cant frikkin sleep.

..for the past four days or so. atleast not when im supposed to.

is there a off-the-counter sleeping pill i can take? if so, are there any side effects i should be aware of?

In general, I would avoid over-the-counter sleep medications.
From what I have heard they are often ineffective, and could be hazardous to your health..

Prescription sleeping pills could be addictive tho ..If its real serious then maybe you should see someone.

thanks 50-B. i dont think its a chronic thing, just circumstances over the past few days.

:-/

ummm excercise in the evening, maybe bicycling around the campus, take a warm shower afterwards, and see if it helps. Use prescription sleeping pills only as the last resort.

acha?

chalo. i know someone who uses them and doesnt seem to impact too badly. thus my feeling that theres more hype about their negatives than there should be.

thanks anyway.

Change your sleeping environment. Maybe it's time to change your pillow, maybe it's time to open a door or a window. Maybe you just need to change your bedspread. Worth a try, but the things 5abi said will most likely work.

join da club man me can't sleep either.... check out my thread on this prob' of mine maybe u r experiencing same prob' as moi and take sleeping pills the do more damage to ur heatlh than u may think

A big glass of milk (warm or cold depending on your preference) with very little sugar.

No side effects. Sleep hi sleep.

zzz zzzzz zzzzzzzzz

hmm im also having the same problem, cant sleep at nite no matter what time i go to bed, im always up at about 2-3am and im awake until 6am...this has been happening since the last 3 weeks everynite..
part of this is probs to be blamed on me expecting. but i neva thought it would be this bad and all the doc said theres more to come.. uff!

If your body really needed it, you'd feel sleepy and fall asleep. So don't worry about it and just do what I do, spend the night on GS.

Or are you feeling the effects of not sleeping?

:eek:

:frowning:

what happenned? wana talk abt it? PM me

hope everything is OK ravage bhai…come on now aisa bhee kuch nai hoya jaan hae to jahan hae abhee to aap ki shaadi bhee nai hoi u got a lot to look fwd to in life :stuck_out_tongue: cheer up :flower1: :smiley: :slight_smile:

*Originally posted by Mesba: *
hmm im also having the same problem, cant sleep at nite no matter what time i go to bed, im always up at about 2-3am and im awake until 6am...this has been happening since the last 3 weeks everynite..
part of this is probs to be blamed on me expecting. but i neva thought it would be this bad and all the doc said theres more to come.. uff!

awwwwww :)

tumko sonay main problem hai
mujhay so ker uthnay main problem hai :)

When you lie down to sleep and the sleep is no where to be found, then get up and do something useful. Catch up on your reading, watch television, solve the complicated math problem you were pushing off for days. Why waste time, twisting and turning in bed? Make productive use of your time. Even 5 hours would be enough at your age (I am assuming you are between 18-35). Make sure you still wake up at the right time in the morning.

ps. Do that and very shortly you will be back to your regular sleeping cycle. And best of all, in the meantime you'd have done some useful stuff.

Try studying. Works for me.

To add to that. Don’t lay in the bed unless you are so tired that you’ll be out before you hit the pillow. If you lay awake in bed, your brain becomes conditioned to the idea which makes it even harder to fall asleep.

Plus it also makes you think that this lack of sleep is some kind of problem that must be solved with the help of Guppies. Well, now you know. :k:

i have same problem of insomnia… i cant sleep. no matter how many pills or glass of india pale i have, i still cant sleep… i goto sleep around 12am and i wake up around 6-7am…i just cant help it…even on weekends! i just cant sleep past 8-9am :mad: i dont know what to do

^ Don’t do anything. You are just fine. Enjoy the time you are awake. :k:

its more of cycle thing than anything else. cant sleep at night, have stuff to do in the day so have to get up early. im down to 3 hours night sleep and sleeping through important meetings and whatnot during the daytime.

plus over past two days I had this fever going which blew out of proportion today thus rendering moi miserabler.

as for doing other stuff, yeah I do that. mostly watch seinfeld / comedy central. ends up wasting more of my time without rendering me any more sleepy.

Anyhow, thanks for your concern everyone.. I have now more advice than I can probably follow :P . Will definitely take up some of the stuff offered here.