what to eat
how to exercise properly
(btw this isn’t for me)
anyone have tips for:
dealing with cancer
what to eat
how to exercise properly
(btw this isn’t for me)
I think the best thing would be for that person to consult his/her physician for advice on this matter.
i'm talkin about alternative methods yaar. dr. jee isn't gonna promote the use of haddi and wo sab cheez. i wanna desi perspective.
i dont think there are any..
though i'm not sure how authentic is this ....but i've heard cabbage n pumpkin develop immunity against cancer
but i repeat i'm not sure how true is it !
*Originally posted by Afia: *
though i'm not sure how authentic is this ....but i've heard cabbage n pumpkin develop immunity against cancer
but i repeat i'm not sure how true is it !
Afia, I think Bharysh was referring to someone who already has cancer.
what kind of cancer Bharysh..i can look up alternative health topics.
It depends on the type of cancer. Some cancers are cureable n some simply are not.
If you want more information on a particular type of cancer .. u can do a search on the web and you will find quite a few sites n information. But I must warn you that some information might be depressing and sad but believe me, its better to know where you stand with this disease.
Studies are ongoing in many centers looking at the benefits of soy protein in those at risk of breast and prostate cancer. Soy protein contains several active phytonutrients that may protect against hormone sensitive cancers partly by blocking receptors with plant estrogens called genistein and daidzein and partly by the action of the Bowman Birk inhibitor or other protease inhibitors naturally present in the beans.
Broccoli is one of the group of vegetables called cruciferous (from the word for cross as the flowers are in the shape of a cross and Brussels sprouts also grow out crosswise from the stalk). These vegetables contain isothiocyanates that are protective against carcinogenesis in laboratory studies. Other vegetables in this grouping include cabbage, cauliflower, Swiss chard and kale.
Dietary fiber is the undigested part of foods of plant origin (it doesn't occur in any foods that come from animals, e.g. butter, meat, eggs, fish). Fiber provides bulk to our diet and helps to maintain a healthy colon. It does this in several ways; first, it stimulates muscle contractions and hence reduces colon transit time (minimizes constipation). Secondly, it dilutes any potentially hazardous or carcinogenic substances and also reduces the amount of time these substances would be in contact with the colon wall. Thirdly, it provides an environment that is conducive to "friendly" bacteria or acidophilus. These are supportive to us as they partially digest some of the fiber and provide us with nutrients and they also maintain a healthy acidic level in the colon. All of these factors are synergistic and hence eating dietary fiber throughout the day provides the best environment in our colon that is reflected in our overall health. Cholesterol and steroid hormones that are similarly structured including the sex hormones, estrogen and testosterone as well as vitamin D and cortisol are regulated in part by secretion into the digestive tract via the bile and reabsorption. Dietary fiber plays an indirect part in regulating the reabsorption as the bacteria acts on some of these bile acids and assists in their excretion.
Most Americans eat about 10 grams of dietary fiber each day but this is about half of what is ideal. The suggested range is 25-35 grams spread over the day. This is best accomplished by eating fiber rich foods at each meal such as whole grain cereals, breads, pastas, beans, leafy vegetables, fruits, nuts and seeds.
muslim queen- jazak allah khairun.
breast cancer.
she's up'd her intake of fruits, vege's and fiber. talking to a nutritionist soon. it's difficult to decide what kind of diet to follow, since there are so many different ones out there. hopefully it's been detected early enuf. just hoping and praying.
i've heard some reports on tumeric and flax oil. any thoughts on that?
*Originally posted by Fret Wizard: *
I think the best thing would be for that person to consult his/her physician for advice on this matter.
fret- that would be wonderful, but most physicians aren't nutritionists. they don't know about diet. they won't promote one diet over another, becuz the studies are so uncertain.
Bharysh muslim queen- jazak allah khairun.
I hope everything works out Insha Allah.