to use the circular rail. then the minibuses/suzukies came along. the car didnt kill the rail, the minibus did, I think its more a matter of convenience than status.

there was some talk of expanding the karachi circular rail and making it actually useful, but like a lot of those 'mega-projects' that we heard grand plans of (KPT Tower?, some paradisical island off of Karachi? etc etc) it never materialized.

The day mini-bus mafia entered in Karachi (right after Afghan war... by afghan bhagoray in Karachi and bringing heroin and KK) they bought mini buses and business (Sohrab Goth) and hence they ruined A CITY ... which was known as peacful and clean city ...

The they killed Local railaway system then they killed KTC (Karachi Transport Corp) and later are involved in double-sawari ban scandles ... we gotta get rid of mini-buses ASAP ... they are also the root cause of killing in Karachi ...
remember ...

1- Bushra Zaidi Case
2- Lnndhi Railway Crossing Case ... and so on...

My sugestion is to start Rail road system ASAP specially from Numaish ( MA Jinnah Road) to Tower and from Quid-abad to Saddar...and somehow develope a Park-n-Ride system! ...

how exactly did they kill the local railway system? its not like they forced people to ride the buses. To my knowledge, they provided a service that people preferred over the railway.

well you are right in not getting the point ... it does not make any sense, but from inside news mini-bus mafia does not allow any other transit system! That includes KTC, Buses, double sawari on motor bic, ...

The circular trains from Malir, Landhi to Nazim abad and Cant were used to provide a service since years, but their services were not improved over the years, although they were making money but they were not making this service better ... this could have bee better if some one had worked sincerely, but then after injection of mini-bus mafia it got worst! ...

Mini-bus mafia only provide moeny to decision makers and they simply stops the servises ... just like double sawari scandles! ... they never provided a better service like KTC or Railway ... in the mini-bus you can't eve stand, nor they know How to Talk to Humans! ...

i dunno how much the minibus people had to do with double sawari. but that'll start a discussion with no real conclusion so i wont address that.

my parents used to use the rail service in karachi. The problem was that stations are quite far apart, it is much more convenient to get the bus from where you lived instead of walking a couple of kilometers from each rail station. So not only is it a matter of efficiency, but spread. Getting a well spread out rail network in a city like Karachi is not easy, so maybe the minibuses didnt help, but that might not be the dominant reason.

the reason they were adopted by people was that they filled a need. the double sawari etc afaik is mid-90s stuff... the rail was long dead by then.

^ I think what ata means is the minibus people fed the right kind of people to halt improvements with the rail system, such as more stations / stops.

i guess.. but why blame the minibus people then. if a politician is up for sale somebody will buy him. its the elected people who arent doing their jobs, the minibus walay are doing theirs.. in one sense.

ironically we keep electing the same politicians, and the politician likely got elected by exploiting this ethnic resentment.

What is a signal-free corridor, like the express lane? Or inter-city highway?

^ Yes like an expressway. These were unknown in pakistan till recent. When i first came to the states i couldn’t believe you could have roads within the city with no signals :eek:

And since i was so used to the stop and go traffic of Karachi i would keep hitting the brakes for no reason in the middle lane of the expressway while cars zipped past me at 80 miles an hour. My brother who was teaching me how to drive here would smack me on the head real hard everytime i hit the brakes :cb:

lol bro. :hehe:

Thanks though. That’s really neat. InshaAllah would love to check it out on next trip. Is the speed limit enforced on the corridor? :slight_smile:

The signal free corridors are right in the middle of city … n there are no pedestrian bridge … so u’ve to hit the break every now n then… hence no need for speed limits