Captain of crashed Air Blue flight ignored Air Traffic Controller: CAA

Captain of crashed Air Blue ignored ATC

Updated 9 hours ago

http://images.thenews.com.pk/updates_pics/4-24-2012_45972_l.jpg

ShareThis

0Email

ISLAMABAD: The Captain of the fateful Air Blue flight that crashed into Margala Hills in July 2010 ignored Air Traffic Controller’s suggestions, according to the CAA’s findings of the investigation into the incident.

The Civil Aviation Authority (CAA) has made public the investigation report of the Air Blue flight ABQ-202 that crashed into Margala Hills on July 28, 2010.

According to the findings, at 8:26 AM the Captain asked the First Officer (FO) to activate secondary flight plan, which was activated in the FMS.

At 8:27 AM the captain of the fateful plane completely ignoring the instructions coming from an officer at control tower told the First Officer in the cockpit ‘let him say whatever he wants to say’.

The finding said: “After break-off from ILS approach, the Captain ignored the tower controller’s suggestion (at 0437:54) to fly a bad weather circuit by saying ‘let him say whatever he wants to say’. The CVR recording and flight simulation show that the Captain probably decided to fly a managed approach on pre-selected PBDS unbeknown to the ATS”.

At 8:28 AM the FO asked the Captain ‘sir, but are you visual’ and captain replied in the affirmative.

At 8:30 AM when the aircraft was 3.5 NM (nautical miles) from the runway, it took a left turn ‘through autopilot’.

The FO at 8:33 AM told the captain ‘sir higher ground has reached, sir there is a terrain ahead, sir turn left’.

The captain at 8:34 AM had become ‘very jittery in his verbal communication and displayed frustration, confusion and anxiety resulting in further deterioration in his behaviour’.

At 8:36 AM the FO told the captain ‘sir terrain ahead is coming’. The captain replied ‘Han ji (yes), we are turning left’. But the aircraft did not turn left.

The report said at 8:37 AM, “The pilots were unsure of their geographical position and did not seek Radar help. The consequent loss of situation awareness caused the aircraft to go astray.”

Captain of crashed Air Blue ignored ATC - thenews.com.pk

Re: Captain of crashed Air Blue flight ignored Air Traffic Controller: CAA

Complete AirBlue ED202 Crash Report - https://rapidshare.c…rash_Report.pdf

The details are so sad. I am not sure if the captain was in his sense. Such a great tragedy :(

:( but ??? okay

10 sad minutes........that's all it took.

Such behaviour is quite common among our people. Sad.

exactly y they dont realise they r playing with lives many others :(

His arrogance caused the death of so many people besides his own:

Cookies must be enabled | Herald Sun
Captain Pervez Iqbal Chaudhary was “harsh and snobbish” towards his first officer almost as soon as the aircraft took off, the report said, and this continued during the flight.“After the intermittent humiliating sessions, the first officer generally remained quiet, became under-confident, submissive, and subsequently did not challenge the Captain for any of his errors, breaches and violations,” the report said.Even as the plane was about to crash the first officer, 34, did not take control.

If by "our" people you mean Pakistanis, you have to think twice. Authorities over the world are thinking how to equip First Officer (FO) with the powers so he/she can overwrite captain's orders in critical situations. Poor FO has almost no say when captain is on the controls (and even when he is off control).

As for disorientation about land-and-sky and ignoring control tower's instructions goes, sadly that happens all around the world and has resulted in many fatal crashes.

Then no captain should be allowed to fly a plane. :rolleyes:

We know how egoistic most Pakistanis are.

We don't know stuff about the stuff.
Then we go buy stuff from the countries who make stuff.
Now we smart a@@es don't follow the stuff,what those countries who made stuff, told us to do with their stuff,
"We think we can make things work" "we make first virus" "we have ataaaam bumb"
Eventually stuff goes down then we are like

"oh allam mian yeh hum per ezaab kion?"

You know what was really priceless ??

After getting 130 men buried under the ice/snow.

The high level army representative said "we never heard such incident before"
No one asked "you piece of #@#$ did you not hear global warming ?? changing weather ?? ice shrinking ??"

but oh wait "hum ko allah per bharosa sy"

seriously allah ka aur CJ ka peecha chor do ab tum log.

I so agree with that. Whether its army office or police or anyone having a lil authority. Here it was the pilot who was ultra super-confident and probably didnt realize 160 families were at stake.
And yesterday following this report, the court ordered CAA chief to be sacked. I just wonder what could he do with this situation. Or may be something else that I missed as didnt read the complete order summary.

The captain made many errors, ignored terrain warnings and behaved arrogantly. He got confused about which control will make the plane turn left! There are things that the report seems to have chosen to ignore. It should not have come down to pilot maneuverability if the ILS system at the airport was operational. The report does not explain why that was not the case.Making big planes make tight circle close to mountains is not a good choice either. Why not land the plane from the side it approached the city? The weather and plane itself were fine.
Our desi culture of anyone in position of authority behaving obnoxiously towards others and subordinates forced to submit to superiors all the time contributed. The FO instead of answering whether the airport was visible or not, asked the pilot "Kya bataoon sir?"

:( ...

Confusing here. The thread about a report published now after two years of crash 2010?

Barai mehrbaani apnay MNA ko chitti likh kar maloom kar lain kay 2010 kee report 2012 may jaa kar kiyun public ho rahi hai?

And now the latest
New CAA report blames PAF controllers for Airblue crash

spot on…

decent chora does not know what he is talking about but i understand where u r coming from…insulting subordinates, egoistic attitude, never-own-a-mistake, “make excuses when you are wrong” … we do it all the time.

wasn't this the same pilot who was praying all night long and was sleep deprived?