Canadian Elections: Have you made up your mind yet?

With just two weeks to go until voting day and tonight’s debate being touted as the most important challenge and as the deciding factor by political pundits, I’m wondering how many Canadians on GupShup have already made up their minds about who they’re going to vote for.

For me, the choice has pretty much been the Liberals since the inception of the campaigns… not because I support the Liberals but only because I oppose the Conservatives. I suspect this is going to be the case for other voters as well because we can’t ardently resolve to back one candidate but may have strong reasons to chuck out the other.

For those voting for the Conservatives, the reasons probably have to do with the recent corruption charges that have blemished the Liberals position.

On the other hand, people like me who are voting for Liberals are worried over the Conservatives’ plans for wholesale privatization of healthcare and some indications of an amalgamation feat between the Canadian and the U.S. military.

The latest poll has the Conservatives at 37%, the Liberals at 29%, and the NDP at 15%. This is the farthest lead by the Conservatives yet. Let’s see what happens next.

Re: Canadian Elections: Have you made up your mind yet?

Stupid Canada denied British citizens the right to vote in 1951 :mad:

Has to be PC's. We in Québev have no choice. Not Bloc for sue.

Liberals all the way :k:

Those in my family who can vote seem to be favouring the conservatives... they don't trust the Liberals at either the national or local scale.

Who is expected to win?

Maddy... I'm interested in finding out whether they're favouring the conservatives by virtue of their policies or are they just against the liberals...

like I said, I'm only voting for Liberals because I don't want to see Canada be party to Bush's foreign impairment agenda. It's starting to leave me with sleepless nights just imagining Harper in office. I wish there were someone who I'd actually like to vote for...

The only other alternative is voting for Layton but anyone who votes for NDP is effectively voting for the leading party anyways, which right now is the Conservatives.

Thats so scary. The liberals have been bad, but the conservatives in power? that would be a nightmare.

ps.does anyone know of where i can watch/listen to the outrageous campaign ads everyone is talking about?

ps2. Nevermind found them @ the party website - Duh! :slight_smile:

^ gotta admit that Liberals' negative ad campaign is really in the face... and outright provoking... lets just hope it doesn't backfire.

^ Well, the Liberals got nothing to lose at this time, and to some extent people do want to see on-your-face tough-talking Liberals. Also, the media has been biased in favor of the Conservatives to a larger extent and I don't believe the polls really reflect the actual standings. As long as the Liberals stay strong in their traditional grounds such as Ontario and Atlantic Canada, they will form the next government - no question. It will be interesting to see the outcome in BC, which has traditionally been a turf of the Conservatives. However, the Liberals carved significant chunk out of the Convervative domination in all the metropolises during the last elections. I believe that the trend will continue and they have a shot at gaining couple of more seats in ridings such as West Vancouver, where the current Conservative MP is retiring.

It's unlikely that the Liberals will give any more ground to the Conservatives in the polls, and if it remains as such, then the election will become too close to call..

i so want to vote for NDP!
but i guess i'll stick with liberals for now.

I want Marijuana party to win:p or Sheesha party if it exists ;)

Seriously, Corrupt Liberals have left no choice for us. We are seeing a minority or even a majority conservative government next Tuesday. This is really sad and scary. But I want to see Liberals punished, and in some cases behind the bar for ruining their own good deeds in last 12 years. ie. strong economy and balanced policies. For few millions they sold the trusts of Canadian majority.

I will still vote for Liberals, only to send Wajid Khan of our riding back to Ottawa once again. We need more brownies there to speak up for our community.

i still haven't made my mind up. the liberals image has been smeared because of what has happened recently, but i'm not too excited about the tories, either.

i do know however, that if conservatives win, we're gonna see a lot of changes happening, and very quickly at that.

my main concern is gun violence. especially in toronto it's gotten really bad. so if any one party can really have a solution for that..i'll be happy to support them.

Not going to vote this time around, however I will be surprised if the tories dont get a minority govt. With talk of quebec swinging to conservatives, they might just form a majority. Also no fahernheit 911 to favor the liberals this time around...

All of that talk of Tories in government is nothing less than catastrophic for Canada. Imagine, Canada being nothing but a tool of Bush & Co. So, stop f'king around with the idea of punishing the Liberals etc, because too much is at stake this time around. We must stop this evil masonic ideology of Neo-Judeo-Conservatism taking over this country. GO OUT AND VOTE FOR LIBERALS!!!!

mind your language AK. Read my post again. I am still voting Liberals. But they need spanking very badly.

Here in the Wild West, its a total waste of a vote.

No matter what occurs, the Tories will be colouring this place blue. Pretty much, the future of Canada rides on you Ontarioans and Quebecers.

Btw, do you guys got any articles from the Globe and Mail, National Post, CBC, etc. discussing what Conservatives plan for health care will be?

Every vote that goes to NDP is every Liberal vote that Conservatives dont have to worry about. So screw NDP and vote LIBERAL! Please let Canada stay socialist for as long as we can!!

Sincerely,
Captain Lota

Correction;
We need more muslims to speak up for our interests, regardless of their skin colour. But not necessarily more brownies, especially if they happen to be hindu or sikh.

if in a hypothetical scenario, there were 2 competing candidates in my riding and one was a brown-skin hindu and the other a white christian then i would vote for the white.
South asian community, My ass

oh bhai, apnay aap se bezaar hai kya? Sense of humour kahan gaya?

I just used Brownies for fun. I know who can speak for us, every community reps are working for their own good. I agree.

Ironically in my riding against Wajid Khan (L) there is an Indian Raghbinder Gill (C) :D so its more obvious who will I vote for.