Can't you do anything?!?

Alright I’ve tried to let out my anger/depression through various ways but it’s just not subsiding.

I’m posted in the emergency ward these days. We were taught of Rabies on Day One of our joining. We took it as any other disease or illness. We smiled and smirked when the teacher told us that during the last stage of the illness, the patient barks and bites like a rabid dog. We gave a 5-second thought to the hows and whys of “hydrophobia”. We half paid attention to the pre/post exposure methods of vaccination and then we moved on with our routine I/V’s and I/M’s. Nothing unusual.

A week ago, a family came rushing in with the child having minute fits around the head and neck. The father informed us k the child had been bit by a dog THREE MONTHS AGO. The local doctor (in Larkana) did not care enough to immediately vaccinate the child against the rabies virus. Instead the ‘parchi’ had anti-tetanus written on it. The mother, accidentally, told us kay “jo doctar sahab injection bata rahay they woh bohat mehnga tha ham log nahi khareed saktay they”

Since the bite was around the region of the lower right foot, it had taken this long for the virus to travel upto the brain and for the symptoms to appear. We checked for hydrophobia to make sure the diagnosis was correct. The child, a boy of eleven, flinched at the sight of water. He simply refused to even look at it. As the glass was brought close to him, he immediately had powerful convulsions.

A few hours later, the convulsions increased in intensity and frequency. He displayed some biting and barking type behaviour and yet cried the whole time saying :" Abba, maria ko salaam kehna, saqib ko pyaar karna, dadi ko pooch layna, etc ". We had to isolate the child immediately as his saliva was contaminated and his attempts to bite those attending him would have been hazardous.

The family took the child back home when it learned that there is no cure at this stage and eventually the convulsions will become so strong as to result in his death in a days time.

Most of us cried throughout that time and intensly hated the the teacher for mocking us and telling us that the only thing we could do was to pray for the child’s merciful death.

Two days later, another child with a history of a dog bite going back 18 days. Again, had not been vaccinated – this time the “parchi” clearly stated – socio-economic condition does not allow patient to afford vaccination costs.

This time though, we did not cry. We felt down for about an hour at max and then went about with our business.

For the past week, 6 cases have been reported and God knows just how many before that! (and oh, just how many more to come!)

The vaccination for rabies costs about 10 grand rupees per patient. How can the sabzi wala from sakkhar or the mazdoor from korangi afford it???

Maybe, just maybe he’ll sell all his belongings for the sake of his child IF HE is AWARE of the end results of this disease.

First, the government claims to provide a limited number of vaccines to the civil hospitals for the unfortunate who cannot afford it. Does the emergecny ward recieve any?? No!

Second, the government sends media (Geo, ARY, KTN, etc) to the ward to have the incharge state on air that he has recieved the rabies vaccination from the gov’t funds. Yearrite.

Third, the lethal powder that is inserted into capsules which are fed to stray dogs (capsules are inserted into gulab jamuns) during the “kutta maar mohim” costs about 40 grand rupees per kg. Usually, the capsules are fit into the gulab jamuns minus the powder. Wonder where the 40 grand went. At the end, the hi-fi sale of the mithai walas make the headlines of the paper.

Fourth, there is no national awareness of the consequences of such a lethal, yet preventable disease. People are just so ignorant on this topic that it hurts to even realize this fact.

It has been estimated that about 25,000 people die of rabies each year in this country adn to think - this can be PREVENTED!!!

There is just soo much more that can be said, like the pharmacuetical companies that market this vaccine and the allegations upon them about raising stray dogs and putting them on the streets just so the demand for their vaccines increases.

This is just ONE of the issues that I’ve come across which needs to be handled from the very top to the very bottom, there are so many more, but the sight of that child going through seizures and barking was heart breaking.

Sorry about this long post, just had to let it out.

y not make Karachi dog-free?

"Third, the lethal powder that is inserted into capsules which are fed to stray dogs (capsules are inserted into gulab jamuns) during the "kutta maar mohim" costs about 40 grand rupees per kg. Usually, the capsules are fit into the gulab jamuns minus the powder. Wonder where the 40 grand went. At the end, the hi-fi sale of the mithai walas make the headlines of the paper."

