Capsicum (cayenne) for hair!

(Sorry about the long post, if you don’t like reading, plz just read the bits in red and blue)

Some of you may remember that I had mentioned in a thread a few weeks ago about a project we have in college.

Long story short… My group (the awesome group :wink: ) is making a herbal hair mask that promises to promote hair growth, prevent hair loss, strengthen hair and adds bounce and shine to the hair.

**The reason I’m opening this thread is because its a part of our “market research” and we want to know how many people would like to use such a product. **

So let me tell you about the awesome hair mask by the awesome group!

The ingredients:

• Coconut oil
  • Shea Butter
  • Cayenne Oil
  • Jojoba Oil
  • Essential oils (oil of lavender, oil of rosemary)
  • And perhaps some rose water just for the nice fragrance (depending on the solubility)

The Active Ingredient: **
The active ingredient in this hair mask is cayenne oil. Cayenne is a rubefacient herb i.e. it causes irritation/redness of the skin. And before someone laughs out loud at this, let me tell you, capsicum is a popular ingredient in pain-relieving creams, gels, pads etc. such as deep heat.

Capsicum irritates the skin, not to a dangerous extent but just enough to **increase blood circulation **to the area to which it is applied to. This is what helps relieve the pain and aches.

Now, we’re exploiting the same rubefacient properties of cayenne in our hair mask. **Poor blood circulation is one of the reasons for hair loss. We’re targeting this cause of hair loss. Increased blood circulation to the scalp means increased and rapid hair growth. **

This product has no side effects. It contains all natural ingredients. People may be worried that regular use of cayenne may cause irritation but cayenne oil is present in low concentrations in our hair mask and the presence of other soothing ingredients such as shea butter (high in vitamins and minerals) and coconut oil (rich in fatty acids) will be extremely beneficial to the scalp. Shea butter has been used for centuries as a wound healer! So this hair mask will actually help heal your scalp if u have any wounds and it will not cause any irritation whatsoever.

The only thing is… you wouldn’t wanna be getting this into ur eyes! lol
Summary: **
The cayenne oil will increase blood circulation to the scalp hence promote hair growth and bring more nutrition to the hair follicles. Whereas the shea butter and coconut oil will strengthen your hair, add shine and bounce to it!

The benefits of shea butter and coconut oil for hair are endless! I can’t list them all here. I will answer any questions that you may have.

Questions:

**Your age. Would you use this product? Why or why not?

Plzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz post ur replies, I will be taking them down in my notebook and including them in the business plan that we must write up! Fun fun!

We will also be packaging this product once its formulated. I will post pictures of the product by next week Inshallah. We only have two weeks left for the project so thats I’m opening this thread now so I can gather as many replies as I can.

Cheers guys! Thanks a million, in advance, for taking the time out!! :hug:

Re: Capsicum (cayenne) for hair!

What's the proportion of each ingredient in the concoction?

If it promises all that then I will surely use it:@:

interesting idea- so for the sake of ur project, lets get a few more answers so ppl can respond better.

the cayenne sounds like it could be an irritant, esp with continued use-- what is the ratio of cayenne to everything else.
you say it has no side-effects. how do you know? has this product been tested yet? on humans or animals?
what about if someone gets it into their eyes, nose, mouth--what are the effects on the mucus membranes, skin?
is this a processed, refined sort of product (like a bottle of shampoo with a fairly long shelf life from the body shop for example) or is it semi-processed (like a face mask from lush which "expires" in a couple of weeks)
is this for ppl suffering from baldness or hair loss, or just anyone?

How long before one starts noticing changes? and yeah, if it really works then i will use it for sure...

As I said before, capsicum is a popular ingredient in heat rubs, massage oils, gels for pain etc etc.... and thats because it increases the blood circulation to the area. In our hair mask, the cayenne is present in very low concentrations (10%) and so its definitely not going to cause any irritation (we know because we tested it on ourselves... this is a fictional business plan, so we obviously can't test it on anyone else) ... and yes it will be irritating if u get it into ur eyes, but its the same with shampoos isn't it? You just wash it out with loads of water. And a warning will be placed on the container and we're also thinking of adding an instructional dvd with the product so people can watch it before use and learn everything about the product.

