canadian pakistani or just pakistani.

Re: canadian pakistani or just pakistani.

:teary2:

nahin slimsy, nahiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiin!!!

yeh woh nahin hai jo tumhain nazar a raha hai......
qasam say!

koi nahi bachey. allah khair karey ga …

tu nahi aur sahi, aur nahi, aur sahi…

Are you Britney spears, woman?

Cause I could always do with an autograph. :D

What is your point? I'm not trying to be mean spirited but I don't understand what you're arguing for. I do enjoy this, but we should have a clear premise.

My original point was that dissent is not a means to check Democracy or the Government.

My response to your quote was trolling. The religion of the Bush administration was war and thus it was a theocracy. It also had the subtle point that there was absolutely no dissent from within the US to attack Iraq or Afghanistan.

In May 2003 79% of Americans found the invasion of Iraq as being justified. Popular opinion in the United States on the invasion of Iraq - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Ok that was my point too, that dissent is vital. So again, we are agreed.

I got that your post about Bush was sarcasm but I was unsure about whether we actually had beef. And 79% is not 100%; minority dissent. Sometimes that's enough, sometimes it isn't.

Ima bow out and let you and chaibiskut wrap up your heart to heart.

Your response doesn't help the country you claim to be affiliated with. I suggest you take your trash filled with nonsensical tid bits elsewhere where it may possibly shine. Doable?

Although this was directed to the clown man. Cant see why the actual meaning should be any hard to comprehend for em Bhoot boys.

Since you brought me personally into the discussion, there is one thing you should realize is that I don't fit into neatly defined boxes.

Most people don't fit into boxes. Look, it's simple. You applied Bernard Shaw's wisdom exclusively to Westerners, and I asked how the rest of the world is immune to feelings of national superiority. As a patriot, do you feel this commentary excludes you? Just curious, is all. No leaps of logic on my part. Amen to not generalizing - I'm sure those you routinely pack into pigeon holes would agree. ;)

Rather I aim to restructure the definitions.

I think we've established the irrationality of this tendency on another thread. It's one thing to think outside the box, it's another to stretch definitions to the point it renders the conclusion irrelevant. I have to echo Ghost here, the premise has become ambiguous. Take dissent - you define that subjectively and run with it. Redefinition fallacy : redefining a premise to avoid a logical objection to said premise. Your original point wasn't that dissent is an invalid means to check government - that was a response to me saying it's essential. You objected to applying the Shaw quote universally, and to my notion that people should swear allegiance to the truth vs a nation state. I added that dissent - or if you want to call it truth - is the highest form of patriotism. Meaning speaking truth to power should not be considered treason. Point was to illustrate how non-conformism isn't unpatriotic and in fact necessary to confront monopolies of power and information. Take this forum's rules for instance - what constitutes 'anti-Pakistan' speech is debatable.

As for dissent its like saying Mandela was dissenting. Asking for basic human rights is not dissent.

3 issues being confused - the meaning of dissent, what role it plays in a society, whether it's an unpatriotic act. My focus was the last point. Yes, Mandela was dissenting. Demanding rights is a radical act in a repressive society.

Wikipedia : Political dissent refers to any expression designed to convey dissatisfaction with or opposition to the policies of a governing body. Such expression may take forms from vocal disagreement to civil disobedience to the use of violence. Historically, repressive governments have sought to punish political dissent. The protection of freedoms that facilitate peaceful dissent has become a hallmark of free and open societies.
A dissident broadly defined, is a person who actively challenges an established doctrine, policy, or institution. When dissidents unite for a common cause they often effect a dissident movement.

The dissenting minority wants the ability to conceal weapons. After what happened in Denver yesterday do you still feel the dissenting minority is keeping Democracy in check? Or does it arrogantly believe it knows better than the majority?

Stripped of context, my remark about dissent has nothing to do with patriotism or Bernard Shaw anymore. This is your aha moment 'cos I don't know what we're talking about. (If anything it's a crazy majority, because 40 states issue concealed carry permits. Yes, we're a nation of trigger happy plebs).

And since you brought me up I will explain what kind of a patriot I am. My patriotism is linked to social and government responsibility.

Thanks for elaborating, it's always helpful to see where someone's coming from. I appreciate that ideas of identity, nation and belonging can be emotional territory, but I'm unaware of the 'personal' angle I've supposedly introduced. You've mentioned it twice now. I'd rather you didn't share your views if you consider them personal. I'm beginning to feel like I asked you what color your boxers are.

"My country, right or wrong," is a thing that no patriot would think of saying except in a desperate case. It is like saying, "My mother, drunk or sober."

• GK Chesterton.

Edit: I am too hungry to respond and in the spirit of Ramzan you and Ghost are right. I was wrong.

Oye ullu k pathay…do you know how many foreign nationality holders live in Pakistan? There are close to 100,000…if you had any knowledge about the country you wouldnt make such an idiotic statement freaking immigrant…

Wow. I am that good at trolling. I never knew :D

You're only good at making a clown of yourself...even then im sure you would feel no shame in it

"Fear is the path to the dark side. Fear leads to anger. Anger leads to hate. Hate leads to suffering."

In Canada, you're Pakistani and in Pakistan you're Canadian Pakistani.

End question.

We could all us a little more Master Yoda here on GS :hoonh:

Aww a fellow patriot. :hugz: I can completely understand your dilemma. Something v r also grappling with. Sometimes heart is just too headstrong and wont listen to rational brain. Write down all the possible pros and cons and then make a decision u r at peace with. Best of luck