A fine display of such an attempt.

:hugs:

very pathetic and sad… :disappointed:

*Originally posted by NeSCio: *
y not make Karachi dog-free?

I second that

fckung corrupt politicians

and 50 % of the rest of the community.

They ll bring pakistan to its knees

We could bring in Chinese and Korean immigrants to eat the dogs....

That's very sad.
Had no idea this vaccine was so expensive. I've been bitten by dogs couple of times when I was young and just went got the rabies shot. But now knowing what the cost of these is, it seems way out of reach for the poor to afford it even if they knew the end result would be death.
It's things like these that should make one realize how lucky we are and be thankful to Allah for what he has blessed us with.

oh my God... thats jus...so.. sad .... :(

:(

there's so many stray dogs in karachi...and i'm sure something can be done to take care of the issue x_comm ... at one time werent we poisoning stray dogs in the city? i dont know if thats cruel or if its worth it .... but ... we're just so apathetic to everything..there's garbage on the streets, gutters overflowing and roads flooded with gutter water, stray rabid dogs, rats, unbearable pollution in the air...

and yet we're just completely indifferent to it...

this is the job of the municipal corporations of the city...they should just spend some time, even a month, and just take care of these matters once and for all...and then the local representatives of the different localities can ensure that people respect the laws.. i dont think its as complicated or as uphill of a task as its made out to be even...

what are these people doing...what do they do...coz this is their job and they r not doing it...

X_Communist, why dont you guys (students) talk to one of your higher up professors or maybe your dean, im sure they have contacts in the health department and can pull some strings with them, and get the ball started to atleast get some action going on this issue...

this is jus so terrible :(

X-Comm: This is so terribly sad. I won't go in details and tell you how frustrated I feel about the cost being a reason for the death of so many people. But, is there something we can do living abroad?. Is there any NGO or social organization which addresses Rabies in particular?. If you are kind enough to post some contact info, that would be awesome. Thanks.

so sorry to hear all that.. :(

X-com, what a sad and frustrating situation. Wouldn't it be wonderful if something could be done? I wonder if Edhi could make vaccinations available free or if there was some way to organize this. It's always the poor who suffer.

*sigh...

oh my...

this is heart breaking.

i dunt even know wat to say

X_C: i was more thinking along the lines of hunting them down.......a bullet shudn't cost more than a few rupees

Good news you guys -- today, two families vaccinated their kids fully (both passive and active immunization) to eradicate any chances of rabies. Truly felt good to see that, especially at a civil hospital.

As far as doing something about this -- our Head of the Dept has been working on this issue for the past 14 years. I will ask him if he is willing to give out contact info for those willing to help.

I think that if there is sufficient public awareness about the disease (specially the sign and symptoms) then there'd be pressure from the people upon the municipal government to do do something about the stray dogs.

I've emailed 50 minutes on GEO several times, asking them to conduct a show on this topic -- no reply as of yet.

Another way could be for us students to organize a city (plus neighbouring cities) wide campaign -- acknowledging people about the facts and figures.

Too much to do, too little time, eh.

Nes, I've learned kay yahan agar kaam karana hai to you have some kind of special "source" as they call it. If only I was the first cousin of Dr. Ibad, or the grand daughter of Naimat Ullah, then maybe I'd have a chance of implementing a shoot down of stray dogs.

I had a sister pass away from Rabies in Pakistan. My mom and dad always talk about when this happend in the late 70's no one knew what to do. She passed away shortly after she had contracted the disease. My dad has tried working with locals in the NWFP about this but no one is really responsive about taking a stand. It's so sad to see such a thing happen to so many young children. A majority of the number of deaths caused by rabies will never be reported. My sister who passed away was a week short of turning 5 years old.

X_Communist, you have so much courage, wish you lots of good luck with your efforts.

X_Com: it's question of cost and utility.

suppose the authorities have a certain budget, they'll have to calculate the dollars spent per life saved from rabies vaccination and compare that to for example the cost of insulin and life saved......i don't think rabies vaccination wud be cost-effective comapred to other disease AND keeping in mind the limited budget