It certainly doesn't have any side effects, we're just using natural oils, i mean we even eat coconut oil and olive oil and shea butter etc so there's nothing hazardous in that product.

This product is in the consistency of a thick moisturizer. There have been no preservatives added to the product but it will not expire because its all natural. If we were to put a use by date on it, we would say at least a year! But natural oils don't expire,.. do they?

This product can be used by anyone at any age but we recommend it should be kept away from children under the age of 10.

Studies on the effects of cayenne have been shown to reverse certain types of alopecia so yes even bald people can use it.

The proportion of each oil cannot be revealed as yet. I might give it out when the project is over.

I hope that answers all ur questions and I'm sorry about the delay in answering them!

I will certainly be using this product on myself. : )

because its all natural, its gonna work over night. We recommend at least 3 months of regular use (at least twice per week). Thats for hair growth and prevention of hair loss results.... as far as shine and softness are concerned, you should start noticing results within a month.

I will only use it, if it really works!!!

^ Thanks Bella :slight_smile:

Just one question though. Whenever we buy something, isn’t it really a buy’n’try kinda thing? Most of the times we don’t know if the thing will work, we just buy it because we saw an advert or its from a high-end company or the formulation sounds good etc etc?

When I go to buy a facial toner, for example, there is soooo many options, so I just buy a good quality one from a trusted company, but you can never be sure if it will actually work. You jus buy it on a trial basis and if it works u stick with it.

Does this product sound promising? Let’s say we were a trusted company and this product came out, would u buy it to try it?

That gives me an idea… we need to think about offers and return policies :hmmm:

I definitely am the type of consumer that tries new products that come out... especially if they seem promising. So I personally would have no problem trying out this product! :D One of the reasons of hair loss is due to poor circulation........ so the use of cayenne oil makes sense to me on combatting this issue.

My only question is: have u guys been using this product regularly and noticed a decrease of hair fall?

I really hope you give out the "recipe" for this product once your project is over with :@:

^ :hehe: I will Inshallah.

No PR we haven’t been using this product regularly only because we only made it last week in the lab. We tried a number of different formulations and finally have a winner.

I will definitely be using this on my hair regularly and I will update you on the results.

Will be posting pics next week.

Even if it didn’t reverse mild alopecia, it definitely will make ur hair strong, silky, and more dense. That’s a guarantee.

@Barbiecue... this sounds such a fun project !

And if it really does do what it promises to do, I would definitely use it.

Am already suffering from hair loss and weak hair. would love to try this one too. though if it really does work :)

good luck hun..keep us updated. :D

barbiecue can u tell plz the proportion of each ingredients! thanks :)

sounds gud want to try to...:)

^ itni asani se nahin bachoo :hoonh: Thora sabar.

lolz Thanks anyway, good to hear that ladies are willing to try it.

wat?? jus asking the proportion thats all...or shall i jus mixed it the way i like ?? or i suppose its right??

i know i need patience for seeing result :)

^ lolz I can't tell u right now because this is for a college project, everything must be kept a secret until about 2 more weeks. Sowie!

And nooo plzzzz don't be mixing it urself. I will tell u asap.

i dnt get the point....u wnt us to try that ingredients on our head...but how can we try it when we dnt know the proportion of the ingredients...

i am now confused :S or didnt i understand everthing ?! :S :S :S

^ I don't want u to try the product. I am asking a hypothetical question. If we were an actual company and were releasing this product, would u try it? does it sound promising? are u suffering from hair loss? would u be willing to try an all natural product?

Proportions will be given to u in the near future, dear, be patient! :)

oooooooooh acha achaaaaaa ab samaj aay..i didnt read ur first post full hahahhaha

i am not suffering of hairloss but i am definetly a big fan of natural products...they always helped...so why not :) a bit itching on the skin i think wuld be normal..

"khoobsurat hone ke liye kuch bardaasht bhi to karna hi partha hai na..."

:biggthumb: thats the spirit!

I don’t think it would even itch that much coz coconut oil and shea butter are very very soothing, haven’t tried it yet, will do so and will let u guys know.

cheers :kiss: